Is the PAP govt benevolent but misguided or malevolent?

OverTheCounter

There are two major schools of thought.

Many swing voters, the conservatives, and a lot of establishment linked people feel the government is trying to do good for Singapore, but it is sometimes misguided, or it implemented the policies in a messed up way.

The other school of thought held by many opposition supporters is that the govt does not have citizens wellbeing at heart and is out to screw people for their own selfish benefit.

The first group of people contend that the government has absolutely no reason to implement what are clearly vote losing policies unless it truly believed they would be good for the people in the long run.

The second group believes the government is only trying to milk the system for their own benefit whilst they are still in power, so citizens should wake up and vote out the govt as quickly as possible.

The first group says that the govt is prepared to lose votes or even seats in the short run because they believe in the long term benefit of the policies for the country.

The second group says that the government is incapable of acting for the peoples' interest anymore unless sufficient pressure is brought to bear at the polls. They say the govt knows it is losing votes but is incapable of change because the dogma and cronyism has become so entrenched.

Who is correct? Do we have a benevolent government that is prepared to sacrifice its own support in the short term to protect the long term interests of Singapore, or a malevolent government that is robbing citizens because it can?

my top most concern is how to get more folks to vote the MIW out :):):)

wait what?so basically u saying a government thats willing to sacrifice its own people for the "good" of the nation is good?

and a government thats not self serving would elevate themselves to the position of ceos and demigods and pay themselves obscene salaries,manipulate the media to their own benefit and manipulate laws to control/restrict the masses?

it's benevolent to peeps with positivity and malevolent to creeps with negativity and a loser and defeatist attitude. :D

Many swing voters, the conservatives, and a lot of establishment linked people feel the government is trying to do good for Singapore, but it is sometimes misguided, or it implemented the policies in a messed up way.

My three responses:

1) Absolute, unchecked power corrupts absolutely.

2) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kleptocracy

Kleptocracy... is a form of political and government corruption where the government exists to increase the personal wealth and political power of its officials and the ruling class at the expense of the wider population, often with pretense of honest service.

3) George Orwell's Animal Farm, Chapter 3

"Comrades!" he cried. "You do not imagine, I hope, that we pigs are doing this in a spirit of selfishness and privilege? Many of us actually dislike milk and apples. I dislike them myself. Our sole object in taking these things is to preserve our health. Milk and apples (this has been proved by Science, comrades) contain substances absolutely necessary to the well-being of a pig. We pigs are brainworkers. The whole management and organisation of this farm depend on us. Day and night we are watching over your welfare. It is for YOUR sake that we drink that milk and eat those apples. Do you know what would happen if we pigs failed in our duty? Jones would come back! ...Surely, comrades," cried Squealer almost pleadingly, skipping from side to side and whisking his tail, "surely there is no one among you who wants to see Jones come back?"

At least stop calling yourselves benevolent while you go about your business. Do not compound your heinous and multiple sins by lying.

no... i tot it was self serving self enriching muther farkers. chinese put it more mildly as 私心。

i think the way to dismantle GRC thingy is more lost of key ministers in mega GRC. When this double edge sword cut them deep and hurt them most, it would then a review of the election process.

The other school of thought held by many opposition supporters is that the govt does not have citizens wellbeing at heart and is out to screw people for their own selfish benefit.

The first group of people contend that the government has absolutely no reason to implement what are clearly vote losing policies unless it truly believed they would be good for the people in the long run.

The second group believes the government is only trying to milk the system for their own benefit whilst they are still in power, so citizens should wake up and vote out the govt as quickly as possible.

The first group says that the govt is prepared to lose votes or even seats in the short run because they believe in the long term benefit of the policies for the country.

The second group says that the government is incapable of acting for the peoples' interest anymore unless sufficient pressure is brought to bear at the polls. They say the govt knows it is losing votes but is incapable of change because the dogma and cronyism has become so entrenched.

Who is correct? Do we have a benevolent government that is prepared to sacrifice its own support in the short term to protect the long term interests of Singapore, or a malevolent government that is robbing citizens because it can?

