yesterday (19 Aug) for stealing a gold chain and pendant from a 4-year-old
boy.

The incident happened in March this year about 5.30pm at an HDB block in
Lower Delta Road.

The boy was then playing with his cousin, also 4. They were using the lift to
go up and down the block.

On the 10th floor, Mdm Loi entered the lift and saw the 2 kids inside. She
noticed the victim’s gold chain and lifted it over his head. She got out of the
lift on the 7th floor and took another lift to the ground floor.

The gold chain and pendant were worth $2,800. She later sold the chain and
pendant to a jewellery shop for $1,240.

When the boy’s mother noticed that the gold chain and pendant were missing,
she called the police.

The police used the CCTV in the lift to identify and arrest Mdm Loi. Both the
chain and money were recovered by the police.

In court, Mdm Loi pleaded guilty to her crime. In mitigation, the defence
stressed that Mdm Loi did not plan the theft. Her lawyer argued that a fine was
appropriate as the offence was “not premeditated” and his client did not harm or
threaten the boy.

Counsel said that Mdm Loi was plagued by health problems and committed the
crime due to financial difficulties.

Mdm Loi lives in a 2-room rented flat with her odd-job worker husband.

The judge took into account her mitigation and imposed a fine. She could have
been jailed for up to three years, fined up to $10,000 or both.

The judge allowed her to pay the $6,000 fine in instalments.

<cite class="fn">xlandjy:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 9:09 am
xlandjy(Quote)

Cleaner fined $6,000… Ex MP Chan Soo Sen was fined $2,000 for drink
driving…

Seems that the action of the cleaner is 3 times more serious than a drunk ex
MP driving his car dangerously …..

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+93 (from 97 votes)

<cite class="fn">Julie Ong:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 9:17 am
Julie
Ong(Quote)

Without going into the details I’d just accept that MDM Loi has been
appropriately punished. However, her personal situation will be made worse
because of this $6,000 fine. Hopefully, she’ll be able to pull through and make
good for her crime. On a broader matter the government should look into the
plight of our low income citizens who oftentimes struggle to make ends meet
financially.

What is this first world country that has so many poor citizens living in
it??

The first step is to look into a viable and fair Minimum Wage. It can be done
if there is the WILL to do it.

No point in the government talking so much about their plans and concerns for
the people. They must DO something about it. It is really a shame if in this
first world country of ours we have so many working poor citizens amongst us –
all at the same time when we have massive reserves!

Quite frankly the latter, I believe, is a cruel CON.

<cite class="fn">fadingsingaporean:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 9:38 am
fadingsingaporean(Quote)

This is the swiss standard that our gahmen has promised to give us!

If this poor aunty cleaner could withdraw her CPF money, she probably would
not end up in such a plight! I think her MP dun even bother to look up her…

Lower Delta n Bukit Ho Swee have many poor elderly ah pehs n ah mahs. I m in
the same neighbourhood. Wat is the MP doing? Seen them around? Busy dining at
DTF….

Is our CPF money really safe with this gahmen? GIC n TH have been known to
suffer numerous setbacks venturing overseas. Most of us die before being able to
see our so-called CPF money. Seems like now our gahmen believe we Singaporeans
can live beyond 90. CPF money to us is becoming like a “神话”- 遥不可及.

Before I die, I will vote against this gahmen! Hopefully one day in 2016, the
truth abt our CPF monies, GIC n TH can be revealed. I dun want to be buried six
foot under 被当猪仔卖了还傻傻地帮他数钱,实在死不明目.

<cite class="fn">ru kidding:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 9:46 am
ru
kidding(Quote)

This Island is falling apart after 50 yrs !

All due to “greed” , endorsed by 60% “self servers”.

Good luck to all the 40% , especially when the LEEder himself is just as
“greedy” and only yearns for “praises” and fails to “do the duty of an actual
Leader” , like….”regulating” and maintaining a “balance” for all .

Ya, sure it is a difficult task to “maintain the balance”….otherwise why
would you dare ask for Million $$$ Salary ?

So are you …. “just as selfish and greedy” ?

