• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Have you eaten any moon cake yet ?

ChnTwnlantern1509e.jpg

Chinatown adorned with 20,000 lanterns for the Mid-Autumn Festival in 2013. Thousands gathered in Chinatown on Sunday night to celebrate the Mid-Autumn Festival, which falls on Sept 19 this year. -- ST FILE PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

Thousands gathered in Chinatown on Sunday night to celebrate the Mid-Autumn Festival, which falls on Sept 19 this year.

About 6,000 people took part in the Chinatown Mid-Autumn Festival 2013 Mass Lantern Walk organised by the Kreta Ayer-Kim Seng Citizens' Consultative Committee.

They walked for 1km from the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple at Banda Street to Eu Tong Sen Street with LED lanterns in hand. There were also percussion and dance performances along the way.

Minister for Social and Family Development Chan Chun Sing, who was the guest of honour at the event, said: "The Mid-Autumn Festival always reminds you of home and family ties... The Chinese have this saying that once you see the full moon, no matter which corner of the world you are, you will always think of your family."

So far my favourite moon cake is Goodwood Park Durian Moon cake. Bloody expensive! Can only afford to buy ONE!!!

But I still prefer th Tai Chong Kok moon cake . I bought mine at Taka. Still avoidable...nice salted egg yoke. Very nice paste and traditionally still the best moon cake.

Tried the Hua Ting and Tung Lok - so so only lah.

So far my favourite moon cake is Goodwood Park Durian Moon cake. Bloody expensive! Can only afford to buy ONE!!!

But I still prefer th Tai Chong Kok moon cake . I bought mine at Taka. Still avoidable...nice salted egg yoke. Very nice paste and traditionally still the best moon cake.

You need to get richer.

u eat 1 mooncake ... iz equivalen 2 u haf eaten 1 plate of charred kway teow ...

eat also die
no eat also die
might as well eat and die happy
tiok boh?

not that bad lah...eat one plate of charred kway teow with hum and then for dessert one full moon cake
and then one big cup of green tea...shiok . die also good.

eat also die
no eat also die
might as well eat and die happy
tiok boh?

not that bad lah...eat one plate of charred kway teow with hum and then for dessert one full moon cake
and then one big cup of green tea...shiok . die also good.

I tried ordering Mee Siam Mai Hum but not successful, only Char Kway Teow mai hum, mai tau gey, mai hiam cheo, mai bak u, mai...might as well eat the kway teow with dark sauce..then mai tau u...

eat & be merry & die happy!! :D

When I was young I know only Tai Chung Kok, Lam Thong & the other one in China town I have forgotten the name, I only eat brown skin with ltus paste nothing else no eggs no this no that. In the past, they would add melon seeds, there is a kind I do not like & avoid, the one that comes with lotus paste, sugared melon slices, lard & melon seed. I do not fancy the whatever skins or whatever variation there are out there, only the brown skin & lotus paste...preferably from Tai Chung Kok, over the last few years , became a fan of Lavender Bakery JB moon cakes.

Long time back, just for variety buy the Teo Chew Mooncakes with the soft skin from this confectionery shop at Hokkien Street, wonder if they are still around.

Why do we eat moon cake??

My favorite in the Champagne Truffle Moon Cake from Raffles Hotel, the closest I get to a culinary orgasm every year. :D

Goodwood Park Moon cakes are also pretty good.

So poor....thing. Goodwood Park Hotel Durian mooncake only $53 for D24 version (4pcs). You can only afford one piece?

PAP HOURLY RATE for posting rubbish in SBF so low meh? cannot afford? talk cock!

Long time back, just for variety buy the Teo Chew Mooncakes with the soft skin from this confectionery shop at Hokkien Street, wonder if they are still around.

teochew traditional moo cake aka "Lah Piah"? try Parkway Parade basement, was walking around the other evening and saw the teochew lah piah... freshly baked, so they claim. for me, it would be an obscure old school confectionery at Lor Ah Soo...

The one at Hokkien Street had been there for decades, making Teowchew confectionery & during the Moon Cake Festival they make teochew Style moon cakes, rest of the year, just confectionery. If I am not mistaken they make those confectionery for weddings, birthdays & anniversary. We used to have these what we call them dialect group confectionery around, years ago...If I am not mistaken there was one along Purvis Street, making Hainanese confectionery....out great planners had killed all these heritage.:p

I only got the chance to eat rws mookcake,53 points for 1 box:D

Moon cake is mainly for the rich.
We poor chaps can only afford "Chinese made sponge cake".

I tried ordering Mee Siam Mai Hum but not successful, only Char Kway Teow mai hum, mai tau gey, mai hiam cheo, mai bak u, mai...might as well eat the kway teow with dark sauce..then mai tau u...

eat & be merry & die happy!! :D

When I was young I know only Tai Chung Kok, Lam Thong & the other one in China town I have forgotten the name, I only eat brown skin with ltus paste nothing else no eggs no this no that. In the past, they would add melon seeds, there is a kind I do not like & avoid, the one that comes with lotus paste, sugared melon slices, lard & melon seed. I do not fancy the whatever skins or whatever variation there are out there, only the brown skin & lotus paste...preferably from Tai Chung Kok, over the last few years , became a fan of Lavender Bakery JB moon cakes.

Why do we eat moon cake??

Mooncake mai hum the best ! eat already damn shiok make you want to cum

I eat MC only after the festival ...wait for clearance mah. Eat now or after, taste the same. Why spend so much?

Got kopi for me or not?