• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie taoist demands for taoist public holiday?!

Extremist

Yesterday, an individual sent in a forum letter to the Chinese papers urging the government to grant a mandatory Taoist holiday in Singapore. As a Taoist myself, I am ecstatic that someone within the community finally has the guts to speak up. Owing to conventional Taoist teachings where believers strive to take a non-confrontational approach to life, leaders within the Taoist community have in the past been unwilling to push the government vigorously for such a concession.

However, for the younger generation of Taoist followers, we believe that in a Singapore where equality is an important hallmark, this is a right that is long overdue and should be accorded to the Taoist community.

Moreover, if we look at the latest available government census, 10.9% of Singapore's population are Taoist and between the year 2000 - 2010 Taoism has seen a 2.4% growth in followers. In comparison, only 5.1% of Singapore's population are Hindus. Given that Taoism has consistently sustained itself as one of the major religions in Singapore society since Independence, shouldn't we be given a public holiday to celebrate the birthday of the founder of Taoism (Lao Tzu)?

Over the years, whenever there was any Taoist celebration, believers are forced to use their annual leave in order to fulfill their religious obligations. If we look at the other major religions in Singapore, they are given public holidays to celebrate their religions. Sad to say, from our experiences, employers are also least receptive and understanding to the religious needs of a Taoist due to this lack of official recognition by the government.

I strongly urge the government to consider the needs of the Taoist community and make the 15th day of the second lunar month a Taoist public holiday. It is only fair that our community is given a public holiday similar to what is enjoyed by the other major religions in Singapore. Otherwise, are we guilty of reciting an empty pledge daily when the religious needs of Singaporean Taoists are not fulfilled "based on justice and equality"?

It is time the government live up to the promises made to Singaporeans and work towards an inclusive Singapore.

Please show your support for your fellow Singaporean Taoists by signing the petition below.

https://secure.avaaz.org/en/petitio...e_2nd_lunar_month_as_a_Taoist_Public_Holiday/

Yes kopiuncle...we hear u..:D

why only post news on Friday ah. NEW STYLE? :D

Like self-help groups and HDB ethnic quotas, PAP-run Singapore likes to divide everything along racial-religious lines.

The same goes for holidays.

Like self-help groups and HDB ethnic quotas, PAP-run Singapore likes to divide everything along racial-religious lines.

The same goes for holidays.
we need a public holiday for Anti FT Day. :D

What about the Parsi faith? Surely they deserve a public holiday too.

we should have Qingming, Dragon Boat and Mid-Autumn holidays too. too many public holidays ? we can cancel holidays like Hari Raya and Deepavali...

Cannot, otherwise racial harmony will be compromised as the other races kpkb about why their race/religion don't get that many public holidays.

And if you have too many public holidays, that'll be poor for productivity and GDP. That's no good for PAP-run Sinkieland. Everyone must contribute to boosting the nation's economy. If you can up the GDP by 1% by pimping out your mother, you should jolly well do so. It is your patriotic duty. :cool:

Got extra Public Holidays the better...I dont care for Taoist or hindu or LKY die day...Spore used to have more holidays than PAP cut in the name of productivity.

Cannot, otherwise racial harmony will be compromised as the other races kpkb about why their race/religion don't get that many public holidays.

And if you have too many public holidays, that'll be poor for productivity and GDP. That's no good for PAP-run Sinkieland. Everyone must contribute to boosting the nation's economy. If you can up the GDP by 1% by pimping out your mother, you should jolly well do so. It is your patriotic duty. :cool:

Wait shit skinned keling kias will be asking for holidays to celebrate their piggy head shaking culture and snake habits.

as long as got more holidays...........I care not what religions lah..........

What about the Parsi faith? Surely they deserve a public holiday too.

The Jews also should be given a public holiday or two since the other two branches of the Abrahamic faith, ie Christians and Muslims, are given 2 days each in a year.

Dun worry soon sinkies will get extra 2 permanent public holidays when lky reports to Yama.
Machiam North Korea we will have lky birthday and lky death day.

Jehovah Witnesses shouldn't be left out either.

Although the Chinese Lunar New Year is celebrated as part of Chinese culture, it had its roots in taoist-based folklore about a young man slaughtering a dragon before he became the Jade Emperor.

So in a way, that is one big holiday already.