• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If MediShield changes cover those with pre-existing conditions, I WILL SUPPORT IT...

TopSage

Even though I have no pre-conditions and in good health. I'm even willing to pay more.
It is not right that we leave out people with pre-existing conditions and leave out the oldest among us (above 90).

Even though the govt is not funding it through other means which I prefer from a social equity standpoint- e.g. cut in defense spending, 1% rise in corporate taxes.
I will still suport it even though it puts a heavier burden on middle class and ordinary Singaporeans including myself...however, treating
the sick take precedence, even though I would have preferred alternative means of funding this coverage.

My strong belief is that we must think of others more and stop being selfish as a society as a whole we willi be better.

Although it would be better from a social equity standpoint to fund this through tax increase on rich, cuts in defense spending or via corporate tax, I'm willing to COMPROMISE so that we can move forward on these changes and give something to our old and sick.

I would applaud PM Lee for doing something for these people ...although his solution is not perfect.

I call upon others to support this move ...as a show of support for change and demonstrate we support change for the benefit of society as a whole even though it does not benefit ourselves. ...we are not selfish.

MediShield coverage will no longer stop at 90 and will be expanded to include even those with pre-existing illnesses, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Sunday as he announced a major revamp of Government insurance scheme.

In addition to the increased coverage, benefits will be increased so patients will pay less out-of-pocket.

However, there will no choice to opt-out under the scheme to be named MediShield Life and premiums will likely be higher.

But PM Lee said that those who cannot afford to pay for the higher premiums do not have to worry as the Government will step in to help.

He specifically singled out a group he called Singapore's pioneer generation, whom he said had worked hard to build today's Singapore. For them, the Government will create a Pioneer Generation Package to help pay for their MediShield Life premiums.

These people, in their late 60s and above, and now mostly retired, said Mr Lee, had " paved the way for us to live better lives than themselves", and "lived with fewer safety nets".

"We must take care of our pioneer generation in their golden years," he said.

The Ministry of Health will be conducting a public consultation exercise before deciding on the details of the scheme.

With affordable outpatient care a key health care concern here, said Mr Lee, the Government will also be tweaking its Community Health Assist Scheme to open it up to younger Singaporeans.

The scheme, which subsidises lower to middle-income patients for treatment at private general practitioners and dentists, currently has an age-floor of 40 years old.

The Government will also increase subsidies for those with more serious conditions who need to visit Specialist Outpatient Clinics. Means-testing will be used to determine who can qualify.

Re: If MediShield changes cover those with pre-existing conditions, I WILL SUPPORT IT

you are a sinkie moron..

Re: If MediShield changes cover those with pre-existing conditions, I WILL SUPPORT IT

it's clear now that the gahmen is not here to help the citizens but rather here to fleece them further.

pinky had already made it very clear. expenses are going to raise. taxes would have to be increased. so it's LP into a bigger PL syndrome.

2016, remember to vote them out.

Even though I have no pre-conditions and in good health. I'm even willing to pay more.
It is not right that we leave out people with pre-existing conditions and leave out the oldest among us (above 90).

Even though the govt is not funding it through other means which I prefer from a social equity standpoint- e.g. cut in defense spending, 1% rise in corporate taxes.

Those who have pre-existing conditions will still be included, but they will have to pay a higher premiums simply because they suffer greater risks of contacting major illnesses. This is nothing unusal.It is universally accepted. If you do not wish to pay the higher premiiums, then you have the right to termiante your insurance and hope for the best.

Only sinkie morons will allow the govt to tell them to use insurance to take care of their health issue.

Ur tax pay for what..your gst pay for what.. these money should be used to subsidies ur health cost.

What a 3rd world govt governing a whole population of sinkie fucktards.

Lets not be hasty in condemning LHL outright. Wait for details. With GE going to be held in 2 years, I am sure LHL and team would do their calculations right. LHL should be aware of the unhappiness on the ground over various issues such as cost of living, foreigner influx, no questions asked scholarship scheme to foreign students, etc, which he deliberately did not touch on in the NDR. So over the next 2 years he would have to work on these unpopular issues to make them palatable to citizens. If he screws up the Medishield thing, it would definitely work against him. He can foresee that.

right from the start of using insurance to cover your cost via national policy is wrong.

Taxes should be use for that.

oh my god, you bunch of sinkie shit really didnt see the world much and does not know about living a life in a truly first world country.

to have a life under a considerate govt, you should not be worrying about your health cost at all.

insurance should be a personal choice and not through national policy... what a sinkie joke and i bet sinkie are too stupid to even understand anything.. just bend down and get screwed.

right from the start of using insurance to cover your cost via national policy is wrong.

Taxes should be use for that.

oh my god, you bunch of sinkie shit really didnt see the world much and does not know about living a life in a truly first world country.

to have a life under a considerate govt, you should not be worrying about your health cost at all.

insurance should be a personal choice and not through national policy... what a sinkie joke and i bet sinkie are too stupid to even understand anything.. just bend down and get screwed.

At least he is willing to fix a broken system. Better than not fixing.

he should not be a PM at all...how can you live in a country that is run by such a moron... i pity you sinkies... not just ball-less but fucking stupid as well.

He can just announced that all health medical fees will be fully subsidies in 5 years time or watever but he got no fucking balls to do so and every year huge surpluses are reported.

so you can tell he run the country is for himself or for the masses... it is so fucking obvious that he is 100% self-serving.

