Straits Restaurant, San Jose

Need help from someone who has been there before. Do they have outdoor dining? Got to bring 2 friends and one of them is wheel chair bound and smokes. Hoping to be there 6.30pm tomorrow to get space if there is outdoor dining.

Thanks

This one?

http://www.tripadvisor.co.nz/Restau...its_Cafe_Santana_Row-San_Jose_California.html

http://www.straitsrestaurants.com/contact-pages-47.php

Wasn't expecting Singapore fusion, but very tasty”
x.gif
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have to admit I had more American in mind when I heard about Straits. The fusion dishes created from Singapore style cooking is quite good. Beware the traffic to Santana Row is a nightmare but once there it is a nice experience. Service a bit inattentive but it was quite busy.

The outside seating is a bit noisy as you seat next to the main thoroughfare from the parking garage. Honestly, the food was very good but the traffic and prices make me think I'd rather go many other places for food just as good without the hassles.

• Visited March 2014

“Classy.. fun.. yummy coctails!”
x.gif
Reviewed 16 January 2007

I like Straits Cafe. The Santana Row location is great, the food is tasty and the coctails are fabulous (about $10 each). They offer both in-door and outdoor sitting. You will usually see a lot of attractive and trendy people there, including the staff. It blends in well with the whole Santana Row's hip atmosphere. I have been there on multiple occasions and I have always been pleased with the food and the whole experience.

Yep, thanks.

This one?

I like Straits Cafe. The Santana Row location is great, the food is tasty and the coctails are fabulous (about $10 each). They offer both in-door and outdoor sitting. You will usually see a lot of attractive and trendy people there, including the staff. It blends in well with the whole Santana Row's hip atmosphere. I have been there on multiple occasions and I have always been pleased with the food and the whole experience.

yes, 2 outdoor sections. the alfresco section in the sun at the walkway has fewer tables. easier access for the handicap. must reserve and show up early as these tables are popular. the other larger section has no sun as it is in the covered corridor blocked by curtains and rails. harder for wheelchair access as a handicap person has to navigate inside restaurant through cocktail area and other tables and chairs. food is on the sweet side, modified for americans.

Thanks, good advice.

yes, 2 outdoor sections. the alfresco section in the sun at the walkway has fewer tables. easier access for the handicap. must reserve and show up early as these tables are popular. the other larger section has no sun as it is in the covered corridor blocked by curtains and rails. harder for wheelchair access as a handicap person has to navigate inside restaurant through cocktail area and other tables and chairs. food is on the sweet side, modified for americans.

Has San Jose become more "hip" in the last 20 years?

When I was there in the late 70s, the whole place was a slum. When I first arrived in the Bay area, I actually made a point to visit because of its fame from Burt Bacharach's "Do you know the way to San Jose". Boy was I disappointed.

Has San Jose become more "hip" in the last 20 years?

When I was there in the late 70s, the whole place was a slum. When I first arrived in the Bay area, I actually made a point to visit because of its fame from Burt Bacharach's "Do you know the way to San Jose". Boy was I disappointed.

sj downtown was a bum city by day and ghost city by night in the 70s and 80s. the only lively activity was around san jose state university (sjsu) where sororities would serenade in see-thru' dresses and fraternities would get naked drunk with street parties. frat row was on 11th street, and every weekend the place lighted up. not anymore after tragedy and fire destroyed some frat and sorority houses and killed students. it's a pity as those were beautiful victorian mansions. there are still some heritage victorian homes on 3rd and 4th, 12th through 15th streets.

in the 80s, vietnamese moved in and pretty much took over the downtown area. in the 90s, hispanics moved in, and vietnamese merchants got wealthier, bought their own land, and moved to the little saigon area on story and tully.

it started getting trendy during the dot com boom leading to 99, but declined in commercial occupancy after the 2000 bust. when santana row first came up in the winchester neighborhood (the "haunted" house is still there as an attraction), rent was cheap and some no-name shops took root. for example, a hole in the wall chinese bubble tea fantasia joint is still there. straits is an early tenant at the row, and it became the hippiest place in town with live music, alfresco-style cocktail, open bar and restaurant. the original cocktail area crept into the sidewalk, but now they have to clear the sidewalk and move some furniture to the curb. it stands out at a good spot, and other businesses kind of gell around it. the row was still humming during the real estate bust of 2007/2008. straits did so well in sj during boom and bust that they opened up a new place in sf downtown, at the trendiest mall on market. the owner, chris yeo, a sinkie opens up sino, a chinese restaurant a block up on the row. the hottest place now on the row is the yardhouse, just a block from straits. yardhouse in santana row is now the de facto "meat market" for white chicks. :p

