• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Money printing

lifeafter41

While I understand in the US, the printing of money is by the Federal Reserve. In Japan, it's the Bank of Japan. In Singapore, it's it the MAS or Board of Currency that is doing it?. Understand it's a race to the bottom, with almost every countries printing into oblivion. Is Singapore doing that too.?.
Saw on the internet this video www.hiddensecretsofmoney.com. Very interesting on the definition of money and currency.

While I understand in the US, the printing of money is by the Federal Reserve. In Japan, it's the Bank of Japan. In Singapore, it's it the MAS or Board of Currency that is doing it?. Understand it's a race to the bottom, with almost every countries printing into oblivion. Is Singapore doing that too.?.
Saw on the internet this video www.hiddensecretsofmoney.com. Very interesting on the definition of money and currency.

In this corrupted world, I am sure behind the scene people will print some extra dollar for themselves.:cool:

Since most money now exists in the form of electronic records rather than in the form of paper, open market operations are conducted simply by electronically increasing or decreasing (crediting or debiting) the amount of base money that a bank has in its reserve account at the central bank. Thus, the process does not literally require new currency. However, this will increase the central bank's requirement to print currency when the member bank demands banknotes, in exchange for a decrease in its electronic balance.

When there is an increased demand for base money, the central bank must act if it wishes to maintain the short-term interest rate. It does this by increasing the supply of base money. The central bank goes to the open market to buy a financial asset, such as government bonds, foreign currency, gold, or seemingly nonvolatile (until the 2008 financial fallout) MBS's (Mortgage Backed Securities). To pay for these assets, bank reserves in the form of new base money (for example newly printed cash) are transferred to the seller's bank and the seller's account is credited. Thus, the total amount of base money in the economy is increased. Conversely, if the central bank sells these assets in the open market, the amount of base money held by the buyer's bank is decreased, effectively destroying base money.

The process works because the central bank has the authority to bring money in and out of existence. They are the only point in the whole system with the unlimited ability to produce money. Another organization may be able to influence the open market for a period time, but the central bank will always be able to overpower their influence with an infinite supply of money.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_market_operation

Since most money now exists in the form of electronic records rather than in the form of paper, open market operations are conducted simply by electronically increasing or decreasing (crediting or debiting) the amount of base money that a bank has in its reserve account at the central bank. Thus, the process does not literally require new currency. However, this will increase the central bank's requirement to print currency when the member bank demands banknotes, in exchange for a decrease in its electronic balance.

When there is an increased demand for base money, the central bank must act if it wishes to maintain the short-term interest rate. It does this by increasing the supply of base money. The central bank goes to the open market to buy a financial asset, such as government bonds, foreign currency, gold, or seemingly nonvolatile (until the 2008 financial fallout) MBS's (Mortgage Backed Securities). To pay for these assets, bank reserves in the form of new base money (for example newly printed cash) are transferred to the seller's bank and the seller's account is credited. Thus, the total amount of base money in the economy is increased. Conversely, if the central bank sells these assets in the open market, the amount of base money held by the buyer's bank is decreased, effectively destroying base money.

The process works because the central bank has the authority to bring money in and out of existence. They are the only point in the whole system with the unlimited ability to produce money. Another organization may be able to influence the open market for a period time, but the central bank will always be able to overpower their influence with an infinite supply of money.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_market_operation

Does this apply to the Singapore government too, aka, MAS/Board of Currency too, being the Central Bank.
By just typing in 3 zeroes on the keyboard, the printing will go from Billion to Trillion.
Wouldn't this increase the money supply and give rise to inflation?.

i noticed all developed nations are trying to devalue their currencies except China, China should devalue cos' it's export dependent but it's doing the opposite. sinkie land should up our currency cos' we are financial hub not manufacturing plant for the world. moreover, chionging in china will be cheaper for us...:p

typical scenario in a china KTV: "小红,好浓的奶香味呀。。。"

guess what is it talking about?

haha...lol...:D:p

The MAS controls the printing of money in Singapore. The previous Board of Commissioners of Currency of Singapore (BCCS) has already merged with the MAS.

By the way, the Fed Reserve is currently printing $1 trillion/year, or $85 bil/month. At the rate they're getting hooked on easy money, tapering is a pipe dream.

i noticed all developed nations are trying to devalue their currencies except China, China should devalue cos' it's export dependent but it's doing the opposite. sinkie land should up our currency cos' we are financial hub not manufacturing plant for the world. moreover, chionging in china will be cheaper for us...:p

Western governments are basically bankrupt, running twin budget and trade deficits. Hence the need to print money to keep the economy going and settle debts.

The Chinese government is cash-rich, run budget and trade surpluses, and holds $1.2 trillion in US treasuries. Their aim is the make the yuan the reserve currency, backed by GOLD. Hence the Chinese, instead of devaluing the renminbi, have been buying gold, more than 2,000 tons in the past 2 years. What does that tell you?

The MAS controls the printing of money in Singapore. The previous Board of Commissioners of Currency of Singapore (BCCS) has already merged with the MAS.

By the way, the Fed Reserve is currently printing $1 trillion/year, or $85 bil/month. At the rate they're getting hooked on easy money, tapering is a pipe dream.

Thanks for the update.

The question is, is the MAS printing too?.

it tells me to invest in china or china dependent countries. someday, ang mo char bors will be prostitutes to the china men.

