• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man took train from Woodlands all the way to Europe!

Extremist

20130917-180716.jpg

Route and Ticket Cost
UPDATE – This page seems to be getting quite a lot of traffic at the moment. I have added hyperlinks to each stage of the journey to the post I wrote about it. There is a lot more information and pictures on these posts.
If you have questions or would like me to write post about another topic (safety, what to pack, visa’s, highlights ect) just drop a comment. Please share the blog!
Happy Travels, Tom Woods – Woodlands to Woking

There is no direct train from Singapore to Europe yet, so booking the trip takes a little bit of organisation. I have a summarised the route I took, time, cost and where I bought the ticket below.

+ Woodlands, Singapore to Butterworth, Malaysia – 2nd Class – BORDER CROSSING – 13.5 hours – SG$60 – On the day from the ticket office.

+ Butterworth, Malaysia to Bangkok, Thailand – Soft sleeper – BORDER CROSSING- 23 hours – MYR 104 – The day before at the ticket office.

+ Bangkok, Thailand to Aranyapratyet, Thailand – Open ticket – 6 hours – Thai baht 48 – On the day at the ticket office.

BORDER CROSSING

+ Poipet, Cambodia to Siem Reap, Cambodia – Private taxi – 2 hours – US$48 – On the day at the ticket office.

+ Siem Reap, Cambodia to Phnom Penh, Cambodia – Bus – 6 hours – US$10 – The day before through my hotel.

+ Phnom Penh, Cambodia to HCMC, Vietnam – Bus – 6 hours – BORDER CROSSING – $12 – The day before through my hotel.

+ HCMC, Vietnam to Hanio, Vietnam – 4 berth soft sleeper – 33 hours – US$115 – A week before through http://www.vietnamimpressive.com

+ Hanoi, Vietnam to Beijing, China – 4 berth soft sleeper – 38 hours – BORDER – CROSSING – US$403 – A month before travel through http://www.vietnamimpressive.com

+ Beijing, China via Mongolia and Lake Baikal to Moscow, Russia – 1st Class 4 berth – 130 hours – BORDER CROSSINGX2 – US$925 – A month before travel through http://www.cits.net

+ Moscow, Russia to St Petersburg, Russia – 3rd Class sleeper – 8 hours – Roubles 1681 – The day before e-ticket through my hostel.

+ St Petersburg, Russia to Helsinki, Finland – 2nd class – 3.5 hours – BORDER CROSSING – €88 – The day before online, e-ticket bought at http://www.vr.fi

+ Helsinki, Finland to Turku Harbour, Finland – 2nd class – 2 hours – €33 – on the day at the ticket office

+ Turku Harbour, Finland to Stockholm, Sweden – 2 berth interior cabin – 10 hours – BORDER CROSSING – €49 – A month before travel e-ticket through http://www.vikingline.com

+ Stockholm, Sweden to Cologne, Germany – 4 berth Soft sleeper – 17 hours – BORDER CROSSINGX2 – €112 – A month before online but posted ticket from http://www.bahn.de

+ Cologne, Germany to London, England – 2nd class – 5 hours – BORDER CROSSINGX2 – £79 – A month before travel online e-ticket from http://www.eurostar.com

+ London, England to Woking, England – 2nd class – 30 min’s £8 – On the day at the ticket office.

In total the cost of my transport from Woodlands to Woking was:

£1360
€1617
US$2162
SG$2726

I travelled mainly second class, but I always had a flat bed to sleep on for the twelve nights on the train. On the one night on the boat I had private en-suite cabin. I think that the total cost offers good value for money. It could have been considerable cheaper if I had booked trips earlier or had a little more flexibility.

If you are planning a long distance train ride I recommend the wonderful resource that is www.seat61.com. A great website I relied upon in the planning and duration of my journey.

I would also recommend the company I used to organise my visa’s, www.RealRussia.com who were very efficient and professional.

http://woodlandstowoking.wordpress.com/route-and-ticket-cost/

if u got time, u got moni, u like trains ... y not? ...

Some parts of the journey took 33 and 38 hours did this nigger actually spend all his time inside the train.

Got one part is a 130hrs marathon train ride.
Ccb I think cannot tahan.
Once took a 40 hrs train journey before....not a good experience and something I want to recall.

not exactly "all the way" by train as there were 2 water crossings. to be 100% by train, he could have taken the train route from moscow to eastern europe then to germany, france and to england via the chunnel. :o

Even if orient express first class....ask you coop up inside luxurious train cabin for so long you also tak boleh tahan.
iz not stated whether he travelled continously onot ... if continuously, iz about 2 weeks ...

mayb he spent his time trying 2 hook up chicks while in ze trains ...

Got one part is a 130hrs marathon train ride.
Ccb I think cannot tahan.
Once took a 40 hrs train journey before....not a good experience and something I want to recall.

wow where were you travelling?

In this day of airplanes ppl do this cos they have too much time. Are there any scanners like the scanners in airports when going by rail to another country.

wow where were you travelling?

In this day of airplanes ppl do this cos they have too much time. Are there any scanners like the scanners in airports when going by rail to another country.

Within PRC....kunming all the way to Beijing.
Mind you right before that already endured a 36hrs road trip from Thailand to Kunming via Laos.
Done during the days when I was still young and adventurous.

I thought time is important?Why is he wasting time?:D

He is participating in something that satisfies his interests, how is that wasting time?

Life is more than accumulating wealth, being a wage slave and slogging 9-to-5 daily routines.

This is crazy! I can't even tahan a 22 hours flight to the States let alone this crap!

Within PRC....kunming all the way to Beijing.
Mind you right before that already endured a 36hrs road trip from Thailand to Kunming via Laos.
Done during the days when I was still young and adventurous.

ah road trip. China is a huge country. 3rd largest in the world. (USA doesn't count cos they added in the great lakes so technically it should be 4th and alaska is seperate from mainland usa.)

After the train ride to beijing what did you do there? Enjoy the scenery? Don't tell me you took a train back. I remember in the 80s i think sg didn't allow its citizens to go to china.

This is crazy! I can't even tahan a 22 hours flight to the States let alone this crap!

In these train cabins one can at least lie down. You cannot really lie down on the economy flights. I think all flights from SG to US include a stop over. I stopped over at narita airport once. You can shower and everything i think you get to wait a few hours.