There is a 3rd group
That know PAP is utterly corrupt and perverted and good only at fucking and tiewing and screwing singaporeans for the hundreds of billions that go to
smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds
And the only cure is to
KILL ALL THE PAP BASTARDS

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

... feel the government is trying to do good ...
tis ze line between daft n non-daft ...

conmen wil sweetly tel u tings r 4 ur own gud, 4 ur benefit ... but dey wun tel u how dey in fact r going 2 benefit from u ... 4 evry 1% gain dat u get, how many 100% gains dey wil get ...

ze daft wil buy their story, get sum candies n continue 2 b blainwashed ... n remain daft! ...

How about another option: delusional.

It's somewhere in between "benevolent but misguided" and "malevolent", on the despicable scale.

i think the way to dismantle GRC thingy is more lost of key ministers in mega GRC. When this double edge sword cut them deep and hurt them most, it would then a review of the election process.

thailand is like singapore. the sh1tknowhat family leaves and thailand will be on road to recovery.

This is the doctrine of one party states:

1. The Party is synonymous with the State.
2. What is good for the Party is good for the State
3. Therefore take care of the Party and the State will be fine.

If your conscience pricks you remember that there is nothing to stop anyone joining the Party. If your conscience troubles you further, remember we have a meritocracy.

Believe in the Trinity:

Party.....................................................The Father
Meritocracy.............................................The Son
Ho-Lee Spirit..........................................The Holy Ghost behind all things

... people feel the government is trying to do good ...
y dose ppl feel lidat? ...

dese ppl tink gahmen now is stil same as gahmen 30 yrs ago ... but gahmen now is totally different from gahmen 30 yrs ago ...

gahmen 30 yrs ago, yes la ... but not gahmen now ... even gahmen now sel koyok on wat dey did loong yime ago ... dey dun even dare 2 sel koyok of wat dey do now ... dey craim dey warp fishy village in2 metropolitan c-t ... dey never boast 2 u now u got gambling dens, daredevil racing circuit, rich men's prayground ...

image on daft sinkiez mind is stil ze impressions of last time ...

if products from a coy is gud n ppl haf been buying from dat coy all ze while, dey wil tink all products from dat coy r oways of gud quality n gud 4 dem ... datz where conmen who r greedy, cunning n opportunistic wil take advantage of ... ahneh can oso go sel snake oil from dat coy n ppl wil oso buy ...

Uh-uh. You should be asking who benefits. The nation will benefit, as do the establishment and their cronies. We are simply sacrificing losers in the gene pool for a brighter future for those with ability. Conscience is but a small price to pay. Not fun if you are a pawn though! Heh heh!

Actions speak louder than words. Whatever the pappies do and their policies do not benefit the locals, they are bad policies whether in the short term or long term.

The GRC system will haunt the pappies in GE2016. Two or more GRC to oppo parties + Aljunied GRC held by WP will hit pappies hard.

Actions speak louder than words. Whatever the pappies do and their policies do not benefit the locals, they are bad policies whether in the short term or long term.

That's the point I trying to contest. There are those who believe the government policies are hurting only in the short run, but when we wait several more years down the road we will start to reap the benefits, like our economy will be way way ahead of our neighbours, and our economic advantages will be much better due to our long-term strategic policies, etc.

So they tell us to bear some hurt right now .... treat it like a preparation for the future so that our kids and grandkids can have a better economic future for them!

Do you think there is something wrong here with this argument?

That's the point I trying to contest. There are those who believe the government policies are hurting only in the short run, but when we wait several more years down the road we will start to reap the benefits, like our economy will be way way ahead of our neighbours, and our economic advantages will be much better due to our long-term strategic policies, etc.

So they tell us to bear some hurt right now .... treat it like a preparation for the future so that our kids and grandkids can have a better economic future for them!

The 'bitter medicine' or 'for the greater good' justifications are utter nonsense.

Those who believe it are brainwashed and deluded.

The way the PAP govt is going about it now, there will be no future at all.

All sinkies are selfish. If current policies do not benefit them, they are bad policies. Why wait for years to get benefits? Cannot tahan the FTsh already now. How to tolerate it for years?