[h=2]Health Minister: Premiums for MediShield Life will be AFFORDABLE[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
August 20th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

Gan_kim_yong-200x300.jpg
Health Minister Gan Kim Yong

The impact of higher MediShield premiums will be studied carefully to ensure that every Singaporean can afford them, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong yesterday (19 Aug).
Mr Gan’s comment came the day after PM Lee gave his National Day Rally speech at ITE on Sunday (18 Aug).
Mr Lee talked about revamping the MediShield insurance scheme to make it universal without the possibility of opting out. It will cover Singaporeans from birth to death, and will bring back into the fold Singaporeans 90 years and older.
However, PM Lee at the same time announced that insurance premiums will increase due to better coverage. Currently, Singaporeans up to 20 years old pay as little as $50 in premiums every year. But rates climb to as high as $1,190 for an 86-year-old.
Mr Lee said, “Even those who are now outside the MediShield network, we will bring them back in. You may be elderly, you may have dropped out, you may have pre-existing illnesses, we will bring you back in – it may cost you a bit more but it can be done. There will be no more opting out for MediShield.”
Netizens, however, are not impressed with Mr Lee’s proposed healthcare revamp. Some netizens commented on TR Emeritus:
Pink Panty Loong: To cut a long story short, we still end up paying more, right?
House Always Wins: This is so typical of PAP, give a little with the right hand brag a lot about it and then take back more from us using the left hand. Just like GST hike and GST payout. Taking a page out of the casino rule book, the house always wins.
Sim: It is a ploy to make singaporeans pay MORE for each other’s medical expenses. govt just earn the cut from premiums, store up reserves.
Emeritus Singaporean: This Medisheild LIFE insurance scheme will surely turn out to be another dubious scheme to rob more from our Singaporean CPF accounts or from our wallets.
abpap: zhai zhai [Ed. "understood" in Hokkien]. everytime the pap govt wants to “help” you, you are EXPECTED to pay more. Medishield insurance premium goes up, your Medisave contribution goes up, Medishield is NO LONGER opt out!! i don’t understand, as Uncle Leong has pointed out Medishield already has a surplus of something like $800 million? everytime the pap govt “helps” ordinary sporeans, it is without them coming out a single cent. Magical isn’t it?
Crap again: What a load of crap again!! First give you the good news… then says Medisave have to go up. In the end, we still have to pay for it on our own… This bugger figure that is making 3 million Sgreans take up the new non-opt-out Medishield scheme will increase their CPF bank because this is the best way to get more money. And the best is, get more money by increasing Medisave. You are a POS!!! Saying government help singaporean…more like we pay more ourself… just like the duck being force-fed so as to let you eat our fois gras~~~ pui~~~
Dollars & Sense: He sounds like an insurance salesman. If you want better insurance, we can do it but you have to pay more. His manager (in MOH) will negotiate with you how much to pay.
Sensing the worry and cynicism on the ground, Health Minister Gan quickly offered assurances yesterday that the Government will help those who have little in savings to cope with the scheme. The new scheme called Medishield Life will cover the entire lifespan of each citizen.
He said keeping premiums affordable will be a key priority as his ministry finalizes details on the expanded scheme.
However, Mr Gan also said that Singaporeans will continue paying part of the bill so as to maintain “discipline”.
He will seek the public’s views first before implementing Medishield Life, he said. A public consultation will be held “over the next few months”, Mr Gan added, without elaborating. Private insurers offering Integrated Shield – an upgrade that offers extra coverage – will also be roped into the conversation.
“At the end of the day, we want to re-emphasise, to re-affirm this collective responsibility for health care,” Mr Gan said.
The media reported a Mr Ho commenting, “I hope that the Government is not expecting old people to go back to their children and ask them for help. They have their own commitments, their own lives.”

