position of enginneer ( exempt )

ykhuser

hi anyone heard of this ?
my new colledge just joined.
he told me his position is engineer
his signed appointment letter indicated engineer ( exempt )
anyone understand what is the inclusive ( exempt ) ?
however his pay only $2100

honestly speaking, now everyone call themselves engineers or almost every jobs advertised are engineers. ummmm, i thought engineers have to be certified?!?! before calling themselves engineer.

cannot be even toilet cleaner also call themselves toilet enginneers right?

fuck pappies for trying to glamorise jobs and painting a picture of everyone is doing well in STINKING land. Hawker centre cleaners now also can be call environmental engineers.

honestly speaking, now everyone call themselves engineers or almost every jobs advertised are engineers. ummmm, i thought engineers have to be certified?!?! before calling themselves engineer.

cannot be even toilet cleaner also call themselves toilet enginneers right?

fuck pappies for trying to glamorise jobs and painting a picture of everyone is doing well in STINKING land. Hawker centre cleaners now also can be call environmental engineers.

how about con man enginneer
orh gui tao enginneer

Lemme guess... a small-time company, little or no perks, stingy on leave, no future for career advancement?

$2.1k engineer ahm chio liao. :D

Be grateful that the job hadn't gone to Ah Neh or Pinoy. ;)

Toilet cleaner can also be engineer: Sanitation engineer.

Cook: Culinary engineer.

Driver: Transport engineer.

Toilet cleaner can also be engineer: Sanitation engineer.

Cook: Culinary engineer.

Driver: Transport engineer.

home engineer,... look after children and cook and wash clean clean waiting for hubby?

The salesman at harvey norman selling iron has a job title call "sales engineer".. a dime a dozen.

In some MNCs, they have this term "exempt" and "non exempt"
exempt means you are rightaway confirmed, no probation is required. In some co exempt means no OT is claimable
Yrs back I joined a MNC as engineer also exempt.
Tat time starting pay for engineer was $2.5k (the co. hired fresh grad at 2.5K, and diploma with 5 yrs work experience also on par). I was the latter type. As a exempt staff I was still allowed to claim OT in that co.

In some MNCs, they have this term "exempt" and "non exempt"
exempt means you are rightaway confirmed, no probation is required. In some co exempt means no OT is claimable
Yrs back I joined a MNC as engineer also exempt.
Tat time starting pay for engineer was $2.5k (the co. hired fresh grad at 2.5K, and diploma with 5 yrs work experience also on par). I was the latter type. As a exempt staff I was still allowed to claim OT in that co.

my colledge told me he still got 3 months probation.
he can claim oT.
but how come called exempt?
since exempt mean no OT can be claim..have mom law to follow

my colledge told me he still got 3 months probation.
he can claim oT.
but how come called exempt?
since exempt mean no OT can be claim..have mom law to follow

I neber heard of exempt and yet still need probation, and can claim OT.
I think the co. just want to separates him from the common pool of OT claimable staff. Probably when his salary hits a certain amt , he will not be allowed for OT.

Doing OT without OT pay? That's nothing but exploitation made possible by a pro-business govt and a fake union. :cool:

the staff can simply reject working overtime.Co cant sack k\him
but problem is in future, he will be "tio mark "

the staff can simply reject working overtime.Co cant sack k\him
but problem is in future, he will be "tio mark "

There's nothing wrong with doing OT, I've done OT myself and enjoyed it.

But denying the worker fair OT pay reflects very poorly on the company and management.
Even the Bangla workers get paid for OT work.

Another thing is impromptu OT. A good company never does impromptu OT, there will be proper planning, project/manpower forecasting etc. And OT will be only implemented as a last resort when the work genuinely fails to get done in normal work time.

And those small-time companies and bosses wonder why they can't attract the better talents. Yeah, because your company and your crappy working environment also 'tio marked', and such news spread fast. :rolleyes:

My previous company exempt staff meant people not included in collective bargaining (i.e. - Unions).

If you want to get down to the nitty gritty, they can throw the book at you and say you are not eligible for any retrenchment benefits.

an "enginneer" with an extra "n" is exempted from giving n-structions as he may cause epic failures with his horrendous spelling ability. :rolleyes:

Can I tong pang your thread to ask views regarding hiring and work responsibilities.

Example, when HR ads for a 2 positions namely.. Engineer and Engineering Asst.

I applied for Engineering Asst as I do not want to have more responsibility. I tried to ask for e.g. $3000 which is my last drawn salary. HR called and offered me the post, and say we can only offer you 2.5k for the Engineering Asst post. I consider and then accepted the job.

When I started work, I realized the Engineer responsibility is very close to that of the Engineering Asst. And in every shift there are 1 Engineer overseeing all the EA.
Here comes the issue. When the Engineer is absent from work, the company expects me (the EA) to take over his role. Do I have the right to object to this request as I am not being paid the Engineer salary, even though I can carry out the task ?

Can I tong pang your thread to ask views regarding hiring and work responsibilities.

Example, when HR ads for a 2 positions namely.. Engineer and Engineering Asst.

I applied for Engineering Asst as I do not want to have more responsibility. I tried to ask for e.g. $3000 which is my last drawn salary. HR called and offered me the post, and say we can only offer you 2.5k for the Engineering Asst post. I consider and then accepted the job.

When I started work, I realized the Engineer responsibility is very close to that of the Engineering Asst. And in every shift there are 1 Engineer overseeing all the EA.
Here comes the issue. When the Engineer is absent from work, the company expects me (the EA) to take over his role. Do I have the right to object to this request as I am not being paid the Engineer salary, even though I can carry out the task ?

Hand over take over jobs is common and normal. Sinkie guys go for reservist, people take leave, sometimes urgent leave, pregnant office cows go and give birth etc.

The key is good planning way beforehand, so everyone knows who is doing what and covering for what, and thus there are no surprises.

Hand over take over jobs is common and normal. Sinkie guys go for reservist, people take leave, sometimes urgent leave, pregnant office cows go and give birth etc.

The key is good planning way beforehand, so everyone knows who is doing what and covering for what, and thus there are no surprises.

But the issue here is they should be asking the other Engineer to cover the absentee, instead of asking the EA. If I want to do the Engineer job I would have applied for that post and getting more salary.