The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapore.

Re: The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapo

This is a myth. You should really talk to these so call people enjoying the good life. I know a dentist, he is doing very well in singapore. He owns a few dental offices (in a partnership with other dentists), and even opened a branch in JB. He is really loaded, rich as hell, and family is related to one of Temasek Holding's director. This guy is not only wealthy and politically connected, he is easily the top 5% of elites in SIngapore. Well, guess what, he has moved to Canada now. Just got his landed immigrant visa, and opened a dental clinic there. He still comes back to singapore very often because he still owns the clinics here. He will not talk bad about the PAP in front of you, but he will tell you there are so many constraints in SIngapore. Imagine some one like this who is really enjoying the good life, and he is gone. I know many other elites or children of elites that are not in SIngapore anymore. Even you know this. If Wooden's daughter decided to return to live in SIngapore, she will no doubt enjoy the good life.

The very large majority of people who voted for the PAP can be categorized in the following:

a) Older people who remembered the good days, and are too kiasu to risk their miserable existence on a new party.
b) people who have been so brainwashed by the PAP, maybe all the way back to the PAP kindergarten days that they are incapable of any other choice.
c) Civil servants (like teachers and what not) who are so kiasu to lose their rice bowl if another govt, takes charge.
d) Just plain stupid people without the ability t0 reason.

The above people are largely not living the good life. They are overworked, stressed, and pack like sardines into their HDB rented flats.

There are many forums here, not only Sammyboy for you to visit and read some of the pro-PAP comments. Don't just go to those forums that agree with your views as forums like TRE, therealsingapore, fuckwarezone are not the only ones out there. There is a modicum of truth when Pinky said and I quote "generally, unhappy people go on the internet while satisfied people don’t have time to go on the internet."

There are businessmen, hawkers, taxi-drivers and many more voters who are comfortable with the current government. See the thousands of BMs, Mercs, Lambos and Porsche cars on the roads and go to the airport and see the thousands more Singaporean holiday makers. Don't forget too, the thousands of voters employed in the civil sector. You are living in the proverbial well if you don't know what is going on. Don't allow your biased perception fool you but open your eyes and mind.

What those people you meet tell you and who they eventually vote for is anyone's guess. It is a very big mistake to have your myopic views on Singaporeans that:

"The very large majority of people who voted for the PAP can be categorized in the following:

a) Older people who remembered the good days, and are too kiasu to risk their miserable existence on a new party.
b) people who have been so brainwashed by the PAP, maybe all the way back to the PAP kindergarten days that they are incapable of any other choice.
c) Civil servants (like teachers and what not) who are so kiasu to lose their rice bowl if another govt, takes charge.

The above people are largely not living the good life. They are overworked, stressed, and pack like sardines into their HDB rented flats."

My hope is for better group of leaders who wish nothing but the best for the country and it's citizens. The present crop of leaders we have is nothing but a bunch of yes-men who are not real leaders but are actually highly paid top civil servants.

Re: The Little India Riots: A missed opportunity by the PAP and the people of Singapo

I voted the opp in the last elections and probably will vote them in again for I know they will not win enough seats to topple the PAP, not this coming elections.

it's heartening to know that the oppositions would get 1 vote from you. thank you! :):):)

My hope is for better group of leaders who wish nothing but the best for the country and it's citizens. The present crop of leaders we have is nothing but a bunch of yes-men who are not real leaders but are actually highly paid top civil servants.

i'll vote for you! :):):)

There are many forums here, not only Sammyboy for you to visit and read some of the pro-PAP comments. Don't just go to those forums that agree with your views as forums like TRE, therealsingapore, fuckwarezone are not the only ones out there. There is a modicum of truth when Pinky said and I quote "generally, unhappy people go on the internet while satisfied people don’t have time to go on the internet."

This is the only forum that I go to, and my opinion is from talking to other people that I know. You on the other hand can quote all you like from a lying pieces of shit politician like Gay Loong and take the shits from his mouth as pearls of wisdom. For the record, look around. Many ministers, MPs, and even Gay Loong are on the internet with their Facebook accounts, twitter and what not. U want, u can communicate with them on their internet sites. So, what does that mean? He is not happy because he is on the internet? I guess Bill Gates is not happy too, because for sure he is on the internet. You can reason this out in your own mind and figure out that this is a bullshit statement from him?

There are businessmen, hawkers, taxi-drivers and many more voters who are comfortable with the current government. See the thousands of BMs, Mercs, Lambos and Porsche cars on the roads and go to the airport and see the thousands more Singaporean holiday makers. Don't forget too, the thousands of voters employed in the civil sector. You are living in the proverbial well if you don't know what is going on. Don't allow your biased perception fool you but open your eyes and mind.

Thousands of luxuy cars does not equate to many people living the good life. That is ridiculous. How many of these luxury cars are actually owned by singaporeans and not rich chinese and indonesians? Even if there are 100,000 luxury cars owned by actual native born singaporeans, it just means that they are living the good life while the other 2 million riding the MRT everyday which they could be in a luxury car instead and living this good life that you claim they have. People going for holidays need to get out because they will go nuts if they don't get out now and than. And the majority of these holiday makers are living in HDB flat, on a budget, saving up for that one big holiday of the year that they go on. They are hardly living the good life either. When you can tell me swiss standards of living has arrived in singapore, than maybe u can make the case that so many people are living the good life. Until than, read my post again on those categories assholes that continue to vote the PAP

What those people you meet tell you and who they eventually vote for is anyone's guess. It is a very big mistake to have your myopic views on Singaporeans that:

"The very large majority of people who voted for the PAP can be categorized in the following:

The above people are largely not living the good life. They are overworked, stressed, and pack like sardines into their HDB rented flats."

