• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans fired to hire foreigners....

TopSage

This has happened to many of my friends especially older
Singaporeans above 40. The way is done is to purposely give a poor assessment then
use it to sack you. Many of my friends spends 15-20yrs
with a company suddenly accused of inxompetence and sack....imagine for.20
yrs they perform responsibly sacked without given a chance.

These incidents have been reported by many bloggers
and by ordinary singapireans but fallen on deaf ears of the PAP.

However the letter below is written by Patrick Tay, l
director of the labour movement NTUC's PME. For anyone in NTUC union to say
there is a problem, it means the problem is epidemic otherwise it would be ignored.

---------
Citibank Singapore has been accused of hiring almost half of its staff from overseas>

PROFESSIONALS, managers and executives (PMEs) now form about a third of the Singapore workforce. The number is expected to grow exponentially as the educational level of the general population rises.

In the course of my work, I have met many PMEs as well as union members and leaders. One of their topmost concerns is the excessive number of foreign PMEs in the country.

A well-qualified information technology professional working in a large financial institution once explained to me how he lost his job after being told that his position had beenmade redundant. He subsequently found out from former colleagues that his boss (an expatriate) had hired a foreign PME (with an expatriate package) to fill his position.

In August 2011, I expressed concern about hiring malpractices involving foreign PMEs. I suggested that Labour Market Testing (LMT) be implemented.

LMT essentially obliges employers who want to recruit foreign PMEs to show that they have exhausted all local sources before they are given permission to employ foreign PMEs. LMT is not a new concept. It is required in many jurisdictions such as Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, Germany, Britain, the United States and Canada.

I repeated these concerns in Parliament in October 2011, and in the 2012 Budget debate.

As there was no word from the Government, I was pleasantly surprised when Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam in his Budget speech this year announced that the "Ministry of Manpower (MOM) will put in place a framework to ensure that firms give fair consideration to Singaporeans in their hiring practices".

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin announced in Parliament last month that more details on the framework would be fleshed out in the coming months.

Why LMT?

THE need for LMT stems from a growing concern that employers are not giving Singaporeans due consideration and are sometimes preferring foreigners. Anecdotal evidence suggests that the problem is particularly acute for mature PMEs above 40 years. These are the ones who have the most difficulty finding work when they are displaced.

I think that for LMT to work, it has to encompass several key principles and features.

Fair consideration of locals and advertising requirements

LMT should focus on PME jobs - those for which employers want to hire Employment Pass (EP) holders. Currently, there is no ceiling for this group of workers.

Before employers are allowed to hire any foreign PME (EP holder) to fill a position, they should be obliged to advertise the vacancy so as to give Singaporeans time to apply for it. An interval of between seven and 28 days would be long enough.

The advertisements should also set out as much information as possible about the job opening. In addition, companies must exercise due diligence, keep records, and explain the grounds for rejecting locals aifter they have applied.

Transparency of advertisement/national jobs bank

To ensure transparency, such advertisements could be placed in a National Jobs Bank that is easily accessible to the public. Since the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) and NTUC's e2i (Employment and Employability Institute) are the nationally funded agencies providing job-matching and career services, they are the natural choice for this database.

Placing all the PME job ads there will allow WDA and e2i to better understand the PME job market and identify skill shortages and industry demands. This will also help ensure that national continuing education and training programmes and initiatives are well targeted.

Efficiency

As in many other jurisdictions, there will need to be some exemptions. This will ensure LMT achieves its goal while not being excessively onerous on companies.

For example, micro-SMEs may be exempted from LMT requirements. In the same vein, certain countries such as Britain have used a salary limit, above which they are exempted.

Efficacy and enforcement

An additional level of checks will need to be built into the rules to enable the authorities to investigate complaints. Where employers are found to pay lip service to LMT or treat it as mere window dressing, the authorities should be given the means to ensure that locals are treated fairly.

Industry regulators such as the Monetary Authority of Singapore and Infocomm Development Authority could play an important supportive role here in identifying recalcitrant companies.

Based on anecdotal evidence, banking and finance as well as IT and communications will require special attention. These are industries where perceptions are greatest thatlocals are not given their full due. It therefore is crucial that official enforcement efforts be directed towards these two industries.