<cite class="fn">Mainstreet Citizens:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 1:06 pm
Mainstreet
Citizens(Quote)

Just not long ago, there was a hefty increase in medishield premiums and soon
another round of increase? Why?
Is the ruling party solutions to all matters
“Pay and Pay”?
Where did all the taxes go to?
Where did all the revenue
from F1, casino levies , Singapore Pools, G.S.T. , E.R.P. , C.O.E. and GLCs
Investments go to?

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

<cite class="fn">Neo:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 1:30 pm
Neo(Quote)

What type of discipline are you advocating? So we are expect to be discipline
to prepaid our medical bills in advance? Do you honestly expect yourself and us
commoners to live to 90+ like LKY?

If the gahmen is really sincere to help the common folks, the gahmen should

1. control the all the type of property price. Stop all those super high
charge of property tax on properties based on understanding of increment in
rental revenue. Make public housing affordable. Not by just giving rebates and
grants. Property prices are the ones that determine the freaking inflation in
the country.

2. scrap the COEs and ERPs. It only generate revenue for gahmen but nothing
to control traffic. You want to control make sure if your own damn house cannot
house a car then cannot buy. Or limited to only one car per household.

3. GST restricted to only luxury goods like Malaysia. Medical bills and other
necessities should not be taxed.

4. scrap the new airport terminal project. It cost high to maintain and no
value added. Singapore do not need so many fanciful terminals. The money spend
can jolly well used to subsidize medical bills for the common folks for many
long years. The project is a bottomless sinkhole. The money can never be
recovered from landing planes and passengers in transit.

5. bind those overseas free scholarship for 10 years to work locally. Those
who break bond make them pay 10X the amount paid. Those who jump ship must be
put into wanted terrorist list should they try to flee without paying. The
wanton giving of free scholarship had deprived many poor locals to study here.
The irony is that those free scholarship foreigners just take the country for
free ride then go elsewhere. We are subsidizing too many leeches and JIA LIAO
BEE leaders in the country.

6. return all the CPF back to common folks at age 55. We do not need handout.
Just want our own money back.

7. scrap all the tax free pension scheme in the ministries. Feed too many
leeches who cannot contribute to economy or improvement of country. Waste of
taxpayers money and raiding the country reserve to pay these leeches.

Anyway, I bet to my last cent all these suggestions will not be taken in. It
will cost you all in your astronomical pay cheques. Nothing to say do ya? Jia
Liao Bee leeches.

Rating:
+26 (from 26 votes)

<cite class="fn">"break even" my foot !!:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 1:31 pm
"break even"
my foot !!(Quote)

“it was last replied in Parliament that the sum of Medishield premiums
collected exceed the claims paid by about $850 million.” quote from Mr Leong Sze
Hian.

Towncoucils lost big money from their lehman brothers investments.

When govt hold too much reserves, the key question to ask is what if our PM
or future PM became a rogue leader?

To prevent misuse of reserves, we need a balance parliament.

We need two party system.

We need transparency and checks and balances.

This NDR, PM totally avoided hot buttons issues, population white paper,
local job security, foreign immigrants etc. This make it more important to have
readily strong opposition parties to become alternative govt.

We must build a stronger opposition team to safeguard our reserves and CPF
and welfare of all SIngaporeans.

PAP had proven to have overlooked Singaporeans job security and stress
level.

GE2016, vote for your own job security and children growth against 6.9
million foreign “refugees”

Rating:
+24 (from 24 votes)

[h=2]Lee ‘Hsiao’ Loong’s mad plan to medisuck your funds dry[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
August 20th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

lhl6-300x187.jpg
In my last post, I mentioned the pointlessness of having
medical insurance beyond the age of 90 - PM
Lee’s croco tears at NDP Rally Speech 2013 and the mad medisave plan
. In
this article, we will take a look at how it is the insurance companies who will
be laughing all the way to the bank because everyone will be included in the
scheme. But the question remains, will the individual Singaporean benefit?

Lee Hsien Loong. With a firm hand, he forces everyone, insurable or
uninsurable and below 90 or above 90, to be on a new compulsory medisave scheme,
which will be called the Medishield Life. Whether it would benefit everyone is
yet to be seen. What we can be sure is that the insurance companies will be very
happy to have unsolicited customers being forced to pay them premiums. No
marketing costs to have this avalanche of new clients!

