• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - EIU is wrong. Sinkapore is cheap.

Guess what I found about this Asian Competitiveness Institute. You might as well point them to the Bradell brothels. pfft.

He drew attention to the 2012 Asia Competitiveness Institute report which he said tried to measure the cost of living for ordinary residents.

http://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/aci/

About ACI
The Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI) was established in August 2006 as a research centre at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (LKYSPP), National University of Singapore (NUS). It aims to build the intellectual leadership and network for understanding and developing competitiveness in the ASEAN region.
ACI seeks to contribute to the enhancement of economic growth and living standards through competitiveness research on clusters and comparative regions. It identifies mitigating issues and challenges for potential policy interventions.

When they compare taxi and MRT, we may be cheaper by a couple of dollars. When u compare cars we r more expensive by a $100k or more!!! What's more to say!!!

Bro enterprise2,

Are you sure taxi are cheaper by a couple of dollars? :rolleyes:

In addition to basic fare, have you include the ERP charges, midnite charge, peak hour surcharge, city area surchage, location surchage, additional passenger fee and booking fees? :confused: :mad:

Just like SG proclaim to have among the lowest tax rates in the world. It is the indirect taxes like the COE, ERP, foreign worker levy etc that will tax you heavily. I am sure most Singaporeans drivers pay more for their annual COE than their annual tax due. Take a look at your utility bills if you still don't understand. :eek: :(

When they compare taxi and MRT, we may be cheaper by a couple of dollars. When u compare cars we r more expensive by a $100k or more!!! What's more to say!!!

If you want to book a London cab to Changi Airport, it will cost $50.

Bro enterprise2,

Are you sure taxi are cheaper by a couple of dollars? :rolleyes:

In addition to basic fare, have you include the ERP charges, midnite charge, peak hour surcharge, city area surchage, location surchage, additional passenger fee and booking fees? :confused: :mad:

Just like SG proclaim to have among the lowest tax rates in the world. It is the indirect taxes like the COE, ERP, foreign worker levy etc that will tax you heavily. I am sure most Singaporeans drivers pay more for their annual COE than their annual tax due. Take a look at your utility bills if you still don't understand. :eek: :(

My point is if you contact the taxi fares, bus, MRT..etc, we may be cheaper or dearer by couple of cents or dollars. However if u compare cars, we are more expensive by a clear distance $100k or more!! That is my point!!

Yes. That's why I take the MRT although I am carrying two giant luggages.:o

I was actually looking for the cheapest method of transporting something bulky.

During one of the computer shows, SMRT put a ban on people bringing in large items like TV's onto the trains. I see some people bringing in luggage, baby carriers which are just as large & bulky. Maybe next time I'll just get a large pram to carry all my bulky items :D

My point is if you contact the taxi fares, bus, MRT..etc, we may be cheaper or dearer by couple of cents or dollars. However if u compare cars, we are more expensive by a clear distance $100k or more!! That is my point!!

Fucking idiot !

HOW ELSE DID SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY GOTTEN 700 800++ BILLIONS INTO HIS STINKAPORE SOVEREIGN FUNDS?
AND FOR HIS PAP THUGS TO GO LAUGHING ALL THE WAY TO THEIR FUCKING BANKS?

BY SCREWING STINKIES IN EVERY WAY THAT THEY CAN

Let's grant him that cost of living for expats and locals is different, but one must not then think cost of living for locals is low as no survey (at least, as far as I know) has been done to rank cost of living for locals across cities. For all you know, Singapore may still be the most expensive city in terms of cost of living for locals if someone did such a survey.

The fact is that for many expats, the cost of living is a lot lower than for a singaporean. For the top tier expats, they would have negotiated a compensation package before moving here consisting of a large housing allowance, company supplied car, moving expenses allowance, free air tickets back home, and salary paid in USD or Euros.

For middle tier expats and PMETS, they don't buy a car because its too expensive, but 8 of them will rent a HDB flat together and defray their living expenses that way. This is because they do no have their families here with them and they can afford to cut many corners to save on the living expenses. For the lowest tier FTs, well, there is the workers dorm for them. All the 3 options described above is not available to Sinkies.

Botak-neh, please sue EIU for tarnishing pee-a-pee's reputation or else you're admitting what they said is truth.

U stay hotel or squat with your parents/relatives??? stay hotel not cheap in spore hor...but i admit,,take taxis is much cheaper than in perth,,,but in perth I got car,,,in spore dont have,,,and in perth,,take public tpt more expensive than drive car,,,but it all adds up the same...spore is not cheap,,,but perth is even more expensive...

it truly is. everytime i visit sg, i only spend less than sgd19.69 on food and drinks, less than sgd6.96 on the mrt, and less than sgd9.69 to buy "fei loong" or "jimbo" boxer shorts per day. after 2 weeks in sg, i am actually richer than in the bay area as i would spent usd69.69 on food and drinks, usd16.69 on bart and gas, and usd19.69 on hanes boxer shorts per day. :eek: :D

Actually Sinkapore is not that expensive........ haven't you heard that you can get a bandung drink for 50 cent and a good meal of nasi padang complete with chicken drumstick and prawns for only $2.50. OK lah.

must pay somemore???? got someone steal toothpick and neber pay leh.

Actually Sinkapore is not that expensive........ haven't you heard that you can get a bandung drink for 50 cent and a good meal of nasi padang complete with chicken drumstick and prawns for only $2.50. OK lah.

Yeah!! Only problem u got to wear white and be part of PAPee!!

It is ridiculous for the highest paid minister in the world to talk as though expats stay in a walled city or separate enclave cut off from locals. The places expats goes to are also frequented by locals-eg Orchard Rd, 5 star hotels, high end condos, country clubs ect2.
Expats often patronise fast food joints and pay same prices as locals.

In fact its local prices that support expat prices, eg high HDB resale prices/rentals support prices/rentals of condos, high COE prices mostly paid by locals, locals that drive taxis taken by expats.

The cost of living for expats are not arbitrary but rather reflects high cost of living for locals and are interrelated.
The higher the cost of living for locals, the higher it will be for expats.
Its logical to assume that the most expensive city for expats is also the most expensive for locals on a world wide basis.

Guess what I found about this Asian Competitiveness Institute. You might as well point them to the Bradell brothels. pfft.

http://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/aci/

The wonderful thing about Singapore is the dual economy; one catering for the poor and another, for the rich.

So the perspective differs as well.

U stay hotel or squat with your parents/relatives??? stay hotel not cheap in spore hor...but i admit,,take taxis is much cheaper than in perth,,,but in perth I got car,,,in spore dont have,,,and in perth,,take public tpt more expensive than drive car,,,but it all adds up the same...spore is not cheap,,,but perth is even more expensive...

Singapore is not a car city, so it make sense to commute, as long as there is no breakdown.
Perth is a car city, so driving is cheaper.

THE MOST EXPENSIVE CITIES IN AUSTRALASIA
1. Singapore
5. Sydney
6. Melbourne
6. Tokyo
13. Hong Kong
14. Osaka
15. South Korea
17. Auckland
19. Wellington
21. Brisbane
21. Perth <-----
21. Shanghai
30. Noumea
37. Adelaide

Botak-neh, please sue EIU for tarnishing pee-a-pee's reputation or else you're admitting what they said is truth.

While they are at it, they might as well sue TI for giving a D grade on the Defence spending. Even Tharmbi knows that without the kangaroo court at his disposal, he will for sure lose any lawsuits in the real world.