• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nicole Seah threatens to sue SPH..... is it an empty threat?

Force 136

1085849_100003491212513_378890753_q.jpg
Nicole Rebecca Seah writes in her FaceBook:

My contacts in the media industry are currently looking into asking for an official apology from the Singapore Press Holdings for the irreversible damage that they have caused to me and my loved ones because of their baseless and irresponsible reporting.

Failing which, I am looking into the very real possibility of suing them for libel and slander.

Just because I'm from the opposition doesn't accord the media more liberties to mess around with my reputation. After all, they wouldn't dare do the same with anyone from the PAP. Please compare Steve Chia's and Yaw Shin Leong's case against what happened with Michael Palmer. In Palmer's case, he got away quietly and the girl involved was implicated severely.

My situation is completely innocuous and there is even no semblance of a scandal or mistake that I have to own up to. I have absolutely nothing to hide.

In the meantime, I ask of a favour from the general public, if you are free, to kindly write to the Singapore Press Holdings and demand that they refrain from practising double standards and baseless accusations in their reporting.

This is not just about me or my reputation. This is about journalistic integrity in Singapore at large and will have bearing on the way other news is being reported, and is akin to deceit to the public in their skewed reporting.

- Nicole Seah

Comments on her FB

Dom Su : Qualified privilege of newspapers

12.—(1) Subject to this section, the publication in a newspaper of any such report or other matter as is mentioned in the Schedule shall be privileged unless the publication is proved to be made with malice.
(2) In an action for libel in respect of the publication of any such report or matter as is mentioned in Part II of the Schedule, this section shall not be a defence if it is proved that the defendant has been requested by the plaintiff to publish in the newspaper in which the original publication was made a reasonable letter or statement by way of explanation or contradiction, and has refused or neglected to do so, or has done so in a manner not adequate or not reasonable having regard to all the circumstances.
19 minutes ago · Like · 1

Mike Seet : Put those pond scum in their place Nicole..
17 minutes ago via mobile · Like

Kenneth Shanghaiist Tan : Because you have absolutely nothing to hide, you should sue. you MUST sue
16 minutes ago · Like · 4

Nicole
i salute your move
but pls make sure you prepare lot of $$$$ for the litigation process, or better still, find someone else to sue on your behalf

and get them to pay the lawyers as well

best of luck

Want us to help to WRITE to SPH ? Wait long long....No time to entertain you ...REST WELL Nicole...Hope NOT another panic or disorder attack again...

Maybe elections / politics is NOT suitable for you...

Want us to help to WRITE to SPH ? Wait long long....No time to entertain you ...REST WELL Nicole...Hope NOT another panic or disorder attack again...

Maybe elections / politics is NOT suitable for you...

This gal will make a good politician and I believe her heart is in the right place.
When someone is down, everybody want to kick her.
You deserve another 50 years of pap.

It is not an empty threat but a good tactical maneuver
Regardless of whether a writ is eventually filed or not
Anything that hurts standing in eyes of voting masses
Of one of the key instruments used to fix dissenters
Can only be bad for Lightning and good for Opposition
Question is how far to go in the game of brinkmanship

[video=youtube;5IPpQAITBY8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IPpQAITBY8[/video]

With pet kangaroos in attendance she can't win even if she sued.
But put to action just to raise awareness is good enough. Dun take it lying down...fuck the PAP!

She killed her own political career when declaring that she going siao.

This gal will make a good politician and I believe her heart is in the right place.
When someone is down, everybody want to kick her.
You deserve another 50 years of pap.

No need to salute. You help her lah.

WE will salute you. You can sue on her behalf also as you suggested.

Nicole
i salute your move
but pls make sure you prepare lot of $$$$ for the litigation process, or better still, find someone else to sue on your behalf

and get them to pay the lawyers as well

best of luck

No need to salute. You help her lah.

WE will salute you. You can sue on her behalf also as you suggested.

i for one do not practice suing on other people's behalf. i cant speak for the minds of others. and i most certainly am not stupid enough to pay for other peoples legal bills using myself as a proxy

With pet kangaroos in attendance she can't win even if she sued.
But put to action just to raise awareness is good enough. Dun take it lying down...fuck the PAP!

good to hear all these words of encouragement but it takes $$$$ to raise "awareness"

young sister, don't take BJB path. Let it go. Just explain will do, it maybe an entrapment from SPH.

If the male want to seek apology from SPH it is different, whereas you stay clear.

Everyone knows SPH is shit newspaper company and why stood low to their standard.

Enjoy playing poli-ticking ticklish your ass a bit, till 2016 and wait to get into parliament first.

My contacts in the media industry are currently looking into asking for an official apology from the Singapore Press Holdings for the irreversible damage that they have caused to me and my loved ones because of their baseless and irresponsible reporting.

Failing which, I am looking into the very real possibility of suing them for libel and slander.

Just because I'm from the opposition doesn't accord the media more liberties to mess around with my reputation. After all, they wouldn't dare do the same with anyone from the PAP. Please compare Steve Chia's and Yaw Shin Leong's case against what happened with Michael Palmer. In Palmer's case, he got away quietly and the girl involved was implicated severely.

My situation is completely innocuous and there is even no semblance of a scandal or mistake that I have to own up to. I have absolutely nothing to hide.

In the meantime, I ask of a favour from the general public, if you are free, to kindly write to the Singapore Press Holdings and demand that they refrain from practising double standards and baseless accusations in their reporting.

This is not just about me or my reputation. This is about journalistic integrity in Singapore at large and will have bearing on the way other news is being reported, and is akin to deceit to the public in their skewed reporting.

- Nicole Seah

i agree with tanwahtiu, sph is the right arm of the ruling party, do you think the siao char bors in there will fear her?

young sister, don't take BJB path. Let it go. Just explain will do, it maybe an entrapment from SPH.

If the male want to seek apology from SPH it is different, whereas you stay clear.

Everyone knows SPH is shit newspaper company and why stood low to their standard.

Enjoy playing poli-ticking ticklish your ass a bit, till 2016 and wait to get into parliament first.

u all read properly, wanbao says something like "the guy was known to be a married man, current status unknown"

Nicole Seah you sue on what basis?

u all read properly, wanbao says something like "the guy was known to be a married man, current status unknown"

Why are you so defensive? You are the writer? :rolleyes:

She killed her own political career when declaring that she going siao.

Pinky is got cancer and still remains PM.
His 90 year old father can be world oldest MP.
In any other country both would not be fit for office.
Cannot happen in any other country in the world...

- Nicole Seah

She has a good cause but needs to be careful with such statements:

"Please compare Steve Chia's and Yaw Shin Leong's case against what happened with Michael Palmer. In Palmer's case, he got away quietly and the girl involved was implicated severely."

Otherwise, SPH may counter-sue and she will become disadvantaged.

lee hsien loong was known to experience recurrence, "current status unknown".
hahahhahahahahaaa...............

You're saying Wanbao cannot match their headlines to their text? What about Asiaone's secret tampering of their own headlines?

Nicole partly damaged herself by revealing her depression-like and medication state. The MSM always ends up "helping" the people they want to bring down. Nicole's chance of getting elected just increased.