Medishield Life Consultation - Surprise! Affordability is an issue!

The fact that there is a woman called Janet Ang from IBM in the committee already speaks volumes about the wayang MOH is doing with its call for public consultation.

What does Janet Ang know about "healthcare for everyone" and what bright solutions can she ever come up with? How she became the Managing Director of IBM, that most people in the know can tell you that she got the position because she's a cunning boot-licker, not because she is talented and bright and definitely not because she is a visionary business leader, unlike people like Elon Musk or Jack Welch. Most of the corporate decisions of IBM are taken from corp HQ back in Austin, Texus and not in Singapore. She's basically a bootlicking administrator in IBM, that's all.

Give me a fucking break. Janet Ang is not alone as a useless bootlicker without creative brains, for it is true for almost the rest of these useless committee members. This is a TOTAL WAYANG.

I'm predicting PAP will pay a heavy price in 2016, for it obviously did not learn any lesson from its various failed policies in healthcare, transport, manpower, tourism, etc.

People who have religiously paid health insurance premium since young are the ones who lugi and end up paying for everyone else. At least in USA got subsidy for people under poverty line and the poor get free insurance, here probably end up everyone will pay for everyone while govt pay nothing since no poverty line.

The crux of the matter is will the govt be paying or subsidizing Medishield Life to keep premiums low.
Mandatory or compulsory coverage will not encourage the individual to keep fit and healthy.
On the contrary, it will lead to misuse.

The crux of the matter is will the govt be paying or subsidizing Medishield Life to keep premiums low.
Mandatory or compulsory coverage will not encourage the individual to keep fit and healthy.

I do not understand this mantra, perpetuating the word MISUSE, what they F#$@#$ is that? On the average which clown in the street want to visit a doctor or check into the hospital to MISUSE their medical insurance or mediisave or medishiled??

It is when one have a sickness or accident or...that requires long term treatment, like Stroke, Cancer, just to name this two as an example, that a person will require to use whatever paid medical benefit to make that person better again..

MISUSE?? they are being over charged & deplete & drain their medical benefits in the name of AFFORDABLE...the patient is being MISUSED, more like it....

wtf! MISUSE!...you must another one of those brainwashed twit!:p

Fuck you ok.....dun talk rubbish here. Keep fit or dun keep fit is not a factor for the need of compulsory coverage.

I do not understand this mantra, perpetuating the word MISUSE, what they F#$@#$ is that? On the average which clown in the street want to visit a doctor or check into the hospital to MISUSE their medical insurance or mediisave or medishiled??

It is when one have a sickness or accident or...that requires long term treatment, like Stroke, Cancer, just to name this two as an example, that a person will require to use whatever paid medical benefit to make that person better again..

MISUSE?? they are being over charged & deplete & drain their medical benefits in the name of AFFORDABLE...the patient is being MISUSED, more like it....

wtf! MISUSE!...you must another one of those brainwashed twit!:p

I am under coverage, you are under coverage, ah pek under coverage, ah mah under coverage, everyone under coverage. Ah pek got stroke, checked. Ah mah got cancer checked, ah kow got diabetes checked. You ok, but suspect, might have diabetes, better go check, or might have cancer, doctor say better go check, knowing you are fully covered. I ok, no money to pay medishield, but understand will be covered, throw caution to the wind, drink, smoke etc. knowing full well I will be taken care of. Problem is misuse is not only from the individual, it could be from the hospital too, ordering test that might not be necessary, after all, somebody is paying for it.

Dun talk rubbish.............every scheme also can be abused or misused. As a policy maker, one cannot consider this as a basis for formulation of policy or dropping the idea altogether. This is what happened with the free MRT rides given by a fucking stupid Transport Minister. Before 7am then got free rides and only to MRT stations in town. So as to avoid misuse or abuse. Might as well just fart and be done with.