meanwhile, downtown sj has her share of clubs, eateries, and nightspots around the san pedro and 1st and 2nd street areas. she is never as lively and packed as sf. the new rich who include techies and geeks tend to spend more time at their suburb homes and local favorite joints in sunnyvale (murphy avenue), santa clara (lick mill road), mountain view (castro), and cupertino (stevens creek). due to suburban sprawl, hip places tend to gell around a few popular restaurants and local homegrown cafés among the smaller cities around sj.

great stuff bro...in the end we are here to help one another and learn stuff from each other.....and bicker at times too of course.

meanwhile, downtown sj has her share of clubs, eateries, and nightspots around the san pedro and 1st and 2nd street areas. she is never as lively and packed as sf. the new rich who include techies and geeks tend to spend more time at their suburb homes and local favorite joints in sunnyvale (murphy avenue), santa clara (lick mill road), mountain view (castro), and cupertino (stevens creek). due to suburban sprawl, hip places tend to gell around a few popular restaurants and local homegrown cafés among the smaller cities around sj.

Perhaps I should revisit the Bay area before I kick the bucket. I wonder if my favourite Roundtable Pizza is still there along El Camino Real across from the Ambassador Inn. It was where met my first Bay Area fling.. small Latino of the "Chilli Padi" variety. Still have fond memories of her. It lasted 6 months.

was the round table pizza restaurant on 157 e. el camino, mountain view? it is reported as "closed". there used to be an ambassador inn on 860 e. el camino in mountain view, but a couple of new hotels have taken over the spot - hotel avante and hilton garden inn.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/round-table-pizza-mountain-view

the hip place in that area is castro street, by el camino - a long row of restaurants and cafés, and crowd is always there. cascal, a spanish restaurant specializing in tapas, is the main attraction and is what i'll recommend.

http://mountainviewdowntown.com/dining/

your little "chilli padi" habanero jalapeño chi hua hua may have grown into a cucumunga chipotle chow chow after years of missing you. be careful not to get smothered with long lost lardy love. :p

great stuff bro...in the end we are here to help one another and learn stuff from each other.....and bicker at times too of course.

oi! time to enjoy your cpf balance and blow it in thighland. and thanks for the points! :D

was the round table pizza restaurant on 157 e. el camino, mountain view? it is reported as "closed". there used to be an ambassador inn on 860 e. el camino in mountain view, but a couple of new hotels have taken over the spot - hotel avante and hilton garden inn.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/round-table-pizza-mountain-view

the hip place in that area is castro street, by el camino - a long row of restaurants and cafés, and crowd is always there. cascal, a spanish restaurant specializing in tapas, is the main attraction and is what i'll recommend.

http://mountainviewdowntown.com/dining/

your little "chilli padi" habanero jalapeño chi hua hua may have grown into a cucumunga chipotle chow chow after years of missing you. be careful not to get smothered with long lost lardy love. :p

Yes those are the ones. Sad that Round Table has closed it had a great ambience and pizza and always bustling and full of geeks. I can still remember the first time I walked in I placed the order and the guy asked for my name. My response was "why do you need to know my name???". He looked at me straight in the eye and said matter-of-factly..."So I can call you when you're pizza's ready :rolleyes:." In Singapore, we are so used to being nothing more than a number that the concept of your name being used in an order system was absolutely alien.

Took a look on street view and the area has changed a lot since I was there. I probably wouldn't recognise the chow chow either. :p

... Got to bring 2 friends and one of them is wheel chair bound and smokes. Hoping to be there 6.30pm tomorrow ...
sinkielan cia wil oso b having dinner there ... :eek:

don't play play. old fart may show up in his wheelchair. :p
Considering the fact that 5% of the traffic to this forum comes from the US west coast, there could be a huge crowd at the place tomorrow with everyone trying to catch a glimpse of who the notorious scroobal actually is.

In the meantime ISD despatched an agent this afternoon. He was accompanied by junior partner of Drew and Napier. :)

However, if scroobal uses the same misinformation strategy that I use, some poor innocent bastard may end up on the receiving end of some unwanted attention.