8 SAF Overseas Scholar = $800 million of taxpayer's money

Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen awarded the Singapore Armed Forces Overseas Scholarship (SAFOS) to eight recipients in a ceremony held at the Istana this evening. The eight SAFOS recipients are Officer Cadet (OCT) Lee Whee San Dylan, OCT Li Yiming, OCT Lim Yu Han, OCT Jonathan Loh You Qing, and OCT Jeremy Ong Jun Kai from the Army as well as OCT Foo Sze Wei, OCT Marcus Lee Jian Ying and OCT Maung Thet Naing Win from the Air Force.

800 millions???

Boy, your mother ask you to pay attention in primary school math class, you dun listen. Look what happen now.

Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen awarded the Singapore Armed Forces Overseas Scholarship (SAFOS) to eight recipients in a ceremony held at the Istana this evening. The eight SAFOS recipients are Officer Cadet (OCT) Lee Whee San Dylan, OCT Li Yiming, OCT Lim Yu Han, OCT Jonathan Loh You Qing, and OCT Jeremy Ong Jun Kai from the Army as well as OCT Foo Sze Wei, OCT Marcus Lee Jian Ying and OCT Maung Thet Naing Win from the Air Force.

hello give scholarship to a Myanmar student

He is an OCT. Probably a Singapore Citizen and I respect foreigners who is willing to go through it all. This type I am willing to accept

we cant even respect our fellow citizens who all serve NS, so don't talk about respecting foreigners.

8 SAF Overseas Scholar = $800 million of taxpayer's money

oh..stupid sinkie, your ass pain or not... pay CPF until the money is used for such shit.

Our future PM & MINISTARS....please take note, these will come back & haunt you, one will fly one of our jets to Myanmar...ha ha ha One will continue the tradition of dressing up like _________ sing off key & nick tooth picks, maybe toilet rolls from 'sponsored' eatery, will have INTEGRITY, good moral compass, eat humbl epie & not be elite...life comes in cycle...& good at FIXING things & keep a look out for dirty, unwashed food centres too, never mind the haze or the mosquitoes.:rolleyes:

What bullshit. He'll be promoted to CPT easily after 4 years doing nothing,

800 millions???

Boy, your mother ask you to pay attention in primary school math class, you dun listen. Look what happen now.

He just don't want to realise that people don't buy his 'pluck-from-the-sky-numbers', so he keeps spamming the forum with it hoping that they magically become real at some point.

Go find the thread and see how I arrived at the number ...I broke it down to details from university to pension. If you didn't bother to comment then, you don't have a right to shoot it down.

My figure is a low-ball in case you are not aware ...some forummers who know more have pointed out that there are retired scholars enjoying $1 million pension, whereas I assigned $500k a year as pension.

So, before you shoot, please do some research before embarrassing yourself.

800 millions???

$100 million a scholar - yes, that's a guesstimate. I did this calculation a while back - go find it - with how I arrived at the figure of $68 million. The $100 million is probably closer to reality as I was made aware that some scholars have retired with million dollar pension. Furthermore, many of these 'retired' scholars continue to sit on GLC boards or serve as advisers ....that's more money in their pocket.

It is not rocket science you know. If the government doesn't want to provide the info, then it is up to us to figure it out.

Help yourself, don't shoot before you read or ask.

Do me a favour, put me on your 'ignore list' as you are a pain-in-the-butt. You are totally incapable of contributing to a vigourous discussion. Your posts are one-liners with no substance and just hurling insults. How does that make you any different from those spammers?

Go find the thread and see how I arrived at the number ...I broke it down to details from university to pension. If you didn't bother to comment then, you don't have a right to shoot it down.

My figure is a low-ball in case you are not aware ...some forummers who know more have pointed out that there are retired scholars enjoying $1 million pension, whereas I assigned $500k a year as pension.

So, before you shoot, please do some research before embarrassing yourself.

As i have said before, your figures are plucked from the sky. As long as you don't give a credible source your numbers are hogwash. It is your case, hence your responsibility to do proper research.

If the info is not made available by the government, what can one do? So, don't use that bs excuse to reject my numbers.

There are sufficient info out there to make a reasonable guesstimate. If you need to be told what is black and what is white and can't figure out gray, then you are dumber than I had thought.

Are you so dumb to not know that scholars start to make $1 million when they are in their thirties?

HAHAHAHA you're a real joker. you expect us to source for data that is restricted by the government. bloody idiot. Winni's estimate numbers are all highly reasonable and no one can refute as the data is not public information.

your agenda is blindingly obvious.