• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Reason Why Singaporeans are Angry

blindswordsman

The younger generation did not experience the turmoil and riots of the past and did not enjoy the progress and the fruits of the economic growth that their parents benefited from.

Those born in 1930 to 1960 saw the change of SG from slum to modern city under LKY and the Old Guards. They appreciated what he had done and rightly so. The young generation of locals today did not see the turmoil, the struggle, the riots, the gangsterism of that era in SG but the older generation today still remembers. However, the harm now done to SG by current PAP leadership has eroded or will continue to erode the love of the older generation for the PAP.

TracyTan866

How can they do that when the MRT is filled full of rich people.
They need poor people around or move to NZ.

easterlin-paradox.png

hahahaha...

who caused certain vocations to be below dignity?

the propaganda that only academic counts, the low pay, etc are all pap's doing

Plumbers, sparkies and chippies can earn tons of money but the job isn't glamorous enough. Singaporeans want a comfortable environment and a swanky office. This attitude has nothing to do with the PAP. It has existed for as long as I can remember way back to the time when Singapore was still a colony.

Asian parents have always wanted their children to grow up to be lawyers, doctors, architects etc. Vocations such as plumbing which involve installing and repairing toilets and bathtubs are looked down upon.

Vocations are only treated on equal terms in countries with an egalitarian outlook towards life. OZ and NZ are examples. In such countries, the Toyota Pickup truck is the best selling vehicle. In Singapore, Mercs and Beemers are the top sellers. It is all to do with ones value systems.

TracyTan866

Those born in 1930 to 1960 saw the change of SG from slum to modern city under LKY and the Old Guards. They appreciated what he had done and rightly so. The young generation of locals today did not see the turmoil, the struggle, the riots, the gangsterism of that era in SG but the older generation today still remembers. However, the harm now done to SG by current PAP leadership has eroded or will continue to erode the love of the older generation for the PAP.

the present pap MPs are a disaster living on past PAP glory

TracyTan866

Plumbers, sparkies and chippies can earn tons of money but the job isn't glamorous enough. Singaporeans want a comfortable environment and a swanky office. This attitude has nothing to do with the PAP. It has existed for as long as I can remember way back to the time when Singapore was still a colony.

Asian parents have always wanted their children to grow up to be lawyers, doctors, architects etc. Vocations such as plumbing which involve installing and repairing toilets and bathtubs are looked down upon.

you are naive...SG tradesmen cant make a decent living

neddy

yes...they train the tradesmen well

That is because the trademen have to give warranty for their work.

who caused certain vocations to be below dignity?

the propaganda that only academic counts, the low pay, etc are all pap's doing

It seems that rent-seeking is a virtue. I love to be a Singapore landlord sitting around writing SBF forums to spend my time. Leave all those blue-collar work to the FLs .errh ... foreign labour in this context.

you are naive...SG tradesmen cant make a decent living

Of course they can. I personally know a Singaporean who goes around repairing and re tiling roofs. He has a new Merc every 3 years. He was my LCP in the army. He fixed my roof when I was living in Singapore.

TracyTan866

Of course they can. I personally know a Singaporean who goes around repairing and re tiling roofs. He has a new Merc every 3 years. He was my LCP in the army. He fixed my roof when I was living in Singapore.

do you know how much a tiler is paid in SG? just do the maths and you know you sound silly

blindswordsman

I don't understand why there are so many pessimists in Singapore. Everything is getting better, Singaporeans are living longer and getting richer, there is more good food in Singapore than ever before, there are more things to see, more places to go, the sgd is strong, air fares are cheap.

For goodness sake appreciate all the wonderful joys of life instead of constantly wasting time complaining about imaginary problems.

The problems are not imaginary. If not addressed sooner, Singaporeans will no longer be masters of their own country.

do you know how much a tiler is paid in SG? just do the maths and you know you sound silly

I paid him $12,000 to re tile my roof. That was $3000 cheaper than most of the other quotes I got. He did it in 2.5 days.

The problems are not imaginary. If not addressed sooner, Singaporeans will no longer be masters of their own country.

New Singaporeans who are more industrious and more hardworking will be masters of the country and this will benefit everyone.

blindswordsman

So, is it a mistake to put LKY son in charge? He is a scholar, a military general and comes from the best genes SDU has to offer.
Can't go wrong ... RIGHT?

LKY kicked butts, tackled issues head on with steel determination, a fighter. If you were in SG in 1950/1960, you would know how he whacked the gangsters and freed the people from oppression of gangsters. What his son has done is for people to judge and natives will judge him on how he makes their lives better or miserable. From sentiments at ground level, it seems he makes a mess.

I paid him $12,000 to re tile my roof. That was $3000 cheaper than most of the other quotes I got. He did it in 2.5 days.

Boss, next time PM me la I make sure you get quality screws and sealants to go with your roof guarantee 20 years.

By the way roofers are a specialized tradesman and not general contractors, also roofing material is actually inexpensive so they can make lots of money, why I know because they all my good friends, now a days many roofers in Singapore stopped driving Merc and Beemers they already changed driving Porsche Cayenne & Panamera and Audis

u must be the type of ppl who leave everything to your ID to handle when u renovate your house. FYI, the fee charge by a plumber is very high, no longer got $30 job liao. my mom flat kitchen sink pipe choked, cost me $200 bucks to hire the plumber to clear the choke. it a half an hour job but it stink and dirty like hell. he asked me who was the idiot contractor who installed such a small drainage pipe for sewage as he had a hard time clearing the choke. And i talked to the electricians, painters and plumbers sent down by my ID when i reno my flat recently, the fee they charging my ID are not small, no wonder the ID charged me a leg for my renovation.

blindswordsman

let's resolve to get rid of the problem and restore the good life

Difficult, leh. There are still diehards in SG supporting PAP, and with new imported citizens, it is an uphill task. However, to restore the good life should not unravel the foundation of this country.

I'm trying to cheer everyone up and point out to them that life is actually very good in Singapore and that all those who complain should snap out of their "doom and gloom" perspective of life and live life to the fullest instead.

ah leong, u beri patient hor, keep plugging away at a stubborn cow. TS and several others are left wing do gooders who expect the world to operate as utopia.

btw, i dun think pinkie and pap give a damn whether the ppl are angry or not, it will be biz as usual.

what the point of being angry when these so call angry ppl keep voting in the very same bastards/bitches every eRections. ihmo, they shd be angry at themselves.

no_faith

tok cock la. i didnt know staying in HDB, above you is not ceiling but roof. stop hallucinating.:oIo:

Boss, next time PM me la I make sure you get quality screws and sealants to go with your roof guarantee 20 years.

By the way roofers are a specialized tradesman and not general contractors, also roofing material is actually inexpensive so they can make lots of money, why I know because they all my good friends, now a days many roofers in Singapore stopped driving Merc and Beemers they already changed driving Porsche Cayenne & Panamera and Audis

I installed a brand new roof and sold the house 3 years later and the buyer tore the whole house down to rebuild a 3 story monster.