Those who have pre-existing conditions will still be included, but they will have to pay a higher premiums simply because they suffer greater risks of contacting major illnesses. This is nothing unusal.It is universally accepted. If you do not wish to pay the higher premiiums, then you have the right to termiante your insurance and hope for the best.

Can terminate ah? I thought Pinky says cannot?

Poor Malaysian Topsage try to weaken Singapore defense and chase away foreign investor by reducing the defense budget n increase company tax.

How could the most expensive government come out with a half-baked system? The fix forces sinkees to pay more.

Obama's health care law seeks to bring down cost for people while ours seek to raise cost ...isn't sinkapore heavenly?

Poor Malaysian Topsage try to weaken Singapore defense and chase away foreign investor by reducing the defense budget n increase company tax.

Aiyah ...this is not a Malaysian vs sinkee thing lah. It is us versus the foreigners (Ah Nehs, Ah Tiongs and Pinoys) and the PAP.

The system is beyond fixing liao....
And we have been patient and given them enough time already....
Seems like they can't be bothered....they have to go.

I will still suport it even though it puts a heavier burden on middle class and ordinary Singaporeans including myself...however, treating
the sick take precedence, even though I would have preferred alternative means of funding this coverage.

My strong belief is that we must think of others more and stop being selfish as a society as a whole we willi be better.

Although it would be better from a social equity standpoint to fund this through tax increase on rich, cuts in defense spending or via corporate tax, I'm willing to COMPROMISE so that we can move forward on these changes and give something to our old and sick.

I would applaud PM Lee for doing something for these people ...although his solution is not perfect.

I call upon others to support this move ...as a show of support for change and demonstrate we support change for the benefit of society as a whole even though it does not benefit ourselves. ...we are not selfish.

I totally complete agree with you!

This is a good move on the medical front.

I call upon all to put aside their partisan differences and support PM LEE's initiative on the medical front.

He had a very good record in screwing up...Recession in 1984, CLOB..& each time he open his mouth he is like a JONAH!!.

The Medishield Life thing is rather vague...how about those current who already have their medishield which now is with the private insurer, other than CPF, will they have to switch to a new one called Medishield Life? or pay for an additional premium for MEDISHIELD LIFE??

Or the current Medishield will be change to Medishiled Life? Medishield had just recently increased their premiums!!...even with the $200 the premium is not enough to cover...

I totally complete agree with you!

This is a good move on the medical front.

I call upon all to put aside their partisan differences and support PM LEE's initiative on the medical front.

While supportable, he did not say how much more those with pre-existing conditions have to pay to get it covered.
By right, ideally there should be no additional premium for those with pre-existing so long as everyone is enrolled. Like in countries when healthcare
is truly universal ...everyone just get treated and is enrolled the moment they are born.

It is meaningless and again filled with cracks if we examine each condition and decide on premium, again who fell through the cracks will again
fall through the cracks. Back to square one....everyman for himself system all over again!

While supportable, he did not say how much more those with pre-existing conditions have to pay to get it covered.
By right, ideally there should be no additional premium for those with pre-existing so long as everyone is enrolled. Like in countries when healthcare
is truly universal ...everyone just get treated and is enrolled the moment they are born.

It is meaningless and again filled with cracks if we examine each condition and decide on premium, again who fell through the cracks will again
fall through the cracks. Back to square one....everyman for himself system all over again!

Have you had anyone who had been hospitalized of late for those categorize under "pre-existing conditions"?? Every medical personnel that come to see the patient, it is billed, from the nutritionist, the therapists ( many categor), occupational, daily living, mental, then you have the internal medicine people, the dietician, the podatrist...the 'gourd knows what'...they think you might have, about to get..& should be getting for your age!.

Then you visit the pharmacy...you see people carrying plastic bags of medicine...like going to a 'supermarket' for 'groceries'...

This gives you an indication...it is money making...it is still affordable...but do you really need all that 'ATTENTION'??

Have you had anyone who had been hospitalized of late for those categorize under "pre-existing conditions"?? Every medical personnel that come to see the patient, it is billed, from the nutritionist, the therapists ( many categor), occupational, daily living, mental, then you have the internal medicine people, the dietician, the podatrist...the 'gourd knows what'...they think you might have, about to get..& should be getting for your age!.

Then you visit the pharmacy...you see people carrying plastic bags of medicine...like going to a 'supermarket' for 'groceries'...

This gives you an indication...it is money making...it is still affordable...but do you really need all that 'ATTENTION'??

I agree with you. Nothing is free once you are admitted.Every item and every consultation is chargeable.

BUT, you can choose NOT to have them. You can choose Not to have the Nutritionist to see you....the other specialists, the occupational therapist, the host of other ancillary people who will charge you per visit and per consult. You can also choose NOT to have 100 panadols and you can tell the pharmacist what is necessary and what is not necessary. You have a choice. If your elderly parents are ignorant,you can tell the doctors and you can also tell the pharmacist.

You can even refuse surgical or medical interventions. You still have a choice. If you do not want a gastroscopy, tell the doctor you want to be discharged. Just sign a form and go home and see your GP.

But, the most important thing is you must know what is going on. You must equip yourself with the knowledge. You must feel confident when you sign the AOR, you will be better at home.

Many people just follow blindly and demand blindly.In the end, their medical bill cost a bomb.And they kpkb. Know yourself and know your needs. This will help you to cut down cost. Thank you.