• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thanks to PAP, SG is now world #1!

LITTLEREDDOT

3 March 2014

Singapore named the world's most expensive city

_73325042_singaporeskyline2013.jpg

Singapore has been moving up the ranks of the world's most expensive cities to live in over the last decade

Singapore has topped 131 cities globally to become the world's most expensive city to live in 2014, according to the Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU).

The city's strong currency combined with the high cost of running a car and soaring utility bills contributed to Singapore topping the list.

It is also the most expensive place in the world to buy clothes.

Singapore replaces Tokyo, which topped the list in 2013.

Other cities making up the top five most expensive cities to live in are Paris, Oslo, Zurich and Sydney, with Tokyo falling to sixth place.

The EIU's Worldwide Cost of Living Survey is a relocation tool that uses New York city as a base. It looks at more than 400 individual prices.

Top 5 most expensive cities

_73325973_457486815.jpg

1. Singapore, Singapore
  2. Paris, France
  3. Oslo, Norway
  4. Zurich, Switzerland
  5. Sydney, Australia

Soaring AsiaThe top 10 cities this year have been dominated by Asian and Australasian cities as well as some in Europe.
"Improving sentiment in structurally expensive European cities combined with the continued rise of Asian hubs means that these two regions continue to supply most of the world's most expensive cities," said the editor of the report, Jon Copestake.
"But Asian cities also continue to make up many of the world's cheapest, especially in the Indian subcontinent."
Most Asian cities that top the list are there for predominantly higher costs of groceries. Tokyo is still at the top of the list for everyday food items.
Inexpensive IndiaHowever, not all Asian cities are tough on the wallet.
India's major cities - including Mumbai and New Delhi - were found to be among the least expensive in the world.
Mumbai's prices are kept low by large income inequality.
The low wages of many of the city's workers keep spending low, and government subsidies have helped them stay that way.
Outside of the subcontinent, Damascus in Syria saw the largest drop, becoming the fourth cheapest city in the world as the country's ongoing conflict has led to plummeting prices.
While the EIU's survey takes into account the cost of living, other firms employ different research methods.
Mercer conducts research to determine the most expensive cities for expatriate living.
It found that in 2013, Luanda, Angola was the hardest on expatriate wallets due to the difficulty of finding adequate secure housing, and the high price of imported goods.

this is the best news for singapore!!!

wonderful !!! we have reached the first world class with our world class foresight and development!!!

all singaporeans should feel proud !!! we are number one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats the PAP Government!!!!

majulah singapura!!!

Huat ah... one kapkia cost $10k sgd.. huat huat...

this is the best news for singapore!!!

wonderful !!! we have reached the first world class with our world class foresight and development!!!

all singaporeans should feel proud !!! we are number one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats the PAP Government!!!!

majulah singapura!!!

I am so proud that you are proud.

I feeling proud too.

That the efforts of smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY in amassing 700++ BILLIONS into his stinkapore sovereign funds and to pay his running dogs in PAP and the fucking corrupt rotten kangaroos caused Stinkapore to be number 1 in world for cost of living
In Stinkapore, you lucky to get back 50 bucks from the one hundred that you spend.

GST is the smallest component. You pay for the fucking grotesque rentals and pay for all kind of shit that goes to LKY and his fucking PAP

STINKIES GOT BACK NOTHING UNLIKE OTHER COUNTRIES
STINKIES GOT BACK LOTS AND LOTS OF LIES
STINKIES GOT BACK LOTS OF FUCKING AND TIEWING AS THEY REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIG

BUT

SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE IS WITHIN DAYS OR WEEKS IN BECOMING A ROTTING CORPSE
AFTER OUR YUM SENGS AND DANCING ON THE TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE WILL DANGLE THE PAP AND ALL THEIR COLLABORATORS WITH PIANO WIRE FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THEM ALL DANCE AND DANCE

I am so proud that you are proud.

I feeling proud too.