Forced on you, like it or not -

Here is the forced medishield plan. PAP doesn’t care if you want it or not,
or like it or not - Premiums
for MediShield Life to be kept affordable

The impact of higher MediShield premiums will be studied carefully to
ensure that every Singaporean can afford them, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong
yesterday.

Hey, that’s what they’ve been saying about HDB flats for decades. But there
are still many who can’t afford. The PAPpy guys think they can play the same
lying tune over and over.

But one thing will not change – Singaporeans will continue paying part of
the bill to maintain “discipline”, he said, even as he seeks the public’s views
on this “very significant shift” in the national health insurance
system.

Note that the same audacious and arrogant “I know you better than you know
yourself” attitude PAP is holding against its citizens. Yeah, they are doing it
for us, not for them to get more money from of us. Right, suuure!

Currently, those 20 and below pay as little as $50 in premiums every
year. But rates climb to as high as $1,190 for an
86-year-old.

Again, that’s the PAPpy style. Give you some arbitrary figure to scare you
initially, so that you would be softened up to accept it when the time comes.
Just like the arbitrary 6.9 million population figure given.

It will also be important to hear what members of the public have to say
on the kinds of hospital costs they want MediShield Life to
cover.

Once again, note the very presumptuous PAPpy guys. They assume “everyone
wants” the scheme, making the only difference to be “what type of scheme”. It
never occurred to them that there are those who do not wish to have the scheme
at all, either due to pre-existing illnesses which would make the policy very
unattractive due to loading, or simply due to lack of affordability and lack of
funds.

How insurance companies offset high risk policyholders -

It is known among many that insurance premiums will increase when the
insurance companies accept more high risk policies. Those who are aged over 90
and those with pre-existing illnesses will definitely cause an overall increase
in insurance costs due to higher risk. To offset this higher risk, a higher
premium is set.

A person with a pre-existing condition will be considered a higher than
normal risk. As such, the insurer will “load” the policy either with a higher
premium or with exclusions, or a combination of both. On the part of the to be
insured, he will have to decide if the final premium he pays is worth the less
than favourable benefits he would receive compared to an unloaded case.

Hence if he feels that is OK, he willingly takes up the contract with his
eyes opened. If he is not OK with the terms, he rejects and finds another
insurer who may be willing to undertake his risk. This is fair play and fair
terms for both the insurer and the insured. Both see the modified policy as
amicable terms and both end up happy.

How the Lee Hsiao Loong Medisuck Plan allows the insurance companies
to steal your money
-

Now comes the silly Lee Hsiao (“siao” is mad for Hokkien) Loong Medisuck
Plan. Everyone above is FORCED to be in the plan. Even those with pre-existing
illnesses. While that sounds fantastic to the ignorant, those familiar with
insurance practices will know that would mean the policy would be loaded, either
with a higher premium or with exclusions, or a combination of both. Due to
loading, this high risk guy will now be FORCED to accept the very unfavourable
terms which he may not want in the first place. This guy may well think that the
premiums or exclusion is such that it is not worth for him to accept the policy.
Yet, he is FORCED to accept the unfavourable terms.

Imagine at 70, a person with a record of high blood pressure, he is are
forced into this Lee Hsiao Loong Medisuck Plan. Imagine the Medisuck Plan has a
clause that EXCLUDES the payment of hospital bills for illnesses that arise from
his high blood pressure.

Heck, about anything sickness can be argued to be related to high blood
pressure. Stroke, heart disease, kidney failure, diabetes. And a whole host of
others. That means that if this person is warded for any of the above, the
insurer will be able to argue it need not pay a cent. Hellooo? Why then should
this person be forced to pay premiums, and a loaded insurance policy too, for
all the previous years prior to his hospitalization?

Isn’t the Lee Hsiao Loong Mad Medisuck Plan really mad?