Rating:
+37 (from 37 votes)

<cite class="fn">No Shit:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 10:47 am
No
Shit(Quote)

Rotten PAPayas: This is sickening to read!

There is no compassion for the poor and sick who are driven to
desperation.

The rich get away with peanut fines while part-time cleaner Mdm Loi has to
serve her remaining working years paying up the $6000!
I agree. This is scandalous.

It is like pouring hot oil on a wound. The lady was poor, that is why she was
tempted to steal, and now the situation is made worse by imposing a $6,000 fine
that will take her years to pay off. Such a cruel sentence!

And to top it off, ex-PAP MP Chan Soo Sen was only fined $2,000 for drink
driving and Woffles Wu was only fined a total of $1,000 for 2 offences.

What justice is this? Seems like it pays to be rich and connected in
Singapore.

If the lady has $6k to pay the fine, then she won't need to steal. Is the judge dumb?

4-year old wears gold chain? his parents need to be culled. :rolleyes:

i think a 4 yr old should not be running around unsupervised. He's not really that old and yes he can run but he's too weak to defend himself and also wearing such jewellery on a child. He might remove it or play around with it or lose it.

Why isn't this piece of shit old witch given maximum punishment stealing from such a young child.

these low life scums, are the same people who the opposition would shower with social welfare, so they dun have to work, and maybe more time to steal more from hardworking people of singapore. these people are the target of opposition vote buying.
vote opposition at your peril.

<cite class="fn">Julie Ong:</cite>

August
20, 2013 at 9:17 am
Julie
Ong(Quote)

Without going into the details I’d just accept that MDM Loi has been
appropriately punished. However, her personal situation will be made worse
because of this $6,000 fine. Hopefully, she’ll be able to pull through and make
good for her crime. On a broader matter the government should look into the
plight of our low income citizens who oftentimes struggle to make ends meet
financially.

What is this first world country that has so many poor citizens living in
it??

The first step is to look into a viable and fair Minimum Wage. It can be done
if there is the WILL to do it.

No point in the government talking so much about their plans and concerns for
the people. They must DO something about it. It is really a shame if in this
first world country of ours we have so many working poor citizens amongst us –
all at the same time when we have massive reserves!

Quite frankly the latter, I believe, is a cruel CON.

All i noe that 'Willing Heart' distribute 3000 pkt of cook food rice to the poor
daily, most of these poor folks usually only have 1 meal a day, some even eat
half of it and save the half for dinner. 3000 tats 1 per cent of our Sinkies, i tink
they choose to be Poor.

All i noe that 'Willing Heart' distribute 3000 pkt of cook food rice to the poor
daily, most of these poor folks usually only have 1 meal a day, some even eat
half of it and save the half for dinner. 3000 tats 1 per cent of our Sinkies, i tink
they choose to be Poor.

1% of ppl want to be poor by choice?

What kind of crap statement is that?

Before I go further to even explain why your mental sense is total crap, I would strongly urge you to go have yourself mentally exmained thoroughly!

these low life scums, are the same people who the opposition would shower with social welfare, so they dun have to work, and maybe more time to steal more from hardworking people of singapore. these people are the target of opposition vote buying.
vote opposition at your peril.

You ought to push your master to gas them to death. That way, you could save on the miserly social welfare ( $250 a month) which in any case is given out to a select few to showcase the 'kindness' of the PAP.

Excuse for theft : Financial difficulties.

Excuse for murder : Hot temper

Excuse for rape : I was horny - she was asking for it.

What kind of stupid fcuking sinkie parents puts $2,800 worth of jewelry on a 4 year old kid and lets him run around???

You ought to push your master to gas them to death. That way, you could save on the miserly social welfare ( $250 a month) which in any case is given out to a select few to showcase the 'kindness' of the PAP.

i am not with pap, i am an impartial citizen, who occasionally bring out the truth of so call opposition of singapore statements and threads.
Your pal in the opposition, justify thief by so call financial difficulties. What an insult to poor people all over the world, people who work hard for money all their life.

4-year old wears gold chain? his parents need to be culled. :rolleyes:

I have seen very young children wearing those gold chain, I share your sentiments, I am shock !! They have increased the salaries of the cleaners, that should solve the problem...sic!