As a policy maker, one has to understand bell-shaped curve. There'll always be a very small percentage who will find loopholes and can find loopholes to abuse or misuse any scheme. If one plan or avoid planning for the good of everyone just so that this small percentage cannot have the chance to abuse or misuse the scheme, then I worry for the competency of such rubbish policy maker, who cannot see the trees for the woods and fuckup every policy, as is happening now.

you have not even seen what is coming next. Let me give you a hint. American insurance companies are notorious for finding ways and means to avoid paying out, in part due to insane medical costs. They even hire specialised private investigators to go through YOUR ENTIRE LIFE HISTORY just to screw you! Learn from countries that are ahead on the despicable curve.

The fact that there is a woman called Janet Ang from IBM in the committee already speaks volumes about the wayang MOH is doing with its call for public consultation.
What does Janet Ang know about "healthcare for everyone" and what bright solutions can she ever come up with? How she became the Managing Director of IBM, that most people in the know can tell you that she got the position because she's a cunning boot-licker, not because she is talented and bright and definitely not because she is a visionary business leader, unlike people like Elon Musk or Jack Welch. Most of the corporate decisions of IBM are taken from corp HQ back in Austin, Texus and not in Singapore. She's basically a bootlicking administrator in IBM, that's all.
Give me a fucking break. Janet Ang is not alone as a useless bootlicker without creative brains, for it is true for almost the rest of these useless committee members. This is a TOTAL WAYANG.
I'm predicting PAP will pay a heavy price in 2016, for it obviously did not learn any lesson from its various failed policies in healthcare, transport, manpower, tourism, etc.

Not just that, there are at least 1 private healthcare institution CEO on the committee, shareholder / profit driven, they will quote high healthcare costs and force the singapore government to implement high poll tax under the auspices of Medishield-life- they basically want to suck the money of Singaporeans dry and make the SG govt a puppet of their devious schemes- all this to keep their shareholders happy and thus let CEO earn a comfortable salary. The cost of living for all Singaporeans will then fly through the roof.

Committee members:
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/medishield-life/about-the-committee.html
cttee_tan_see_leng.png
Dr Tan See Leng
Group Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Parkway Pantai Ltd
Dr Tan See Leng is the Group Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Parkway Pantai Group and has over 20 years of experience in the healthcare industry. He is an Appointed Member on the MOH’s Steering Committee for Primary Healthcare and an Executive Committee Member for the National Healthcare Group Cluster’s University Cancer Program. Dr Tan has served as Chairman on the Board of Trustees College of Family Physicians Singapore (CFPS) Holdings Pte Ltd and the Board of Directors of CFPS Holdings Pte Ltd. Dr Tan was awarded the Albert and Mary Lim Award in 2007, the highest accolade awarded for contribution and services rendered to the CFPS and to the discipline of Family Medicine.

- See more at: http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/medishield-life/about-the-committee.html

Mentioned and linked accordingly...
From thread: Medishield life premiums now compulsory/ increase to help SG govt save money?
Medishield-life, PM Lee contradicts Lee Kuan Yew's hard truths political legacy.
Quotes 2 sources below, comparison is very much self explanatory.
National Day Rally 2013: MediShield Life to cover every Singaporean, including elderly and those with pre-existing illness
" Elaborating on the changes, he said that universal coverage means there will be no more opting out, with everyone covered including the elderly and those with pre-existing illnesses.
MediShield Life will also give better protection for very large hospital bills, and patients will pay less out-of-pocket, said Mr Lee.
But with better benefts and coverage, this will mean that premiums will go up, he said. “(It) has to be because it has to break even,” he said, but added that the Government will subsidise premiums for those who cannot afford them."