Insurer underwrites the risk, but who regulates the
underwriter?
-

Some will argue that the insurer has a guideline on what and how to load
cases. But the insurance company’s bottom line is still profits. So come what
may, the loaded policy will always be underwritten in favour of the company and
not towards the policy holder. Who is to regulate this unfair advantage the
company holds?

Secondly, the right on the part of the customer to reject the unfavourable
terms of the policy is no longer there. The Lee Hsiao Loong Mad Medisuck plan
mandates that it is compulsory for you to be under the scheme, like it or not,
favourable to you or not.

In short, there is no fair play. It is all about more money for the insurer
and more frustration for the layman.

Medisuck Plan another con job -

The Medisuck Plan is designed for the govt to hold onto your money. With
insurance premiums expecting to shoot up, the gahmen will justify why it needs
to increase the capped amount needed to be in your medisave – only for it to go
into insurance premiums. You will never get to see your hard earned money.

This is no different from the same govt that keeps allowing HDB prices to
increase, so that all your hard earned money in your Ordinary Account of the CPF
will be paid for the flat. Likewise, all your hard earned money in your Medisave
Account will now go to pay medical insurance premiums.

So with the various schemes and the ever increasing minimum sum that the govt
expects you to have in your CPF, purportedly to help you in your retirement age,
all your hard earned money will be given back to the govt and their complicit
partners. Doesn’t that sound like a con job now?

Quick last few words and conclusion -

On the surface, the latest Medisave plan suggested at the NDP 2013 Rally
sounds good. But in reality, it is a well designed con job. While PM Lee may not
be very familiar with the details how insurance companies calculate their costs,
surely he would have had advisors telling him what to do. Surely these advisors
would have known the very unfavourable terms that would be thrusted upon those
with pre-existing conditions, as well as unto the general public.

Are these advisors sleeping on the job? Or are they complicit with the big
insurance companies, as with many agencies of the govt, in trying to bleed as
much money from you, so there would be enough money to fund their fat
salaries?

Barrie

* The writer blogs at http://wherebearsroamfree.blogspot.com

<cite class="fn">Mainstreet Citizens:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 1:06 pm
Mainstreet
Citizens(Quote)

Just not long ago, there was a hefty increase in medishield premiums and soon
another round of increase? Why?
Is the ruling party solutions to all matters
“Pay and Pay”?
Where did all the taxes go to?
Where did all the revenue
from F1, casino levies , Singapore Pools, G.S.T. , E.R.P. , C.O.E. and GLCs
Investments go to?

This Government will not stop here. They rammed through the CPF Life scheme not long ago. Now this stupid Medishield Life. They will not stop here. Their record speaks for itself. We better put our foot down and stop this nonsense of robbing all the CPF monies from us. Like I mention in the other thread, I bet you next thing they come up with will be some "Special Account Life" type of scheme to get more money. Then, if still not enough, tax your savings in the bank like what they do in Cyprus. Mark my word.

Some have told me that it is a good policy,,,as more will benefit and if u are poor and cant pay the premiums,,the gahmen will waiver the premiums...true or not i dont know...but one thing confirm is pap is rolling out the goodies for 2016,,,and as such will try and appease the populace,,later on pap will turn off the taps and squeeze the people again.

I really hope the people dont fall for the pap ruse again...i mean take all the goodies but make the pappies pay for the shit they have put the people through...if the pappies did their job,,this would not have to rectify the problem with their half baked policies now,,,

"it may cost you a bit more" means $8 like his predecessor??

Some have told me that it is a good policy,,,as more will benefit and if u are poor and cant pay the premiums,,the gahmen will waiver the premiums...