Why do you persist in this hope? Are you stupid or what? We already know the current crop of politiciins are shit useless. Do u seriously think that the PAP will suddenly reform themselves and bring a better leadership team in? Do, u also hope tp strike lottery, because the odds are about the same. U want to see a better group of leaders, fine, vote in a new govt. Winners do something about it, losers HOPE that it will be done.

I can only speak for myself, so will not claim that "most of us already know this........................."

Just want to ask why your thread title read "A missed opportunity by the PAP......................."
If you also think that they are beyond hope, why did you think there was a missed opportunity for them?

Yeah right, anyone who disagrees with your views are stupid. Let me offer you a quote....

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.
Russell, Bertrand Arthur William"

Before you jump in, I admit I don't consider myself as wise, but I do admit I am very uncertain of how capable are the people we have in the opposition. Capable enough to take us to another level or will they fall flat and fail?

As long as LKY is alive I doubt there will be any major shift in the style of governance. I doubt he will last much longer and even if he does, he will be incapacitated in one form or another. So let's pray for his demise as there is no love lost between the pro-opposition and him. If he does live longer than 2016, there is a chance that the opposition can win the majority but that is very much in doubt. I will still vote them in but I bet there are many like me who are as uncertain of what they can put on the table.

So I guess I am a loser, hoping for the best. Let us see what the opposition will do within these 2 years for they have not been doing much the last 3 years except at times make fools of themselves (Dr Vincent Wijeysingha comes to mind).

Note: Your tone will not endear you nor win the many fence-sitters. If you want to be a winner, debate and put forward credible points without being offensive. The opposition would rather you not be on their side.

i sincerely believe that the SAF paper generals haven't had any enough battle experience too :D:D:D

Kee Chiu should have taken charge.

Before you jump in, I admit I don't consider myself as wise, but I do admit I am very uncertain of how capable are the people we have in the opposition. Capable enough to take us to another level or will they fall flat and fail?

Why do sinkees still hold on to the PAP bs that only the PAP has capable people? We have seen that the so called 'capable' people in government are a bunch of clowns ...one steals toothpicks, one worries about cleaning of high ceilings while ignoring bigger issues like spread of dengue fever etc.

I never said they are capable did I? So there are aberrations, which country does not have?

I can only speak for myself, so will not claim that "most of us already know this........................."

Just want to ask why your thread title read "A missed opportunity by the PAP......................."
If you also think that they are beyond hope, why did you think there was a missed opportunity for them?

Its a missed opportunity, yet one in a long string of them. That is why they are beyond hope.

Yeah right, anyone who disagrees with your views are stupid. Let me offer you a quote....

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.
Russell, Bertrand Arthur William"

As long as LKY is alive I doubt there will be any major shift in the style of governance. I doubt he will last much longer and even if he does, he will be incapacitated in one form or another. So let's pray for his demise as there is no love lost between the pro-opposition and him. If he does live longer than 2016, there is a chance that the opposition can win the majority but that is very much in doubt. I will still vote them in but I bet there are many like me who are as uncertain of what they can put on the table.

So I guess I am a loser, hoping for the best. Let us see what the opposition will do within these 2 years for they have not been doing much the last 3 years except at times make fools of themselves (Dr Vincent Wijeysingha comes to mind).

Note: Your tone will not endear you nor win the many fence-sitters. If you want to be a winner, debate and put forward credible points without being offensive. The opposition would rather you not be on their side.

No everyone who disagrees with me is stupid, but in your case, you are. How so? Look at the quote you attached to your reply. You use it to illustrate something against me.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves"

Yet, this quote fully describes the PAP. They are always certain of themselves, they never apologize when they are wrong, they can never been seen to be in error. But i guess you are too stupid to see that, and you think it actually applies to me. What a clown.

Only an idiot will persists in thinking the oppo is not capable. How do you know this? Do you know any of them personally? Are they idiots? Are they of low mental IQ? You say the oppo is not capable, yet, the PAP happily fields a candidate like Tin Pei Ling, who has half the IQ of a Nicole Seah. If it wasn't for her arranged marriage to the faggot perm sec for gay Loong, the best she would be able to do is a secretary in an office, married to an ah beng, and buying imitation Kate Spade bags and not the real stuff. By the way, I know of no oppo who have allowed the lost billions of $ in GIC and Temasek holdings, nor have I met any oppo who have allowed a known terrorist to escape from detention, nor have I met any oppo that took discounts on luxury condos from HPL. Have you? Yet all these things happened on the "capable" PAP's watch.

Stupids assholes like you don't know how govt. works. There is a administrative bureacracy set up to run the country. Civil servants continue to do their jobs regardless of which party is in power. Economists, scientists and engineers, hired by the govt. continue to work when a new party is in place. The airport will continue to run, PSA will operate, all GLCs, stat boards, etc. will continue function. The new party will move the country in the strategic direction it will see fit. And they will hire the appropriate advisors to help them, just like Lee Con You hired ALbert Winsemius. Why don't u go and do some reading and figure it out.

i sincerely believe that the SAF paper generals haven't had any enough battle experience too :D:D:D

Paper or toy rifle perhaps.

computer simulation and stimulation games..................................