New MediShield Life to provide lifelong coverage: PM Lee | TODAYonline
My major objective in the early days was to make sure that nobody derails the idea of having individual accounts for CPF and Medisave. Whatever you earn, it’s yours. Because once you have that individual account, any suggestion that you put it into a common pool and everybody takes out from it (as with other welfare systems) is bound to lose you votes.
So if Low Thia Khiang says now, let’s set up a common pool, I think he’ll lose votes in the next election. Are you prepared to put your money into a common pool, having slogged and built up your CPF nest egg? It’s yours and if you don’t use it, you can leave it to your children or your relatives or whoever you like. Why should you put it into a common pool and everybody draws out at your expense, which is what’s happening in some Western countries? The system has collapsed.
From Lee Kuan Yew : Hard truths to keep Singapore going. (Eds Han FK, Z Ibrahim, Chua MH, L Lim, I Low, R Lin, R Chan) Straits Times Press 2011

Dun talk rubbish.............every scheme also can be abused or misused. As a policy maker, one cannot consider this as a basis for formulation of policy or dropping the idea altogether. This is what happened with the free MRT rides given by a fucking stupid Transport Minister. Before 7am then got free rides and only to MRT stations in town. So as to avoid misuse or abuse. Might as well just fart and be done with.

As a policy maker, one has to understand bell-shaped curve. There'll always be a very small percentage who will find loopholes and can find loopholes to abuse or misuse any scheme. If one plan or avoid planning for the good of everyone just so that this small percentage cannot have the chance to abuse or misuse the scheme, then I worry for the competency of such rubbish policy maker, who cannot see the trees for the woods and fuckup every policy, as is happening now.

Like you said, every policy has a bell curve. Subject to misuse or abuse. Don't even begin it with in the first. It's not their money aka medisave. Unless, today the government is planning to subsidise the premiums. Then we talk about bell curve, policies and such.

one sentence summarises all this crap:

gahmen wants our cpfs....they want it desperately and hence the crap policy they are going to spew out soon.

why do the people are still so silent about such tyranny forced down our throats?:confused::confused:

Like you said, every policy has a bell curve. Subject to misuse or abuse. Don't even begin it with in the first. It's not their money aka medisave. Unless, today the government is planning to subsidise the premiums. Then we talk about bell curve, policies and such.

They will subsidize the premiums, only for needy people. Isn't this been the practice all these years? You really need to be a beggar status to get any subsidy for any kind of scheme they've. If not, tan ku ku.

Ah so! I get your point..sorry shot the wrong birdie!...try not to blend in... ha ha ha... I think you would be familiar on this, if you have someone or yourself contracting some condition or ....that warrant a long stay at the hospital, you will become an "supermarket" for the medical people...you will be visited by host of "well wishers" who are so interested in your well being, from nutritionist to podiatrist....& all these & whatever attending to you is BILLED...

So, you will need an eye specialist, an ENT , a....you become a "supermarket" & tests, tests & tests will be suggested...& offered..so how to get cheaper!? so when you check in...there is no check out....

who is abusing the medical insurance...the same people, who is making it affordable...

Ah so! I get your point..sorry shot the wrong birdie!...try not to blend in... ha ha ha... I think you would be familiar on this, if you have someone or yourself contracting some condition or ....that warrant a long stay at the hospital, you will become an "supermarket" for the medical people...you will be visited by host of "well wishers" who are so interested in your well being, from nutritionist to podiatrist....& all these & whatever attending to you is BILLED...

So, you will need an eye specialist, an ENT , a....you become a "supermarket" & tests, tests & tests will be suggested...& offered..so how to get cheaper!? so when you check in...there is no check out....

who is abusing the medical insurance...the same people, who is making it affordable...

A lot of money to be make in this biz. Unfortunately, all lobangs already take by pappies and cronies.

So what the fuck are running the hospitals, who are the ones really behind the scene running all these schemes or should it be scams?

You are being scammed left to right and yet you have no freaking idea but have opinions of what you think it is.

U mean the patient becomes an ATM machine, everybody come to see him to withdraw $$$...