The best part will be, those over a certain age , may have to use their entire medisave contribution to buy something like a medical annuity, if there is ever one; where the disbursement of the money will be limited by terms & conditions to guarantee a lifelong coverage at an AFFORDABLE price. WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Anything that cometh from the PAP, what do you think, what do you expect...we all sure will still be on the loosing end!...remember 'there is no free lunch', it will still be AFFORDABLE but can you afford it? WHAT DO YOU THINK?

tat why i say its a ruse,,,pap will give today and take back with interest the next day

The best part will be, those over a certain age , may have to use their entire medisave contribution to buy something like a medical annuity, if there is ever one; where the disbursement of the money will be limited by terms & conditions to guarantee a lifelong coverage at an AFFORDABLE price. WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Anything that cometh from the PAP, what do you think, what do you expect...we all sure will still be on the loosing end!...remember 'there is no free lunch', it will still be AFFORDABLE but can you afford it? WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Some have told me that it is a good policy,,,as more will benefit and if u are poor and cant pay the premiums,,the gahmen will waiver the premiums...true or not i dont know...but one thing confirm is pap is rolling out the goodies for 2016,,,and as such will try and appease the populace,,later on pap will turn off the taps and squeeze the people again.

I really hope the people dont fall for the pap ruse again...i mean take all the goodies but make the pappies pay for the shit they have put the people through...if the pappies did their job,,this would not have to rectify the problem with their half baked policies now,,,

U guys really shooting at the wrong targets and u will be made to look like fools later. When the gahment says it will be affordable....it will be ...otherwise it will be eggs on their faces!! Dont u guys know how this gahment operates by now!! They will make charges affordable for stuff that hits the lower middle class and poor....but the sky the limit for those in the upper middle class upwards...eg ERP charges, COE ..etc.
What Pinky has said in NDR is good...even the WP says so...and it really is....and they should have done this years ago. But what is NOT good is their other policies that has raised costs for the middle and rich. Maybe the super rich dont feel it but those below are getting closer to the flames and getting burnt!!
So adjust your target accordingly!!

tat why i say its a ruse,,,pap will give today and take back with interest the next day

They only mention that the your medical premium for the Medishield Life is AFFORDABLE, but they did not mention that, medical fees & charges will be guaranteed to be AFFORDABLE!. In other words, can you afford the fees?? what do you think??

But they will be quick to tell you, they have all sorts of schemes & medifund to help you poor people...but, you be no better off that "Oliver!, asking for that extra bowl pf gruel"... It boils down to...one have to save for rainy days like these....do not depend on all these AFFORDABLE promises, why do think the older generation is so stingy with their money?? always saying they have to save, when they are old, they going to need that for their medical bills.

Aiyo. Insurance scam is very simple. Make it affordable now, after claims pass the increase in premiums to the next guy, your children. They win and win.

fuck, still Pay And Pay,

extending the period to be able to squeeze your blood till you die.

ultimately, indirectly to enrich themselves

This Government will not stop here. They rammed through the CPF Life scheme not long ago. Now this stupid Medishield Life. They will not stop here. Their record speaks for itself. We better put our foot down and stop this nonsense of robbing all the CPF monies from us. Like I mention in the other thread, I bet you next thing they come up with will be some "Special Account Life" type of scheme to get more money. Then, if still not enough, tax your savings in the bank like what they do in Cyprus. Mark my word.

You forgot to add one more very important point.

Take all your hard earned money to invest and pay you 2.5% interest while they use your money to make more than 10% out of it!

And where does this money made goes to?

Return to you?

Nah! LOL

Aiyo. Insurance scam is very simple. Make it affordable now, after claims pass the increase in premiums to the next guy, your children. They win and win.

I'm pretty sure this is what will happen down the road....suck dry everyone's medisave.
So they use to say CPF when you die at least your next of kin can see....
Now is you die also your children won't get their hands on any leftovers.

I'm pretty sure this is what will happen down the road....suck dry everyone's medisave.

Agree.

They will inflate the minimum sum of Medisave year by year. The Ordinary account and Supplementary portions will be milked dry after transferred to the Medisave !:mad:

Knn limpeh lucky runroad fast fast

they want your cpf, your money...of course they shall say it's affordable in unison. if we want their money, they would say WAIT LONG LONG , it's too expensive.

http://refocusing.blogspot.sg/2013/08/medishield-life-painting-roses-without.html

Worth a serious read.