Western governments are basically bankrupt, running twin budget and trade deficits. Hence the need to print money to keep the economy going and settle debts.

The Chinese government is cash-rich, run budget and trade surpluses, and holds $1.2 trillion in US treasuries. Their aim is the make the yuan the reserve currency, backed by GOLD. Hence the Chinese, instead of devaluing the renminbi, have been buying gold, more than 2,000 tons in the past 2 years. What does that tell you?

Thanks for the update.

Of course the MAS is printing money like nobody's business. From 1989 to 2011, money supply increased by $71 bil to $451.7 bil.

Why do you think that a housing bubble is forming, inflation is skyrocketing (don't trust the CPI), and the rich-poor gap is now the widest in the developed world?

Thanks for the update.

Print as in physical printing?? no...wonder who is printing our currency notes these days....in the past, Thomas De La Rue, Harrison & Sons..or Walsall?? ..ours maybe Secura Printer? or that company from Australia I forgot the name...coins, SINgapore Mint!?

While I understand in the US, the printing of money is by the Federal Reserve.

printing and coining of money in the u.s. are done by the treasury department, in particular the bureau of engraving and printing and the u.s. mint. federal reserve banks help to distribute the money, but they don't print and coin them. the treasury department is not the federal reserve.

Print as in physical printing?? no...wonder who is printing our currency notes these days....in the past, Thomas De La Rue, Harrison & Sons..or Walsall?? ..ours maybe Secura Printer? or that company from Australia I forgot the name...coins, SINgapore Mint!?

Note Printing Australia is the contracted printer for printing notes.

All the organs in smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore print money as they like.

COE is worth 100k to stinkgaporeans and a fucking piece of paper to LKY

HDB pigeon hole in sky cost LKY 30k to build and sold to stupid stinkaporeans for 400??? 500??? 600??? 700??? k where you get a hole in the sky and LKY got your money

License here , GST there, print print print money that you stinkaporeans head down down arseholes up high high pay and pay and pay

All for the hundreds of billions LKY squeezed from all of us and painting bullseye rings around Ahloonie and families to be hooted and hooted when LKY die

Thanks for the update.
M1= physical dollars in circulation and savings bank deposits (withdrawable immediately/ ANYTIME), M2 onwards= everything else including treasury bills which are essentially govt IOUs or if U want, dollars in the denomination of like S$10000 and larger that earn prefixed annual interest (coupon rate) and will be paid in CASH at eventual date months to 30 or more years later.

So as U can see, M1,2,3 for the SGD has increased over the years...
MAS-+Singapore+Money+Supply+(DBU).JPG
[pict source: https://secure.mas.gov.sg/msb-xml/Re...=I&tableID=I.1 ]

printing and coining of money in the u.s. are done by the treasury department, in particular the bureau of engraving and printing and the u.s. mint. federal reserve banks help to distribute the money, but they don't print and coin them. the treasury department is not the federal reserve.

When we say the Fed Reserve 'prints' money, we mean it controls the issuance of all new USD currency, i.e. increasing money supply. In Singapore that comes under the authority of the MAS, which functions as our central bank.

The actual printing of physical notes and the minting of coins here are usually contracted out to various companies/departments by the central bank.

Hi Halsey, U know that as govt u DON'T have to physically print the $$$ don't you?
U can sell bills/treasurys- basically IOU certificates with a coupon of say 1-3% and stupid pension funds such as the CPF will queue up at your door with CASH to buy them, u just repay say 3% p.a. over there next 30 yes (for a 30 yr IOU) and spend the $$$ now, and when the time comes to repay, u follow Greece and give a hair cut - e.g. if u owe 100k, a haircut rule means u now only owe 50k, so the poor pensioners overnight get less pensions out of their pension funds... and this is how all govts scam the people I believe.

PS, the interest rates quoted may not be accurate and can change overnight during a financial crisis such as the Lehman brothers collapse event.

When we say the Fed Reserve 'prints' money, we mean it controls the issuance of all new USD currency, i.e. increasing money supply. In Singapore that comes under the authority of the MAS, which functions as our central bank.
The actual printing of physical notes and the minting of coins here are usually contracted out to various companies/departments by the central bank.
Guess a large quantity of paper/ plastic cash is already are printed and the govt has to account for it (chart above) when it is released above and over replacement levels (for torn or unusable currency notes), but when there is an uncontrolled torrent of dollars, the following is what happens:

zimbabwe-inflation-boy.jpg
Caption: Currency to exchange for gold please- takers, anyone?[Image source]

not in the u.s. where everything from engraving to printing is tightly controlled and operated by gov employees in the b.e.p and u.s. mint.

M1= physical dollars in circulation and savings bank deposits (withdrawable immediately/ ANYTIME), M2 onwards= everything else including treasury bills which are essentially govt IOUs or if U want, dollars in the denomination of like S$10000 and larger that earn prefixed annual interest (coupon rate) and will be paid in CASH at eventual date months to 30 or more years later.

So as U can see, M1,2,3 for the SGD has increased over the years...
MAS-+Singapore+Money+Supply+(DBU).JPG
[pict source: https://secure.mas.gov.sg/msb-xml/Re...=I&tableID=I.1 ]

Thanks for the information.
One thought came in is that the supply of money M1, M2 and M3 has increased tremendously, it seems to be reflected in with the increased cost of housing and cost of living in Singapore.

Problem is, the average person pay has not kept up. Not including, the M......'s pay.