• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low turn-out at anti-immigration protest in Singapore

Awake

Low turn-out at anti-immigration protest in Singapore

Group fails to inspire after record rally in May

Saturday, 05 October, 2013 [UPDATED: 8:41PM]
Agence France-Presse in Singapore

singapore-population-politics-protest_ros1182_38528453.jpg

Protesters display placards during a rally at the speakers corner in Singapore on Saturday. Photo: AFP

An anti-immigration rally in Singapore drew just 500 people on Saturday, eight months after a similar protest by the same group generated one of the city state’s largest protests since independence.

The peaceful three-hour rally, held at a park, was the third in a series of protests organised by a civic group after the government in January announced foreigners could account for nearly half of the densely packed island’s population by 2030.

Authorities have since clarified that the forecast is not a population target, and have phased in measures to tighten foreign worker inflows.

“The momentum from the protests earlier this year has gone off, and the anger and emotion among Singaporeans is maybe no longer there,” chief organiser Gilbert Goh said.

Goh estimated the crowd at 1,000 but an AFP reporter on the scene said around 500 people attended the event at Speakers’ Corner, a grassy park close to the central business district where protesters are allowed to address the public.

Speakers, including bloggers and activists, openly attacked the long-ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) for favouring foreigners over citizens, and called on protesters to vote against it in the next general election expected in 2016.

singapore-population-politics-protest_ros1179_38528417.jpg

Blogger Alex Tan seen wearing a face mask as he speaks to the crowd during a rally at the speakers corner in Singapore on Saturday. Photo: AFP

Over 3,000 had attended a February 16 rally, just weeks after the release of a government policy paper that said the population could range between 6.5 to 6.9 million by 2030, with foreigners making up 45 percent because Singaporeans are not having enough children to sustain economic growth.

A subsequent rally in May also attracted more than 3,000 people, making them the country’s biggest protests in decades.

Goh said he was unlikely to organise another anti-immigration protest due to the waning support.

“But we are happy that our protests have pushed the government to make a few policy changes,” he said.

Authorities have been phasing in various measures to tighten foreign worker inflows, including a new policy announced in September requiring companies to show proof they first tried to recruit local citizens before hiring foreign professional workers.

Singapore citizens -- who currently make up 61 percent of the city state’s 5.4 million population -- accuse foreigners and permanent residents of competing with them for jobs, housing, schools and space on public transport.

They have also complained that the rapid foreigner influx in previous years is eroding their national identity.

The discontent spilled into general elections in 2011 when the PAP garnered its lowest-ever vote count after more than 50 years in power.

Should have this closer to election time.. full house then.

Yes I would be there come GE2016. Yesterday couldn't make it as having other activities. Will drop all commitments during election time!

Must teach the papzis a lesson!

Good Morning Singapore Sunday!!!
How is everyone here this morning? I hope all of you are in one piece!!! Hahahaaa...

See the utter failure of such useless protest. The utter waste of time. Singaporeans are not stupid!!!
We need foreigners to beef up this place. We need immigrants to boost our economy. We need tourists to make Singapore tick.

We Singaporeans are very pragmatic people. We all love Singapore. We all support the wonderful and brilliant policies of our world class governnace.

If you continue to protest and advocate rubbish and get garbages in our governance, we will one day be like the USA - SHUT DOWN !!!!

So be grateful to our wonderful world class government. Support our government always.

Majulah Singapura!!!!

Support 6.9m?

500 people don't want 6.9 million. Millions say "bring it on!... the sooner the better".

At the end of the day, sensible Singaporeans know what is good for the country.

I'm sure that come 2016, PAP will once again capture 75% of the vote and the lame opposition will be consigned to the history books.

These protesters can help by having more babies. If there are significant increase in babies, the goverment has no more excuses..

500 people don't want 6.9 million. Millions say "bring it on!... the sooner the better".

I'm sure that come 2016, PAP will once again capture 75% of the vote and the lame opposition will be consigned to the history books.

yes i totally with the wisdom of our great Boss....majulah singapura!!!

