Can Benjamin Sheares Bridge Take The Combined Weight of Stalled Vehicles?

Kohliantye

Today at about 11.55 hrs I drove out from the KPE tunnel and straight came into a terrible traffic build-up all the way till the exit in Marina South. Later I realised that there was a rubbish container in Lane 5 ahead.

The jam was a horrendous sight and I am sure people in the Singapore Flyer (especially tourists) would be left wondering as to whether this is a common sight in Singapore.

What worries me most is public safety. Can the bridge can take the full weight of stalled vehicles which consists of monstrous prime-movers with long containers, earth-laden lorries heading to PSA and Marina South, respectively?

As my vehicle lumbered slowly up the bridge, after the Rochor Exit, I felt rumblings below - it was coming from the bridge. It was as if that tremblors had hit that region. Naturally I felt insecured and wondered what would happen if the entire columns below (spanning the river) gave way and all vehicles above would end up in the deep waters below. That is quite a height and should this sort of thing happen, I can't imagine the tragic loss of lives and properties.

As a safety measure, the Traffic Police should ensure that no vehicles are allowed to be caught in a jam on that bridge - between the KPE tunnel exit right up till the Marina South exit. If the TP has no time or manpower, then as usual they can hand over that task (outsource) to Cisco, Aetos or other private companies.

The sheer weight of all the vehicles that are left stationary (including trailers, heavy lorries and buses conveying passengers and tourists) is extremely dangerous and may prove fatal one day, if left unchecked.

The weight of moving traffic is entirely different from the combined weight from jammed traffic.

Will some experts please share with forummers about the dangers of such a scenario......

... Can the bridge can take the full weight of stalled vehicles which consists of monstrous prime-movers with long containers, earth-laden lorries heading to PSA and Marina South, respectively? ...
can la ... as loong as ze vehicles dun start marching 2gether ... :eek:

Today at about 11.55 hrs I drove out from the KPE tunnel and straight came into a terrible traffic build-up all the way till the exit in Marina South. Later I realised that there was a rubbish container in Lane 5 ahead.

The jam was a horrendous sight and I am sure people in the Singapore Flyer (especially tourists) would be left wondering as to whether this is a common sight in Singapore.

What worries me most is public safety. Can the bridge can take the full weight of stalled vehicles which consists of monstrous prime-movers with long containers, earth-laden lorries heading to PSA and Marina South, respectively?

As my vehicle lumbered slowly up the bridge, after the Rochor Exit, I felt rumblings below - it was coming from the bridge. It was as if that tremblors had hit that region. Naturally I felt insecured and wondered what would happen if the entire columns below (spanning the river) gave way and all vehicles above would end up in the deep waters below. That is quite a height and should this sort of thing happen, I can't imagine the tragic loss of lives and properties.

As a safety measure, the Traffic Police should ensure that no vehicles are allowed to be caught in a jam on that bridge - between the KPE tunnel exit right up till the Marina South exit. If the TP has no time or manpower, then as usual they can hand over that task (outsource) to Cisco, Aetos or other private companies.

The sheer weight of all the vehicles that are left stationary (including trailers, heavy lorries and buses conveying passengers and tourists) is extremely dangerous and may prove fatal one day, if left unchecked.

The weight of moving traffic is entirely different from the combined weight from jammed traffic.

Will some experts please share with forummers about the dangers of such a scenario......

Aiyah!! If u r an engineer, u will know that the design specs would have called for many times the weight of all the vehicles so unless some of the columns have been weakened for whatever reasons or we have a convoy of M1 tanks going up the bridge...there shouldn't be an worries!!

Never be complacent. Remember hotel new world?

Though I think bs bridge should be alright, provided that there was no illegal modification on it.

I will very worried if the new gen of Sinkie were to know the answer to such a question but on the other hand, the PAP would not be too worried if they were to ask such a question. Muahahahahaha

trust him.he is right.
engineer alway design n+1 reductancy

no point pondering about if the bridge can take the weight or not since it's beyond your control.........

rather spend time thinking what to do if the bridge were to collapse while you're on it..............

Is TS worried about this then also ponder over the CTE underground tunnel portion which is underwater...imagine the water pressure above pressing down. I also find a bit of water machiam leaking from the top....and they always like to close some parts for 'maintenance' in the middle of the night.....

Bridge designer and engineer will built bridge withstand more than fully load . But there is always a flaw due to age and corrosion . Worst if near the sea because of salt water and air.
That why now road over Keppel road now under upgrading .

rather than worry, you should instead think of how to convert your vehicle into an armored submersible with in-vehicle oxygen supply and propellers in the event the bridge does actually collapse.

James Bond got his submarine lotus esprit 3 decades ago liao.....

I more worried about the long and winding road along ECP along MBS!!

Yeah, no worries... just like Nicoll Highway. :cool:

1287896_Nicoll_h.jpg

I more worried about the long and winding road along ECP along MBS!!

the most powerful winding road is at south bona vista road.
is bout 1km.
all brother can challenge and write your field report here

MBS massively-built structure on reclaimed land is a disaster waiting to happen.

i doubt so.
most engineers are from interational.
they already factored in reclaim land as a factor.
if local engineers, then i am worry.
i work with many local tech and assitant engineer, most simply bo chap...just tick tick tick the checklists and say completed.
the enginner sign blindly also.

i doubt so.
most engineers are from interational.
they already factored in reclaim land as a factor.
if local engineers, then i am worry.
i work with many local tech and assitant engineer, most simply bo chap...just tick tick tick the checklists and say completed.
the enginner sign blindly also.

Static load for bridge is simple to design and should not be of concern. It is vibration caused by moving vehicles that is worrying. Every structure has an inherent frequency called harmonic frequency. If the resultant frequency of the vibration caused by the vehicles is close to the harmonic freq of the bridge, the bridge will vibrate wildly and collapse even for such a solid concrete structure. Our local engineer should know. There are youtube videos of bridge collapse due to this cause.

More applicable to suspension bridges.

MBS massively-built structure on reclaimed land is a disaster waiting to happen.
That piece of reclaimed land already settled for two decades. Should be safer than sky scrapers build on marine clay and soft ground, like those in shanghai and along beach road.