• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

An Election STRATEGY that could TOPPLE this government.

pia

PAP controls SAF,the civil service and the judiciary.That is why! ..

ministermentor.jpg

....if there is a freak result, within two or three years, the army would have to come in and stop it​

chewed

Even if the oppositions gave up all seats and contested just LKY's GRC, they would probably still lose.

Boycotting elections is a last resort. people will say this is stupid and look what happened the last time, they did that. But now is 2009 not 1960s.It will look very bad on PAP in today era. If the peasants can understand why the oppositions do that? This is worth a try.

worth a try? you obvious dun get it. the MIW dun care abt looking bad. with so much $$$ involved, thats their main concern.

u boycott, u boycott lor.

once we lose tis 2 seats, we will never get it back.

Nice-Gook

But do compete in a weak GRC ward.

<style></style>The gist of my argument is simply is this.It does not matter even if you got 5 opposition candidates into the parliament.It really serves no purpose.I mean it.Why?Because we now have 2 opposition MPs.How had that improved people's position from previously when we had none?Does it strike a note somewhere to you?

So we can simply assume for strategic reasons the PAP may even intentionally allow say another 5+2 opposition MPs into our parliament.Than what? Please tell.

What I argue is.We have a weak PM.And LKY is the strongman of PAP.Without LKY ..PAP may not survive.PM and MM are blood relations.In short PAP head honchos are very family orientated.So if you defeat LHL you also defeat PAP.Its simply a matter of time

The_Latest_H

Reminds me of the movie Valkyrie, where Tom Cruise's character warned those who wanted to kill Hitler that until you kill Hitler's closest allies, like Goebbels as well as Hitler himself, any assassination of Hitler only will fail.

Ironically when Cruise's character set the bomb, Goebbels was in Berlin, not at East Prussia, where Hitler was. He didn't take his own advice.

Similarly here: if you think that LKY's GRC just needs to be toppled and the PAP would collapse, then you're wrong- because LKY has many advisers and close allies in his party. LKY will still play the game- because of the fact he's still alive and kicking.

And besides if you wanna kick off the top leader, you better first kick out the closest advisers & allies to him. Once you neutralise the crowd around LKY, then can you single him out as a vulnerable target. Otherwise the crowd will just shield him from you and run you over as you chase after him.

Nice-Gook

Specific incidences don't alter the fundamental fact that the existing Parliamentary system allows for resignations and subsequent by elections.

If the rules don't suit the PAP, they can easily change them anyway so at the end of the day, voting out their leaders isn't going to make a scrap of difference.

<style></style>Boy Oh boy I would be dammed.

Than by that logic.Circular logic that is.So long as a party command two third majority in the parliament it can do as it mood moves eh ! The winner takes all situations.

So what gives?Why than have any election.Unless of course all political parties are hung.In dead lock.Is that a perfection of democracy to you?

Notwithstanding,you have largely ignored the thrust of argument.I argue defeat LHL.And you had defeated PAP.With or without PAP majority in our parliament.

Sideswipe

should the opposition target LHL again.

afterall the next GE is surely LKY's last.

the opposition should plan for the future in 6 years time how they are going to deal with a LHL PAP in GE with probably no LKY and GCT.

Nice-Gook

Reminds me of the movie Valkyrie, where Tom Cruise's character warned those who wanted to kill Hitler that until you kill Hitler's closest allies, like Goebbels as well as Hitler himself, any assassination of Hitler only will fail.

Ironically when Cruise's character set the bomb, Goebbels was in Berlin, not at East Prussia, where Hitler was. He didn't take his own advice.

Similarly here: if you think that LKY's GRC just needs to be toppled and the PAP would collapse, then you're wrong- because LKY has many advisers and close allies in his party. LKY will still play the game- because of the fact he's still alive and kicking.

And besides if you wanna kick off the top leader, you better first kick out the closest advisers & allies to him. Once you neutralise the crowd around LKY, then can you single him out as a vulnerable target. Otherwise the crowd will just shield him from you and run you over as you chase after him.

You sound like one scroobal I come across.Speak in the same tongue.Sort of.:biggrin:

Errrr, me tok of LHL not LKY.

annexa

Look at facts. The last time crisis is SARS. The elections what happen? Goh votes shoot up to 80+%. This time also same strategy. Use crisis need stability mentality to lock sinkies into voting for pappies. Confirm more support one.

funglung

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Sinkies must organise themselves

Show that they got balls and can stand up to LKY intimidation.

Big money at stake.

Already 400++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS

The_Latest_H

You sound like one scroobal I come across.Speak in the same tongue.Sort of.:biggrin:

Errrr, me tok of LHL not LKY.

