Actually, without a car and living in HDB, indeed $6000 is comfortable for a family of 4.
Cannot afford luxury though.
I believe it is $6000 x 2 for a couple to live ideally in Singapore. $6000 each for husband n wife.
My assumptions:
- 2 Kids Education $1000 x 2 a month = $2000
$500-600 for childcare after subsidy + top-up for enrichment classes imposed by childcare centre (or else your kid do nothing during that period)
- 2 Kids Living expenses $250 x 2 a month = $500
- Housing Loan = $1500 a month (usually from CPF Contributions)
let's assume 20-25 years loan for a resale/larger HDB
- For parents = $1000
$500 for each side (husband n wife) parents. Most don't even give $500.
- Car/Insurance/Servicing/Petrol/Tax/Fines = $1200 a month
Based on a simple Cat A car
- Utilities/Phone/Internet Bill = $500
- Living Expenses = $3000
$50 per day for each husband n wife (both working)
- Maid's wages n living expenses = $1000
Both couples are working, so need maid
- Home Cooked Food - $500
Supermarketing/Groceries
Total: $11200
my estimations on a low side to live normally.
Conclusion: RUN's wifey must work :p
My friend earning $2.5k can achieve all you listed, except having the maid
My malaysian friend earning S$2k has a wife, 2 kids, a landed and a car just outside jb.My friend earning $2.5k can achieve all you listed, except having the maid
My malaysian friend earning S$2k has a wife, 2 kids, a landed and a car just outside jb.
such a low and unambitious figure. no wonder many sinkies can't meet their minimum sum on cpf. :p
Who the fuck wanna stay in sinkieland with a population of ball-less cowards.
Sorry, i beg to differ. Sadly, it is without car and kids.
Your friend is probably struggling to survive bare minimum basic....that's not living....only existing.My friend earning $2.5k can achieve all you listed, except having the maid
Total: $11200
my estimations on a low side to live normally.
Conclusion: RUN's wifey must work :p
I calculated for a family to live ok in hdb 5 room, drive Toyota need min $10k per month.
This is only normal confortable lifestyle nothing luxurious.
Your friend is probably struggling to survive bare minimum basic....that's not living....only existing.
Ask him if he knows how much vile pappies leech from him.
There is a major problem with that budget and that is there is hardly a cent of savings. It's literally a hand to mouth existence.
Many Singaporeans run their lives in this manner and this is the main cause of all the retirement woes that people end up with. It is certainly not the fault of the PAP.
Couples who earn $12,000 a month after taxes should save at least 40% to 50% of their income with the aim of achieving financial independence by their mid 40s.
If you can save an average of $6000 monthly = $72,000 per annum x 20 years at 5% ROI, you will have saved $2.5 MILLION so if you can start and 25 you'll be very secure by 45.
In order to avoid being a victim of inflation, a portion of savings should go to financial entities which hedge inflation eg property and property indexed stocks. A good financial advisor should be able to advise accordingly. A good strategy would add another 2% to 3% return to your portfolio which means you should end up with more than $3 million.
It is even better if you save a sufficient amount and then invest in your own abilities and grow an enterprise from scratch. You'll be able to achieve well in excess of 15% ROI if you succeed in growing a successful business.
If you earn $12,000 and spend $11,200 monthly, you'll wake up one day and find that your job has been taken by someone younger or your position has disappeared altogether. If you're on the wrong side of 40 when this happens, be prepared to spend of your sorry life driving a taxi or hanging around in a security guard uniform wishing you had done things differently. This scenario haunted me way back when I was in my early 30s and most of my major decisions in life have been aimed at negating this risk.
Life is what you make of it. It doesn't make any difference who runs the country. If the WP wins the next election, those who spend everything they earn will still be in deep shit when they can no longer work.
Yes he has everything, hdb flat paid up, wife, 2 kids, a car, insurance premium. but everything on scaled down version . Scaled down to the extend of family all skinny skinny, house small small, car small, petrol $ used < $100 per mth..I asked him do you know you are leeched by pappy, he say he knows wor LOL
Are you insane? 25 is the age where Singaporeans have just graduated from uni, how can they get 6k per month, let alone save that.