That the efforts of smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY in amassing 700++ BILLIONS into his stinkapore sovereign funds and to pay his running dogs in PAP and the fucking corrupt rotten kangaroos caused Stinkapore to be number 1 in world for cost of living
In Stinkapore, you lucky to get back 50 bucks from the one hundred that you spend.

GST is the smallest component. You pay for the fucking grotesque rentals and pay for all kind of shit that goes to LKY and his fucking PAP

STINKIES GOT BACK NOTHING UNLIKE OTHER COUNTRIES
STINKIES GOT BACK LOTS AND LOTS OF LIES
STINKIES GOT BACK LOTS OF FUCKING AND TIEWING AS THEY REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIG

BUT

SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE IS WITHIN DAYS OR WEEKS IN BECOMING A ROTTING CORPSE
AFTER OUR YUM SENGS AND DANCING ON THE TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE WILL DANGLE THE PAP AND ALL THEIR COLLABORATORS WITH PIANO WIRE FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THEM ALL DANCE AND DANCE

wow!! you are so feeling proud!!! good for you SIR!!!
welcome HOME!!!

Huat Ah! No Poverty in Sinkiepore.

huat ah!!! singapore is the richest city in the world
singaporeans are the richest people in singapore
there is no poverty in singapore
well done pap government!!!
majulah singapura!!!
i love singapore veri veri much!!!

HUAT AH! foreigners learns Sg is not the place to come

http://www.economywatch.com/news/singapore-is-worlds-most-expensive-city-eiu.04-03.html

Singapore Is World’s Most Expensive City: EIU
By: EW News Desk Team * Date: 3 March 2014

About The Author

Latest news about the state of the world economy. EconomyWatch,*News Desk Team

inShare
1 ** ** ** *
03 March 2014
Singapore is the world’s most expensive city to live in, according to the Economist Intelligence Unit’s (EIU) latest Worldwide Cost of Living survey, replacing Tokyo at the top, after moving up five spots this year.

Singapore “has some structurally expensive items that skew the overall cost of living upwards,” said the report.

Notably, it is significantly more expensive to own a car in Singapore than any other location in the world, because cars in Singapore come with very high certificate of entitlement fees attached to them. As a result, transport costs in Singapore are almost three times higher than in New York – the base city for measurement.

In addition, with virtually no natural resources, Singapore is reliant on other countries for energy and water supplies, making it the third most expensive destination for utility costs.

The EIU noted that Singapore’s rising price prominence “has been steady rather than spectacular.”

A decade ago, Singapore was the 18th most expensive city in the world, but over the last decade a 40 percent currency appreciation, coupled with solid price inflation, has consistently pushed Singapore up the ranking.

Last year’s most expensive city, Tokyo, also saw a significant drop in its ranking, as a result of the government’s currency policies, which has seen the yen depreciate by more than 30 percent against the U.S. dollar since September 2012.

“Despite Abenomics driving consumer confidence and price inflation, a weaker yen has pushed Osaka and Tokyo away from the top of the cost of living ranking, this has paved the way for Singapore, which has been steadily moving up the ranking over the last decade, to claim the unenviable title of world’s most expensive city,” the report noted.
Related: Singapore Home To World’s Top-Earning Expats: Study

Sign-up for our
eNewsletter
First NameLast NameEmail

We respect your privacy

Related: The 10 Priciest Streets On The Planet

The EIU's Worldwide Cost of Living Survey looks at more than 400 individual prices to determine the cost of living. The top ten cities this year were (in order of ranking): Singapore, Paris, Oslo, Zurich, Sydney, Caracas (joint-6th), Geneva (joint-6th), Melbourne (joint-6th), Tokyo (joint-6th) and Copenhagen.