LHL is not the leader. LKY is the leader. Its true that one has to take out LHL to take out LKY. But if you leave LKY alone and only take out LHL politically, then your plan has a very, very big loophole.

After all, doesn't everyone, including you, dear buddy, know clearly that LHL is merely the puppet on strings? Until LKY has passed on, LHL doesn't have much authority. LHL is only the target- if you want to put it in this manner- if LKY passes on. Until that happens, neutralising LHL and leaving LKY alone is a step towards failure.

Nice-Gook

Look at facts. The last time crisis is SARS. The elections what happen? Goh votes shoot up to 80+%. This time also same strategy. Use crisis need stability mentality to lock sinkies into voting for pappies. Confirm more support one.

<style></style>Yup! You are right.Absolutely.

Fear perpetuated by crisis works and it works all the time.Look no other than the grand daddy of fear factory-the USA.Terrorism lah.Commies lah and what have you.That's how an idiot like Bush got voted into the oval office twice.Mama Mia,that is twice.

Then again everything in not without hope.Or world would have ended long ago.Just hear what one US president has to say,"You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all of the people all of the time."---you think 40 years is still short !

Lestat

Than by that logic.Circular logic that is.So long as a party command two third majority in the parliament it can do as it mood moves eh ! The winner takes all situations.

So what gives?Why than have any election.Unless of course all political parties are hung.In dead lock.Is that a perfection of democracy to you?

Notwithstanding,you have largely ignored the thrust of argument.I argue defeat LHL.And you had defeated PAP.With or without PAP majority in our parliament.

That's the whole reason for forming political parties as well as holding elections: to win a majority seat in the parliament and to form their own government. To do that in a proclaimed democracy country with a set of capitalist laws, you will need the mandate of the citizen. Hence the need for election. That's why it's often referred as the do-or-die campaign.:smile:

Even if you were to topple LHL, what gives? If LHL and LKY were both defeated (let's assume this way), but the PAPies still hold the majority to run the country, what gives you the idea that change will come around? You have to remember one thing: even if the leader is not holding on to the seat, as long as he/she is still alive, he/she still pulls the strings in the running of the country. That's a fact which no one can change. Already, there are so many examples worldwide, in that case, why do you even talk about ONLY toppling LHL? :confused:

Lestat

LHL is not the leader. LKY is the leader. Its true that one has to take out LHL to take out LKY. But if you leave LKY alone and only take out LHL politically, then your plan has a very, very big loophole.

After all, doesn't everyone, including you, dear buddy, know clearly that LHL is merely the puppet on strings? Until LKY has passed on, LHL doesn't have much authority. LHL is only the target- if you want to put it in this manner- if LKY passes on. Until that happens, neutralising LHL and leaving LKY alone is a step towards failure.

Well pointed out. :smile:

SARS was not created by Singapore Politicians or the PAP unless you read it wrongly. The PAP being a despicable lot capitalised on this.

1) This time around, the mess is their own doing. They went into recession faster than most people. They lost their pants in the investment world with Temasek and GIC limping around. Because they made investment in Citibank, UBS and Merrill in such a high profile manner, they are now the laughing stock of the world.

2) Singaporeans are not fighting to save their jobs from foreigners who have invaded every nook and cranny. I hear more Indian, PRC, Pinoy accents all the time than I hear local.

3) I can't recall a single thing going right for the PAP. In fact its the other way around. Khaw made too many blunders from old folks to even making $90 profit from a hero.

You should be ashamed of yourself if you think that Singaporeans are blind, deaf and dumb to give the PAP more votes. I am actually astounded how you came to this conclusion. Have more faith in your countrymen and women.

Why do you think they asked Ho Ching to step down short of 3 years? Its for this coming elections and they do not want a sitting target presented to the opposition.

chewed

Err, sorry to burst your hopes, but SG adopts a wesminster parliamentary system, that means if PAP wins more than 50% of votes they form govt & they are fit to choose the PM.

So now trick question is: Is it stated anywhere in consitution or election acts that the PM must be a MP? or the winning political party can pick someone with no seat in the parliament?

Sideswipe

Err, sorry to burst your hopes, but SG adopts a wesminster parliamentary system, that means if PAP wins more than 50% of votes they form govt & they are fit to choose the PM.

So now trick question is: Is it stated anywhere in consitution or election acts that the PM must be a MP? or the winning political party can pick someone with no seat in the parliament?

of course, the PM must be a MP.

can you find a westminster parliamentary election system country that has a PM or Minister that is not a member of parliament.

annexa

I wait to see how much balls oppos got and contest LKY GRC.
I wait to see how much balls sinkies have to vote against pappies.
I wait to see how you all cry foul and disappointed the day after elections.