After all these measures are put in place, companies that still have a large proportion of foreign PMEs should be flagged and examined thoroughly.

Finally, the penalties imposed should also be sufficiently high to have a deterrent effect.

When LMT? Looking ahead

MANY are eagerly looking forward to the MOM's announcement. Hopefully, there will be greater transparency as well as more opportunities for local PMEs.

It will also be a strong signal to Singaporeans of the Government's determination to develop a Singaporean core. In this way, we will allow in foreign PMEs who complement rather than undercut the skills of the local workforce.

LMT may not be a panacea for all local PMEs, but it is a very positive start.

The aim will be to deliver a light touch on the majority of companies, which already have good hiring practices, while placing a heavy hand on the recalcitrant minority.

Patrick Tay

*The writer is the director of the labour movement NTUC's PME (Professionals, Managers and Executives) Unit and Legal Services Department, and a People's Action Party MP for Nee Soon GRC.

Why don't you get your friends into share trading like you?

Back to the topic, I recently had a conversation with a friend that is still working back home. He was lamenting on how much stress management has placed on the group etc, and how every managers has a "MBA" and doesn't know an iota of technical work. I told him over here, our managers have no MBAs, just have Patents. He was shocked by the reply. Is it still the case in Singapore that most of these managers are MBAs and have no clues to what the actual work required does? Mind you, this is IT related of course.

There is NO reason to hire foreigners when unemployment of PMET is high.

Why don't you get your friends into share trading like you?

Back to the topic, I recently had a conversation with a friend that is still working back home. He was lamenting on how much stress management has placed on the group etc, and how every managers has a "MBA" and doesn't know an iota of technical work. I told him over here, our managers have no MBAs, just have Patents. He was shocked by the reply. Is it still the case in Singapore that most of these managers are MBAs and have no clues to what the actual work required does? Mind you, this is IT related of course.

Please read the posting and think before replying.

Your conversation is not representative of the situation. Among the PMETs in Singapore less than 1% have MBA. We are talking about people in technical fields like IT and logistic becoming older and replaced in their jobs - a structural unemployment issue.

That is my point, the PMEs have no MBA, but the management DO! Please read my post carefully before you reply, so typical of sinkies. The problem with MBAs is that they think they are getting the equivalent form of work done if they hire foreigners!

Your conversation is not representative of the situation. Among the PMETs in Singapore less than 1% have MBA. We are talking about people in technical fields like IT and logistic becoming older and replaced in their jobs - a structural unemployment issue.

Not surprising. But serve your friends right. Your friends deserve to be fired for being a balless sinkees. Continue vote pappies lor. Next time, have to sell wives,children leh.

Every time I read this on sacking of locals, who had worked diligently for any company, putting in their worth for a day wages. Earning that salary, to feed themselves, their families & AN EXPENSIVE GOVERNMENT & a TOOTHLESS LABOR UNION, I heave a sigh!.

This is not new, had been cycled through so many times. there is no loyalty in working for a company anymore & companies, do not expect you to be loyal anymore. One have to work like a 'mercenary' a work mercenary, where one is paid for what it's worth, anytime, anyday..can just kiss the job & company good bye & vice versa; but when in "milk" all the benefits first. What is the use of moaning & groaning, I work for you 20 years..you employ one ah neh to replace me! In the last 20 years, you must be damn bloody incompetent & blind to see the changes that is going on around you. These kind of workers, dererve the sack, in the past I would sympathized with them, after many years, I do not...they deserve to be sacked, for sitting still on one spot & oblivious to the world.

I have said this before, after our recession in 1985 ( caused by you know who!), the trend of depressing local wages started, it was by employing Malaysians & granting them PR if they work & live here for a couple of years & the PR is sponsored by the company they work for. I have told people I work together with the FUTURE, if we do not be multi skills, educating ourselves & moving one step in the ever changing world, SINgapore workers will be eating 'grass'.I told these people floodgates will be opened for Malaysians, Indonesians, Thais, Hong Kong, Taiwanese, Filipinos... at that time,Chinese, Ah nehs, were not on the horizon yet. I was not talking about jobs for blue collar workers..but PMET's. I have asked these people, "whom do they vote for"?? the answers was obvious...

