US Repulicans threten to shutdown govt to stop affordable healthcare for Americans

TopSage

http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/20...-plan-pointless-as-shutdown-nears.html?cmpid=

US and $ingapore are the only developed countries without universal healthcare. One
of the major reasons for people going bankrupt in USA is the high medical bills. Similar cases
occur in Singapore.

To stop these inhuman occurance, Obama created the Affordable Care Act aka Obamacare
to prevent more people from suffering tremendous financial burden of getting sick. The center piece of
ACA is to cover every man woman and child with insurance. Nobody can be denied insurance coverage and every
has to pay for insurance.

Republicans who do not bel:eve healthcade should be a rght like in most developed countries want to defund Obamacare by refusing any budget that includes funding for ACA. This will cause a shutdown of the US govt as the budget goes into a deadlock.

Republicans who believe in the right to firearms do not believe everyone has the rght to healthcare.

The Singapore govt has recent proposed an Obamacare type scheme called Medishield Life. It is likely
to cause premiums to go up and has to be made compulsory. Singaporeans will oppose anything that makes them pay morre but this time it is for a worthy cause to take care of families with members who are sick.
I urge singaporeans to keep an open mind about medishield life and not oppose simpky because they have to pay more ....the extra goes towards helping thousands of people with pre existing conditions and the elderly.

Let's not bicker endlessly like the americans and stay united to get this medishield life through. We must not selfishly think about ourselves but spare a thought for those who are sick.

Re: US Repulicans threten to shutdown govt to stop affordable healthcare for American

I am not against paying more so that all is covered. However I am against the rising costs of healthcare and doctors getting richer at our expense. How to separate the two??

Re: US Repulicans threten to shutdown govt to stop affordable healthcare for American

I am not against paying more so that all is covered. However I am against the rising costs of healthcare and doctors getting richer at our expense. How to separate the two??

Doctor get richer is base on demand and supply because human mind always think more expensive is better.

I put my proposal this way. If the gahment wants me to pay more so that all my bros and sis r covered , then they better cap some of the med costs otherwise we will just be asked .. or told to pay more and who's laughing to the bank in the end!!

Wow, and we all thought that increasing GST to help the poor was a stroke of genius bar none.

Yes but look at it this way.... the medisave should have covered everyone from birth to death in the first place . In order to make it cheap they left out people who had medical conditions and the elderly... these are the pple who need coverage the
most.i.e. the premiums on medihield has been
too low for a universal health care scheme.

One way to cap escalating doctor pay is to limit medical tourism and
private hospital, they are draining our healthcare resources and causing price escalation. This has to stop.

Like that doctor whom the PAP put up as a candidate ...if he wanted to serve Singaporeans why was his practice in mount E

That is not true. Its not just the Drs, its the medical treatment itself. There are vested interest like Drug companies, medical equipment companies etc that wants expensive treatments to be promoted. These vested rent seeking activities need to be stopped and its owners be executed in a public trial. But that wont happen.

For example chemotherapy, its expensive and not that effective if one looks at the relapse cases. furthermore the cure is worse than the disease. And those recovery crap is all BS. OTC went for treatment and died soon after the presidency.

Look at Pinky, it seems he is 'cured' but the amount of time he disappears from work will prove that he is nothing but a part time worker. When Mas Selamat escaped, there was no sight and sound from him...rumour was he was seeking treatment for his cancer.

So once u get it, it wont go away...if i get it, i rather let it takes its course than suffer the additional agony of these so called 'treatments'.

Medical treatments need to be looked at and not just be gahmen approved for all to get for free. the budget will be in great deficit in no time and the only ones benefitting will be Drug and medical companies.

In addition, all subsidised medical benefits for the elites need to be removed. Like $8.00 heart surgeries.

Medical benefits need to be efficient and effective and profits for drug and medical companies removed in decision making...

Yes but look at it this way.... the medisave should have covered everyone from birth to death in the first place . In order to make it cheap they left out people who had medical conditions and the elderly... these are the pple who need coverage the
most.i.e. the premiums on medihield has been
too low for a universal health care scheme.

One way to cap escalating doctor pay is to limit medical tourism and
private hospital, they are draining our healthcare resources and causing price escalation. This has to stop.

Like that doctor whom the PAP put up as a candidate ...if he wanted to serve Singaporeans why was his practice in mount E

If the universal scheme takes place then all treatment must go thro govt hospitals and doctors must be paid normal salaries and not recommend unnecessary treatments..etc

Just an additional point, I am all for Universal Healthcare,,,however the gahmen needs to be selective about the treatments...ineffective and expensive treatments need to be scrutanised carefully if it dont work, it should never be subsidised to enrich medical companies even more..

[video=youtube;8Jylam1m3C0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Jylam1m3C0[/video]

Just an additional point, I am all for Universal Healthcare,,,however the gahmen needs to be selective about the treatments...ineffective and expensive treatments need to be scrutanised carefully if it dont work, it should never be subsidised to enrich medical companies even more..

[video=youtube;8Jylam1m3C0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Jylam1m3C0[/video]

Plse don't fall into misinformation that chemotherapy does not work. Remember when both Lee Hsien Loong and Ong
Teng Chong both had cancer. Both were cured by chemotherapy.
I myself have see pple cured by chemotherapy and radiation.

Tenfold 9"

I have seen people die of chemo and radio therapy..so what is yr point? OTC died of his cancer due to relapse. Pinky is luckier as he is living longer but he is getting heaps of additional treatments...the cost will be unaffordable to normal people...these shit treatments can extend ones life,,but will never cure it,,,and its extension is not much...maybe few years like in OTC's case....

Plse don't fall into misinformation that chemotherapy does not work. Remember when both Lee Hsien Loong and Ong
Teng Chong both had cancer. Both were cured by chemotherapy.
I myself have see pple cured by chemotherapy and radiation.

Tenfold 9"

I have seen people die of chemo and radio therapy..so what is yr point? OTC died of his cancer due to relapse. Pinky is luckier as he is living longer but he is getting heaps of additional treatments...the cost will be unaffordable to normal people...these shit treatments can extend ones life,,but will never cure it,,,and its extension is not much...maybe few years like in OTC's case....

Chemo works...sometimes. Most of the time it buy u some extra time. .. to enjoy a few more months to say all your goodbyes. Who knows u may even strike lottery and get yourself cured !!

Talk cock lah,, spend thousands for a few more months? and have to endure the pain? that is crazy

Chemo works...sometimes. Most of the time it buy u some extra time. .. to enjoy a few more months to say all your goodbyes. Who knows u may even strike lottery and get yourself cured !!

Talk cock lah,, spend thousands for a few more months? and have to endure the pain? that is crazy

Put it this way. If u kena , u mean u wont want chemo ?? Not where it's the only chance u got ?? Most people only give up on chemo only when it's not working so no point going on.

I wont go chemo cause it does not work and its not a cure...death is part of life,,deal with it

Put it this way. If u kena , u mean u wont want chemo ?? Not where it's the only chance u got ?? Most people only give up on chemo only when it's not working so no point going on.

I wont go chemo cause it does not work and its not a cure...death is part of life,,deal with it
Well, ok I respect your view and I can understand why u think that way. When it comes to dealing with THE END, to each his own!