• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jackie Chan Uses Spore To Pressure Hong Kong Into Bowing To His Request

sgnewsalte

When Jackie Chan announced that he intends to donate his antique houses and costumes to Singapore, our State Media were swooning all over about it. But now the truth is out. Jackie Chan is just making use of Singapore to pressure the Hong Kong Govt to allocate a site for his exhibition. He threatens to move all his collection and costumes to Singapore if the Hong Kong Govt does not bow to his request. As for our Singapore Govt, they are desperate enough to offer land and provide free transportation for exhibits. Now who says Singapore has insufficient land for nursing homes? :rolleyes:

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article
/ALeqM5jp8DyMLgpbU2yN_hz7P_J4z38Waw

Jackie Chan says HK govt ignored museum plea

10 hours ago
HONG KONG (AFP) — Action hero Jackie Chan said Thursday a museum dedicated to his career would have been built in Hong Kong rather than Singapore if the government had not ignored his repeated requests for land.

The Hong Kong-born "Rush Hour" star said he had decided to donate his costumes, awards and a collection of antique Chinese houses to Singapore after 10 fruitless years trying to convince the Hong Kong government to host the attraction.

"I finally decided last week to give (the collection) to them," he told AFP.

"I will built everything in Singapore. All my costumes will be moved there. The Jackie Chan Museum will be in Singapore," he said.

His collection included seven wooden houses, currently stored in a Hong Kong warehouse, which date back to the Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties and are worth more than 67 million US dollars.

He said he would not change his mind unless the Hong Kong government got back to him over the next few days with a concrete offer.

"But I doubt if they will come back to me, not even if they are given another year," he said. "I was very disappointed. It was a shame."
"I feel Hong Kong is now too politicised," he said, adding that Chief Executive Donald Tsang and other government officials were often afraid to take actions for fear of being criticised.

Chan said although he had offered to pay for the land and the cost of the project, the government had not responded.

In contrast, he said that the Singapore government replied a week after it learnt about his idea. He was offered land and costs for transporting the exhibits.

"I was really touched," he said.

A government spokeswoman said the Hong Kong Tourism Board was discussing the issue with Chan.

"We are trying to learn more about his plan before we consider how to take it forward," she told AFP.

expected.

question is whether China will be making noise? ie: recent case with the auction of the rabbit n rat head...

har...stay in Hong Kong lah...dun come to Singapore...he is only using us a bargaining chip...

why not in mainland china?
make no sense to come to singapore

in ze n, sg wil b taken 4 a ride again ... like look like a damn big fool! ...

as usual ...

of cos who would want to really donate to sg? later the tamasek sell their things.

Ah-Chan very smart...use Singapore as a bridge to achieve his goal.
Once his goal is done....can burn this wooden bridge liao.

And we still gong gong tu tu....offer materials & manpower to build this unstable bridge.

:( :o :(

very smart...use Singapore as a bridge to achieve his goal.

The same goes for those table tennis and badminton players- winnings remit back to China and on retirement, return to China with the medals.

His first choice is his homeland HK and second choice in SG. That is a normal plan out.

It is natural in his position to plan it out this way. what do you expect? Put in Africa?

Aiyah , the two antiques that were auction by christies were stolen from the summer palace in the 1860s ,when the foreigners invaded beijing.
As for jackie chan's collection, I think it is a collection of old houses and I think maybe you can put it up at Sentosa as a tourist attraction in Resort world.

I got some old clothes and broken down TV and stereo sets, any one interested? The garang guni man didn't want them.

Ah-Chan very smart...use Singapore as a bridge to achieve his goal.

Singapore forever bully peasants but always get tricked by white men and rich foreigners !

Taxed locals with GST and National Service! Made locals pay the price of doing National Service but jobs give to foreigners !

Singapore is the fuckhole of the world.

Jackie Chan come use us as bargaining chip.

Edison Chen come here to suck cock.

Well is it surprising? Look at the million dollar clown that's running the show.

5e3b8e2378d79ea8

what you expect?

Singapore forever bully peasants but always get trick by white men and rich foreigners !
edit a lil bit, hor ... changes underlined ...

sg 4ever bully peasants bcoz million $ gahmen oways get tricked by wite men n rich 4eigners! ...

Yes, and Singapore PAP loves to burn-up all our hard earned money into redundant infrastructure !

3 years had passed ......... Where is the musuem ????

Hongki government smart. They know his collections and belongings got no attaction value.
Who would want to see jackie chan's personal effects.
He is trying to save his storage cost and pass the buck to idiots.