The ten least expensive cities were Mumbai, Karachi, New Delhi, Damascus, Kathmandu, Algiers, Bucharest, Panama City, Jeddah and Riyadh.*

Re: HUAT AH! foreigners learns Sg is not the place to come

that's the price we pay to have a high standard of living. and if ft's find it the costliest to live here, we sinkies got it even worse :eek:

Yahoo News Balls Big trying to make Ruler Loong look bad with expensive city report

Transmodified from http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/si...economist-intelligence-015408023--sector.html

Peasantpore does exhibit quantum mechanics properties when it comes to ranking it as an expensive city. How cheap or expensive it can go depends on whoever is writing the report.

Pro-regime Shitty Times lackeys will always paint you a rosy picture claiming Peasantpore is moderately expensive but now a big balls ang moh ranked it as the most expensive city in the world. Small wonder as Shitty Times reporters are known to sell their parents for a dime to please the regime and move up the ranks e.g. ST's Chua Witches. It appears the tap water in the The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) office makes their reporters bolder and more 'kuai lan'.

The EIU ang moh says price rises and a stronger currency mean that Peasantpore now has the "dubious" claim to the title of the world's most expensive city, topping the Big Apple and soiled underwear collector city, Tokyo.

Under the 'Favour Foreigners Policy at All Cost' policy, the regime engineered a 40 percent currency appreciation, coupled with solid price inflation, has consistently pushed Peasantpore up the ranking. Ruler Loong and his well educated rich minons have also created some structurally expensive items that skew the overall cost of living upwards.

For example, car costs have very high related certificate of entitlement fees attached to them, which makes Peasantpore a playground for the rich and poor while all peasants suffer the more expensive tag. Thanks to car ownership and frequent transport fare hikes, transport costs in Peasantpore are almost three times higher than in New York.

"Peasantpore's rise is partially attributable to the continued rent extraction policy on foreign investments. It also attract dirty money and billionaires as the SAF is their number one protector. You see, got many southern indos and PRCs stash all their filthy loot in Peasantpore lor. Got hot money cum in sure got inflation, so the rich no problem, its a paradise but for the peasants and older serfs, better die then fall sick lah."

In addition, the Cambridge trained Ruler Loong also presided over a regime with extensive regime ownership of key infrastructure. For example, Peasantpore buys cheap gas after signing deals with corrupt Indo swines but charge peasants fuel oil rates for electricity generation. In addition, land is treated like a cash cow and the Housing Mafia have been running surpluses selling expensive bird cage leases while greedy developers pay levies and duties to build overpriced condos thanks to Uncle Sam's cheap dollars.

The proliferation of expensive malls and boutiques on Orchard Road to cater to corrupt but filthy rich Indos, PRC Pandas and Nehs also make Peasantpore the priciest place in the world in which to buy clothes.

Such developments turned Peasantpore into an expensive island paradise ahead of traditional powerhouses like New York and Tokyo despite have lesser paedophiles or soiled underwear collectors.

Ruler Loong, who is increasing under pressure as Old Autocrat readies to meet Lord Yama is expected to arrow some scholars to cum up with a North Korean style rebuttal soon, citing the evil machinations of the EIU and its hidden agenda.

Re: Yahoo News Balls Big trying to make Ruler Loong look bad with expensive city repo

I can still remember when things in Spore were reasonable. Back when LKY was in the drivers seat. LKY might have been a dictator, a tyrant,... but at least he was pro Spore.

Don't expect things in Spore to improve because the factors that make it expensive are not going to change: expensive utilities, transport, corruption at the highest levels..... & I won't be surprised if the PAP increases GST to help the "poor" to cope with the cost:rolleyes:

Re: Yahoo News Balls Big trying to make Ruler Loong look bad with expensive city repo

highest cost of living, yes...highest standard of living? wait long long.

huat ah!!! Singapore is the richest city in the world
singaporeans are the richest people in singapore
there is no poverty in singapore
well done pap government!!!
Majulah singapura!!!
I love singapore veri veri much!!!

there is a diff between cost of living and standard of living

Number 1 being stupid.. A good govt the make the cost of living low for the people.. Only Fucktard make it expensive.