Sinkapore is high cost because of obsession with Technology!

enterprise2

The car park attendant who issues u a carpark slip and u pay him in cash is gone, replaced by a ERT system that cost hundred of thousand of $. The dishwasher in the foodcourt may be gone soon, replaced by a automated dish washing unit... costing hundred of thousand $$. Nowadays u can't even get a regular maintenance guy to getup a high ladder to change a light bulb. He got to go through some working from heights certification, do a risk assessment and u got to get insurance etc etc!! So a regular maintenance job that used to cost $10 now cost $40!!
No wonder costs r skyrocketing and we r getting creamed by the competition...namely our neighbours!!

and everyone have to spend hundreds if not thousands to voluntorily upgrade their tv becos the gahment decided to move fr ANALog to digital. whois fault?

The worst piece of junk got to be the CCTV!! Security guards normally fall asleep looking at the screens and who can blame them!! Trying looking at the large LED screen with say 16 small screens and your eyes will crank up after 30 mins!! No wonder CCTV seldom catch or prevent any incident from happening !!

Went to Europe recently and saw people there still using my old Nokia handphone!! And they r working folks not retirees!!

high costs because of more demand by FT's and not enough supply. Get rid of ft's, return jobs to singaporeans.

More like stinkapore is high costs because of the lau lee's obsession with making money and his other obsession of using robotic karmlankiah scholars for every fucking thing.......

The car park attendant who issues u a carpark slip and u pay him in cash is gone, replaced by a ERT system that cost hundred of thousand of $.....

Other than eliminating jobs the use of automation also ensures the gov't gets the $ sooner.
You will need a cashcard to use the system. Once people add credit into those cash cards, it's $ in the gov'ts pocket.

Many people probably have $20+ in their cash cards & when you multiply by the number of cars out thats alot of $$$$$$$$$$$$

it's all good, and the tech is state-of-the-art. moreover, it's seamless and nationwide in scale. both friedman and i are impressed. kudos to the pap gov for having vision and extremely progressive policies. :D

SINGAPORE: In a blogpost today (May 20), National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan highlighted the use of robots as an example for potential productivity gains and labour cost savings in the construction industry.

"Robotics is not new, but we hardly see them in our construction sites. The Building and Construction Authority (BCA) will be happy to provide some funding support to help change the status quo," Mr Khaw wrote.

The worst piece of junk got to be the CCTV!! Security guards normally fall asleep looking at the screens and who can blame them!! Trying looking at the large LED screen with say 16 small screens and your eyes will crank up after 30 mins!! No wonder CCTV seldom catch or prevent any incident from happening !!

On top of ythat, a good number of the CCTVs are dummies but paid at full-price....providing plenty of kickbacks.

Singapore is high cost because it is a modern city. Look at all other cities around - they're all expensive. Singapore is super expensive also because of the limited land. Look at all the densely populated cities in the world, all of them are very expensive too. Singapore is exorbitantly expensive because many of the locals here get a "high" sense of feeling when they pay high prices, don pricey branded goods, and eat expensive foods. And people respect them for that! There is no respect given for frugality, thrift, and some sacrifice. In a recent yak session at office, my colleagues were boasting how big their TV sets at home were, indirectly telling others they could afford huge TVs, recently when I invited my cousins over to my apartment for a bite and game of tennis, she and husband came in total adidas outfit - shoes, tracksuits, and carrying bags, all adidas, wonder whether they were into tennis or fashion! Look around at all the Singaporeans who keep dogs - all of them are pedigrees! When they could adopt a mutt from a dog pound, they would rather show they can own an expensive breed! And their maids walk the dog!

Its not the technology. Singapore has to keep up with the rest of the world. Its the bloody attitude that drives the prices up. Next time you take the family or in-laws out for dinner, can you try to avoid ordering crabs? They're expensive.

The car park attendant who issues u a carpark slip and u pay him in cash is gone, replaced by a ERT system that cost hundred of thousand of $. The dishwasher in the foodcourt may be gone soon, replaced by a automated dish washing unit... costing hundred of thousand $$. Nowadays u can't even get a regular maintenance guy to getup a high ladder to change a light bulb. He got to go through some working from heights certification, do a risk assessment and u got to get insurance etc etc!! So a regular maintenance job that used to cost $10 now cost $40!!
No wonder costs r skyrocketing and we r getting creamed by the competition...namely our neighbours!!

I am sitting here in a kopi thiam foodcourt and there is this irritating Ah Tiong vacuuming the floor with some over sized vacumm cleaner and where the tables r clogged with half eaten stuff and crockery!!! The floor is polished but the tables r a mess. Hooray for technology!!

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard. SG have to keep up with technology and automation to ensure we do not fall behind and also the very practical reason of reducing reliance on Foreigners. We bring in Foreigners U complain, we pay money to automate process U complain.

No lah!! I only complain when we dumb fark anyohow use technology and increase costs without achieving anything...sometime makes things worse!! Someone told me the best high tech and versatile equipment around and will be for time to come is the human worker!!

Singapore is high cost because it is a modern city. Look at all other cities around - they're all expensive. Singapore is super expensive also because of the limited land. Look at all the densely populated cities in the world, all of them are very expensive too. Singapore is exorbitantly expensive because many of the locals here get a "high" sense of feeling when they pay high prices, don pricey branded goods, and eat expensive foods. And people respect them for that! There is no respect given for frugality, thrift, and some sacrifice. In a recent yak session at office, my colleagues were boasting how big their TV sets at home were, indirectly telling others they could afford huge TVs, recently when I invited my cousins over to my apartment for a bite and game of tennis, she and husband came in total adidas outfit - shoes, tracksuits, and carrying bags, all adidas, wonder whether they were into tennis or fashion! Look around at all the Singaporeans who keep dogs - all of them are pedigrees! When they could adopt a mutt from a dog pound, they would rather show they can own an expensive breed! And their maids walk the dog!

Its not the technology. Singapore has to keep up with the rest of the world. Its the bloody attitude that drives the prices up. Next time you take the family or in-laws out for dinner, can you try to avoid ordering crabs? They're expensive.

In the old days, u can find many things that are "cheap and good". Afraid that term is no longer applicable here. But in other cities, u can still find things that are "cheap and good"!!

Errr! Use of technology suppose to lower costs due to high wage. But that is not feasible in singapore where wages for labour are still low.
But in japan, switzerland etc, is feasible and it may lower costs.

high cost because of rental lah anf the way sinkie runs thing...what technology..

Technology in fact can lower cost...