Really sad to see the low turn out as compared to the support for faggots,,singkieland is really down in the dumps,,,

No lah. 500 people bothered to attend. Doesn't necessarily follow that those who didn't support the influx. They could be busy with their own ways to avoid the influx such as trying to get a work visa to a First World country.

Never underestimate the stupidity of Sinkies. We are talking about a people who voted on the basis of "free" lift upgrading, who believed that increase GST is "to help the poor", et cetera.

PAP probably will win 2016, looking the rate things are going, but it will be like BN's recent "victory". With say 45% of the popular vote, PAP capture say 60% of the Parliamentary seats.

A mass exodus will take place and your beloved NZ will be inundated with uncivilised and Unsinkified peasants from Peesai. Unsinkification takes at least one generation, to put it very optimistically. I rather the Unsinkification process takes place in Sinkieland itself than elsewhere. So for our sake, it is better to support such protests. :rolleyes:

only losers will run away. fullstop
hahahahahaaaaaa.........

This Alex tan zhixiang really damn jialat le ... Can't speak well still want to speak in public... Can't even understand what he is trying to say and still want to wear that cb mask ... you mean they don't really have other better speakers other than this alex cb kia ....

walan. this alex tan zhixiang why bother to wear a stupid mask? scare ppl know u from TRS? and i think he should stop speaking like that. talk so fast yest until i lia bo giu leh. :confused:

image.jpg
Like I said this cb Kia Alex tan really fucked up the protest yesterday. Ccb he is the only one I have problem following due to the way he rushed through his speech. Some more wear a cb mask dun know for fuck when his selfies is all over his FB. He should have stick to hiding behind the TRS website and continue to talk cock online ( which he is best at) as opposed to giving half fucked public speeches.

only losers will run away. fullstop
hahahahahaaaaaa.........

Tell that to the late Baron Michael Chan, member of the House of Lords and not some lowly knight Harry Lee who is nothing more than a grossly overpaid city MAYOR:

Michael Chew Koon Chan, Baron Chan, MBE (6 March 1940 – 21 January 2006) was a Singaporean-British physician and politician, of Chinese descent.

Chan was born in Singapore, where his family were members of the Christian minority. He was educated at Raffles Institution, and moved to the United Kingdom to study medicine at Guy's Hospital Medical School. He trained as a paediatrician, specialising in blood diseases. He returned to Singapore after his studies, becoming a lecturer and consultant paediatrician at the University of Singapore, but returned to the UK in 1974 to study Von Willebrand's disease at the University of London Institute of Child Health at Great Ormond Street Hospital. He moved to the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine in 1976, where he remained until 1994 as a senior clinical lecturer and consultant paediatrician. He was director of the NHS Ethnic Health Unit in Leeds between 1994 and 1997, and was successively director of two NHS primary health trusts from 1999.

He was also active in the field of race relations, serving as an advisor to the Home Secretary and then as a Commissioner for the Commission for Racial Equality between 1990 and 1995, and as a member of the Sentencing Panel from 1999. He became a member of the Press Complaints Commission in 2002, and he was chairman of the Chinese in Britain Forum. He was a committed Christian and elder of the Liverpool Chinese Gospel Church, undertaking various charitable works, for which he was appointed MBE in 1991.

He was made a life peer in 2001, becoming Baron Chan, of Oxton in the County of Merseyside, chosen as a "People's Peer". He sat as a crossbencher. He became the second person of Chinese descent to take a seat in either of the Houses of Parliament, after Baroness Dunn. Chan is survived by his wife Irene Wei-Len Chee, his son, Stephen, and daughter, Ruth.

Since Chan's death, Lord Wei has been the only ethnic Chinese Peer in the House of Lords, as Baroness Dunn gave up her seat in the Lords in order to retain her non-domiciled tax status following the passing of the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Chan,_Baron_Chan

all these protests and rallies really an utter waste of time
the time is better spent to help the elderly, the poor and the disadvantaged
N A T O - now we have eldercare leave, we have paternal leave, we have all sorts of leave
to help our own people...

why talk about nonsense topics....an utter waste of time....