Have they looked after themselves, other than moan & groan, they have been muscled out of their jobs & rice bowls? Whom did they vote for that brought them to this state & what have they done, to stay ahead of curve!?? most important, WHOM DID THEY VOTE FOR? :mad:

As long as those hired are the most productive and suitably skilled, it does not matter what their colour or nationality is.

this is not structural unemployment to the extent..it is foreigners taking care of foreigners in your own country..This is what happen when ball-less sinkies totally no balls to protest and throw out the PAP on the street in mass numbers.

As long as those hired are the most productive and suitably skilled, it does not matter what their colour or nationality is.

If that is true, then we should do away with national borders. That ain't going to happen. So, nationality does matter.

Sinkapore is flooded with foreigners only because we have an insane government that puts its own interests ahead of the people.

If that is true, then we should do away with national borders. That ain't going to happen. So, nationality does matter.

Sinkapore is flooded with foreigners only because we have an insane government that puts its own interests ahead of the people.

National borders don't really exist anymore because the world is highly interconnected.

Bosses just want to exploit workers as best as they can. Give low pay, expect 200% effort and 10 times the profit they pay for the worker. and the right to hire and fire. That is why bosses are assholes. No point working to make the boss rich...Boss Sam is right,,work for yourself the bestest...be your own boss..super duper bestest..that is if yr business is profitable lah,,,

I can bet you that some of these foreigner's hired are drawing a much higher salary than local S'poreans of he same job scope.
The hiring manager's (a foreigner) intention is to bring in their own group of people to reinforce their political power in the firm.
It is not totally about "cost cutting" to reduce operating cost as what our gahbrament has painted the picture to us.

If that is the case, how can an 'unprofitable' company survive? and wont the higher ups look into this due to the bottom line shrinking? The company is spending huge on pay and the employees are not productive,,,does not make sense.

I can bet you that some of these foreigner's hired are drawing a much higher salary than local S'poreans of he same job scope.
The hiring manager's (a foreigner) intention is to bring in their own group of people to reinforce their political power in the firm.
It is not totally about "cost cutting" to reduce operating cost as what our gahbrament has painted the picture to us.

Sinkies are not seen as valuable commodities.

This you have to ask the government of the day!. To attract foreign investments, here, our workers are often touted to be highly trained & well educated. We were once the training centers in which the emerging countries government in SEA send their workers here to train & leran, from Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Malaysia.

How can we say that, our workers is lousy?? it is the government that sold us out...making SINgapore workers 3rd rate workers , lower than the 3rd world workers that come here to work, effectively making them worthless & viewed as expensive & over paid!

If sinkees is viewed as worthless commodities...then they should consider their voting pattern!!

If that is the case, how can an 'unprofitable' company survive? and wont the higher ups look into this due to the bottom line shrinking? The company is spending huge on pay and the employees are not productive,,,does not make sense.

It does not make sense.
But this is exactly happening to some firms especially the top management is also a foreigner, more so if he is an "ah neh" and "pinoy".

The problem here lies in the CPF and HDB housing tied together which does not allowed 80% of the population to refinancing their home equity growth to start new SMEs.

This has had stagnant the growth and opportunity during the golden years period 1970 to 2000 and it is still stagnant as of today. Whereas other countries has surged forward, even India Ah Nehs, using their properties to refinance any new technology and business growth and now they are here with their companies and hire their own kind whereas 80% of HDB Singaporeans with PMET materials are looking for works which they should be bosses of their own companies today.

All companies uses their assets, especially hard asset, to refinance their businesses growth or new products so why your HDB properties cannot be so? Unfair practices and unequal opportunity? Yes, I would think so. Better off to buy private properties and stuff HDB aside.

Better go knock on the Old fart door and ask to change all that. The flaws in HDB tied to CPF already set Singaporeans back and do you still want it to continue to the Gen Alpha (babies today). And if Gen Y is not doing anything to change it today they will suffer the same fate in 2040 like it is now.