[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
January 19th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

hawker-centres-300x187.jpg
A hawker centre

In a sign of the times, more Singaporean families are having their reunion dinner at a hawker centre rather than a restaurant these days, reported the media.

One of the main reasons is price.

Richard Lee, who will be having his reunion dinner at a hawker centre this year, said, “Prices wise, it’s quite a big difference.”

“In restaurants, you’ll probably need four, five hundred dollars for a set menu for 10 persons but here, probably… less than a hundred. You can actually have some very good food. You’ll have my favourites – char siew or turtle soup. You don’t have to eat abalone or shark’s fin,” he said.

“The food here has more variety. The elders and the children have more choice. You don’t actually have to follow the menu from the restaurant.”

Another reason is the rushed nature of reunion dinner at a restaurant, but this is probably a secondary reason.

“We also went to the restaurants but then we are expected to finish our dinner within that timing”, said Teh Siong Koon, another person who was interviewed by the media.

“We don’t feel that type of comfort and relaxing mood, enjoying our reunion dinner. That’s why this year we’re trying something new and trying out in the hawker centre.”

Some hawkers confirmed that they are selling traditional Lunar New Year dishes, such as “yusheng” and “pen cai”, just for this festive period.

A hawker in Chinatown said he has already received more than 100 orders for reunion dinner meals and Lunar New Year dishes.

ST food portal, Soshiok.com, published an article recommending where to go for reunion dinner this year [Link]:
<BIG>•</BIG> Peony Jade @ Keppel Club and @ Clarke Quay – From $738 to $1688 (table of 10)
<BIG>•</BIG> Yan Ting @ St Regis Hotel – From $108 per person (6-course) or from $1288 a table (8-course)
<BIG></BIG>

<BIG>•</BIG> Street 50 Restaurant and Bar @ Bay Hotel – $58 (per adult), $28 (per children)
<BIG>•</BIG> Hai Tien Lo @ Pan Pacific Hotel – From $108 (per person), $988 (table of 10)
<BIG>•</BIG> Crystal Jade @ Paragon – prices not listed
<BIG>•</BIG> Brotzeit – $88 (per person)
<BIG>•</BIG> Fengshui Inn @ Crockfords Hotel in Sentosa – $1118 (table of six) or $1688 (table of ten)
<BIG>•</BIG> Hua Ting @ Orchard Hotel – From $98 (two persons) to $5888 (table of 10)
<BIG>•</BIG> Plaza Brasserie @ Park Royal Hotel – $88 (per adult), $53 (per child)
<BIG>•</BIG> Petite Menu @ Aqueen Hotel – $33 per person (three course), $43 per person (four course)
<BIG>•</BIG> Db Bistro Moderne at Marina Bay Sands – prices not listed
<BIG>•</BIG> Cherry Garden @ Mandarin Oriental – From $118 (per person)
Of course, there are many who prefer to have their reunion dinner at home.

Lye Khuen Way: January 19, 2014 at 12:02 pm Lye Khuen Way(Quote)
Signs of the times ! Dinner at home for me will be a pain . 1) place too small to cater for mr brother & family and my own with Son-in-Law and grand children , 2) cost of ingredients are already spiraling upwards .
Eating out whether at a restaurant or Hawker Centre make sense of the average Joe like me.
So thanks to the ruling party “right sizing” of the newer HDB flats, family get together will be a fond memories !
Used to “laugh” at those Hong Kong average residents and their habit of not inviting friends to their home. Well, we are now enjoying that kind of progress as well . No ?

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating: +4 (from 12 votes)

If they were cashed strapped, they'd be having it at home. That's where my family had their reunion dinner before LKY transformed Singapore from swampland to first world nation in less than a generation.

No fancy dishes either. We bought whatever was available at the wet market and cooked it with a charcoal stove as we had no electricity and no running water either. Space was limited so we literally had to take turns to eat but we were all happy as true happiness is brought about not by wealth but by being together with loved ones.

LKY changed all that thanks to his astute leadership. That is why even the low income members of society can now afford to go to hawker centres for a meal.

Vivian couldnt be happier, he be claiming credit for his swift action to abolish "no restuarant dish" in hawker centre...

Reunion dinner in "hawker centre, food court or restuarant."..vivian...vivian....

