Fighting was an important part of underground culture in Singapore Boys' Home

Extremist

01b7a1c2.jpg

Two former residents at the Singapore Boys’ Home say their experience there convinced them to stay on the right side of the law.

They say they didn’t like the regimented life inside the home and the underground culture in which fighting played an integral part.

One former resident says: "There was also an underground culture, where we had to show 'respect' to the senior boys... Fighting was an important part of this culture."

The Ministry of Social and Family Development, which runs the home, has recently stepped up efforts to better ensure overall security and safety for its residents, among other measures.

-Mai k k la,me A home boy for 2 and the half years but no fighting at all :D

Better not have your kids in there. They come out even more jialak!

So what is the daily activities inside the Home? Can elaborate?

Bro first 3 months cut grass not using machine,work shop,cookie doing workshop...simple job.last 6 months work outside factory but report home by 8pm.nothing much to do but smoke and play inside:DCompare to RTC there will be much difference,rtc doing drills,kena takan now and than.phew it was hell:D

Usually after RTC will promote to normal imprisonment serving Long sentence then Corrective Training then Preventive Training and grow old in Changi chalet

Wah through train, government so nice plan for these people.

Better not have your kids in there. They come out even more jialak!

It's like gangster junior college.....
RTC is like gangster uni.....
Go thru both come out can graduate liao.
Heard RTC like DRC no more liao....failure program....did more harm than good.
Now they throw all the YP with general population.

A lot of kids raised by single mothers become feral, and eventually turn into future criminals and thugs.

These ah bengs/pai kias tend to be very good at pool/billiard and bowling. ;)

Usually after come out many of them will promote to RTC

My friend wanted to send his daughter to a girls' home many years ago. Could not control her. I adviced him best not to. Don't go in still stand a chance of 'rehab' by whatever means. Go in means one thing - sure gone case! They will learn many types of new 'skills' and will likely come together as a group when they leave the girls' home. Even more headaches later.

It's like gangster junior college.....
RTC is like gangster uni.....
Go thru both come out can graduate liao.
Heard RTC like DRC no more liao....failure program....did more harm than good.
Now they throw all the YP with general population.

Yes, I heard the same. YP now also Changi.

I think RTC is still arounf but most 'potential residents' prefer Changi. RTC no one-third discount and yet, longer stint.

-Mai k k la,me A home boy for 2 and the half years but no fighting at all :D

lianbeng replies hokkien: eh, bro, u know what's life in SAF Detention Barracks or not? :D i was there before leh!