• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pinky says you have to work hard till you die.

Goh Chin Lian
Singapolitics
Wednesday, Sep 25, 2013

SINGAPORE - Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has sought to inject some balance in the national preoccupation with work-life balance, warning Singaporeans that competitors are out to steal their lunch.

At a televised forum on Tuesday night, he said the idea of work-life balance has become so popular it is now a tag phrase.

"They call it a meme on the Internet," he said, adding that people who used the phrase did not seem quite sure what they meant by it except that they would like more free time and less stress.

It was also not clear if people knew the trade-offs, he said.

"If you look at other countries: Vietnam, China, even in India, they're not talking about work-life balance; they are hungry, anxious, about to steal your lunch. So I think I'd better guard my lunch."

He did not agree with the generalisation that younger people want an easy life.

"I would not write off young people," he said. "I think there are a lot of very hard-working young people and very altruistic young people who do a lot of good work beyond themselves."

Among the questions he fielded during a one-hour broadcast on Channel NewsAsia was one on who would foot the bill for new policies to increase support for the vulnerable members of society.

He said the State cannot pay for all the measures and that individuals and the community have to play their part.

"If you look at other countries: Vietnam, China, even in India, they're not talking about work-life balance; they are hungry, anxious, about to steal your lunch. So I think I'd better guard my lunch."

Pinky thinks that you you should work like a dog till you die. What's the point of life when your life is all about work?

There will always be competitors ...the challenge is how you outpace them and put yourself at a level beyond their reach. We have the most expensive cabinet in the world and all they can do is to tell you to work harder ...where is the economic vision?

Do we see the cabinet working like dogs? Nah ...that's for sinkees, not them and the elites.

Among the questions he fielded during a one-hour broadcast on Channel NewsAsia was one on who would foot the bill for new policies to increase support for the vulnerable members of society.

He said the State cannot pay for all the measures and that individuals and the community have to play their part.
So helping the poor is now optional for the government? The State has the means and the resources, why should helping the poor be a responsibility forced upon individuals and the community?

Bullshit, LHL obviously have never visited North Korea. The state pays for everything

Why North Korea, instead of Finland, Sweden, Denmark or Norway?

In North Korea they have

Free Housing

Free Healthcare

Free Food

Free Cigarettes if you smoke

Free Alcohol

100% employment rate

No FT

No Tax

No Stress. U work 1 hr or 10 hr U still get paid

None of the country U listed can beat that.

Seriously, why give a shit to what pinky says?

Vote the 超级白out in 2016 then what he says won't matter anymore.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has sought to inject some balance in the national preoccupation with work-life balance, warning Singaporeans that competitors are out to steal their lunch.

That's nothing more than a feeble attempt at scare tactics to further exploit the already oppressed workers.

There is no need to work that hard. Remember the examples of Boxer from George Orwell's Animal Farm and May Leong. Hard workers will perish.

P.S: I'm sure Pinky Loong knows about work-life balance... after all, no one is stealing his lunch and he could take plenty of leave days every year. :rolleyes:

Work life balance is where u have financial security ,like 7 figures in bank a/c, in a leadership position - meaning u give people stress, not the other way round, goes to work anytime u like, people wait for u for meetings, lots of networking like golf, overseas junkets, fancy Makans, and even if u lose your job, there's always a menu of high level jobs waiting for u. No prizes for guessing what I am talking about !!

Work-life balance should not be the exclusive domain of the rich. The majority of people will only be able to achieve middle-class lifestyle. Why shouldn't middle-class lifestyle have a work-life component?

LOL........he still talk like his dad and think that this is still the 60s

Sinkies nowadays are very well traveled and have worked with different nationalities in cities all over the world. PRCs and AH Nehs don't talk about work life balance? Lanjiao! In fact the PRCs and Ah Nehs simply cannot comprehend what his dad said about working till you drop dead. People in their country only know about working hard when they are young so that they can retire early to enjoy their golden years.

The countries that he quoted have super large population so obviously there are more 'hungry people' there than anywhere else.

How come he did not mention about the FTs here who are super lazy and talk about work life balance all the time? Has he ever wonder why these FTs refuse to be citizens?

Work-life balance should not be the exclusive domain of the rich. The majority of people will only be able to achieve middle-class lifestyle. Why shouldn't middle-class lifestyle have a work-life component?

Middle class have work life balance??? U crazy !! U know how many FTs waiting to take your job for half the pay!!!

Any worthy employer or company will implement work-life balance without external prodding. They also have a comprehensive and fair HR policy. These things, like corporate social responsibility, are done automatically. Happy workers are productive workers.

If the employees are kept in constant fear that some cheaper FTs will waltz right in and take their jobs, that company probably has issues. It's probably a small sweatshop run by some petty towkay. :rolleyes:

This is the 21st century. Using fear as a motivator no longer works.

Wow, it looks like he has really convinced himself that he and toothpick have worked very hard for many years.

does Pinky need to contribute to CPF? got pay income tax?

Any worthy employer or company will implement work-life balance without external prodding. They also have a comprehensive and fair HR policy. These things, like corporate social responsibility, are done automatically. Happy workers are productive workers.

If the employees are kept in constant fear that some cheaper FTs will waltz right in and take their jobs, that company probably has issues. It's probably a small sweatshop run by some petty towkay. :rolleyes:

This is the 21st century. Using fear as a motivator no longer works.

R u for real??? If your company don't do it, your competitor will do it , and their costs will be lower than yours. And these FTs r not only cheaper but younger and eager to learn. Very soon your company will be history !!

Alamak, why you always look at cost like that? Your happy employees can be more productive than your competitor.
So, you admit that the FT is the source of our problem. We have to either shut the door to foreigners (they are not talents lah, so don't call them FT ...FL (Foreign Leeches) is more apt description) or to make employers pay levy to raise cost equivalent to sinkees.

If sinkapore is first world, then why are we indulging in low cost competition? Business that competes only on cost should move out to the Philippines, India, China or whereever. Why are they here? They are here because they rate the infrastructure as an important component and they were happy to pay sinkee good wages. Then the PAP government open the flood gates to PATANs (Pinoys, Ah Tiongs and Ah Nehs), of course business will go for the cheaps lah.

SINGAPORE - Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has sought to inject some balance in the national preoccupation with work-life balance, warning Singaporeans that competitors are out to steal their lunch.

Isn't he the one who imported the competitors ?