That's where my family had their reunion dinner before LKY transformed Singapore from swampland to first world nation in less than a generation.

home is the bestest place for reunion dinners! :):):)

The reason why Singaporeans don't eat at home anymore is because none of women can cook to save their lives. Even the low income earners are rich enough to eat out daily so the hawker centre is an easy option.

This proves my point that there are no poor in Singapore. If there were, they wouldn't be eating at hawker centres or at home. They'd be starving to death and depending on aid agencies for one meal a week.

hungerpoverty.jpg

If they were cashed strapped, they'd be having it at home. That's where my family had their reunion dinner before LKY transformed Singapore from swampland to first world nation in less than a generation.
I thought you were of Persian origin? Why you also have reunion dinner on the eve of CNY?

The reason why Singaporeans don't eat at home anymore is because none of women can cook to save their lives. Even the low income earners are rich enough to eat out daily so the hawker centre is an easy option.

This proves my point that there are no poor in Singapore. If there were, they wouldn't be eating at hawker centres or at home. They'd be starving to death and depending on aid agencies for one meal a week.

hungerpoverty.jpg

alamak, how can you compare these people with sinkie. These people don't have to pay tax, don't have to contribute cpf to feed the greedy garmen.

I see nothing wrong with having reunion dinner at hawker centers. Its a matter of choice. What is important is that you get to enjoy the reunion dinner in whatever place you feel most comfortable in.

We used to have our reunion dinners at a restaurant but it's so inconvenient having to travel there stuck in traffic, then squeezed in a queue waiting for your turn in the restaurant that was jam-packed and couldn't take your time to eat as the food were coming out in a hurry as there were still many others waiting for their turn outside.

Nowadays, we ordered catering and enjoy it at the comfort of our home. Sometimes, we reserved a table or 2 at nearby kopitiam at took a slow stroll back home after dinner.

have a steamboat dinner at home. save $$$ and everybody cooks his/her own food.

I see nothing wrong with having reunion dinner at hawker centers. Its a matter of choice. What is important is that you get to enjoy the reunion dinner in whatever place you feel most comfortable in.

We used to have our reunion dinners at a restaurant but it's so inconvenient having to travel there stuck in traffic, then squeezed in a queue waiting for your turn in the restaurant that was jam-packed and couldn't take your time to eat as the food were coming out in a hurry as there were still many others waiting for their turn outside.

Nowadays, we ordered catering and enjoy it at the comfort of our home. Sometimes, we reserved a table or 2 at nearby kopitiam at took a slow stroll back home after dinner.

It's fine when its a matter of choice but when you have no choice and hawker food is your only choice then that's different.

Reunion dinner at home is actually quite ok,,but because of the cost of food in singapore I dont see the point of cooking at home..hawker centres are there to keep the cost of living low for the people and eating at the hawker centre is cheaper than eating at home.

Restaurants etc are to me just upmarket makan places. In the past for Xmas my family always go Xmas buffet etc etc..than it became the must make booking, queue to go in, extra charges due to holiday season and all that crap,,in the end,,we just went to hawker centre and ordered better food,,eat also happy,,,and not rush..\

For CNY its going to be steamboat again,,,than on the 7th day it is yu sang,,yum yu,,,,

hungerpoverty.jpg
thank u for posting pics of the less fortunates. i doubt their garberment gets the same salary as pappies.

I second that. Wonder how to have reunion dinner at hawker centre when most chinese stalls will be closed. Unless they have do reunion dinner with Malay or Indian food, LOL.

No fancy dishes either. We bought whatever was available at the wet market and cooked it with a charcoal stove as we had no electricity and no running water either. Space was limited so we literally had to take turns to eat but we were all happy as true happiness is brought about not by wealth but by being together with loved ones.

LKY changed all that thanks to his astute leadership. That is why even the low income members of society can now afford to go to hawker centres for a meal.

Swiss standard of living indeed!

if the womenfolk cannot cook or grandma is too old to cook a feast for two dozen spoilt brats, best is to "ta pau" food from hawker centers home. 2 orders of each: satay, popiah, char kway teow, mee goreng, mee rebus, mee siam mai hum, fried hokkien mee, mee pok ta, and of course, must have curry chicken and laksa. very affordable. sg is extremely convenient and cheap for family reunions. no fancy restaurants required. and yes, thanks to old fart for making that a reality. :p