Prefunding to afford the services of the messiah aka LHL?

one sentence summarises all this crap:
gahmen wants our cpfs....they want it desperately and hence the crap policy they are going to spew out soon.
why do the people are still so silent about such tyranny forced down our throats?:confused::confused:
And then all this talk about prefunding :
Philip Sim said:
The Straits Times, Published on Nov 27, 2013
Role of pre-funding
For MediShield, the pre-funded amount contributed by each cohort is set aside for the future use of their own respective cohorts, and not used to cross-subsidise the current elderly.
Role of pre-funding

Actually, medisave is already one form of prefunding- people must compulsory save $$$ when young for anticipated healthcare bills when old, albeit in ringfenced personal CPF based savings accounts.

Now PM Lee wants to introduce a second level of prefunding via poll tax like system- to for citizens to pay $$$ into a compulsory healthcare insurance fund (even claiming that accounts will be segregated by age cohort)...

Think the third step will be for Singapore to prefunding the Prime Minister's salary, so that even during economic downturns, Singaporeans can still afford the professional services of PM Lee... sounds like PM Lee thinks he is Singapore's messiah or something...
His pay always going up...
ST23Mar2007-+Why+pay+must+go+up.JPG

Communism: all are equal, but some are more equal than others...

U mean the patient becomes an ATM machine, everybody come to see him to withdraw $$$...

Yup!....they are so concern about your well being, every one, that comes to your bed...makes "withdrawal"...you can, softly hear, "ka-chng" from your medisave account or any medical accounts..for nothing is free..it is charged. They would recommend all tests that is connected what you have...& with a body, that is many parts & many, "withdrawals"... ha ha ha ha

"kar chng"...you become a medical "supermarket"...all you need to do is to is to check in....you are hooked for life...once you check in, it is something like this, so in the meantime...keep healthy..

"Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
"Relax, " said the night nurse,
"We are programmed to receive.
You can check-out any time you like,
But you can never leave! "

YOU CAN NEVER LEAVE.."kar chng", "Kar chng"....till you have nothing to give...

Lower premiums with collective effort from all parties

Mentioned and linked accordingly...
From thread: Medishield life premiums now compulsory/ increase to help SG govt save money?
The Straits Times, Published on Dec 02, 2013
MEDISHIELD LIFE
I DO not see how ordinary citizens can play a significant role in pre-funding the cost of a national health-care scheme like MediShield Life except to be more conscious about leading a healthy lifestyle to prevent sickness ("Role of pre-funding" by the Ministry of Health; last Wednesday).
The Government's generous budget for health-care expenditure should provide the main funding.
Citizens also need to be encouraged to be responsible and maintain good health to keep costs down, and the insurance industry encouraged to make less profit.
The question of the affordability of premiums does not end when the Government provides help for the current cohort of elderly Singaporeans, because society will always have elderly who are poor.
If pre-funding in MediShield Life is meant for each cohort, would it not be better and fairer for policyholders to keep the funds in their respective Medisave accounts and use them when needed in old age?
MediShield Life should include a no-claims bonus for healthy elderly policyholders to pay less annual premiums. This will encourage people to adopt a healthy lifestyle to save costs while not burdening others.
The key to an affordable premium is the collective effort of all parties involved to guard against waste to save cost.
The concept of setting aside pre-funded amounts contributed by each cohort till old age is not practical because a person's fortune, lifestyle, health and lifespan may change.
How can the prevailing "affordable" premium be administered when, in a cohort, each policyholder has different health risks at varying ages?
According to a Bloomberg study, Singapore's health-care system is one of the most efficient in the developed world, with a very small percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) per capita spent on it. We can improve it with higher GDP allocation.
If we can resolve the cost issue of the new MediShield Life - with insurers keeping premiums level, the health-care industry controlling waste to keep costs down, and people paying less by leading a healthy lifestyle - the system would operate well with affordable premiums.
Paul Chan Poh Hoi
Copyright © 2013 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved.