• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

South Buona Vista Road duck rice returns at Sam Leong Road

WithoutYou

South Buona Vista Road duck rice returns

Eunice Quek | The Straits Times | Thu Aug 1 2013

26158.jpg

South Buona Vista Road duck rice returns The founder's brother-in-law, who had worked with him for 28 years, reopens business in Sam Leong Road at cheaper prices.

Singapore, August 1, 2013

The famous boneless braised duck from Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice Eating House in South Buona Vista Road is back, and is now located in Sam Leong Road in Little India.

South Buona Vista Road Famous Teochew Boneless Duck Rice opened two weeks ago at Kim San Leng Eating House, a five-minute walk from Farrer Park MRT station.

It is run by Mr Ang Chiap Teck, the brother- in-law of Lim Seng Lee's founder, Mr Lim Ah Too. He had worked at the South Buona Vista Road shop for 28 years, until Mr Lim decided to close it last month due to ill health.

Two former staff are helping Mr Ang.

The duck rice, with its distinctive herbal gravy flavoured with cinnamon, used to attract diners from across the island. They would drive to the coffee shop for the tender boneless duck meat, fragrant brown rice and spicy chilli.

Unfortunately, Mr Lim's four children did not want to take over the business.

He is said to have given his blessing to Mr Ang to revive the 45-year-old business.

Mr Ang, 54, says in Mandarin: "I spoke with him before I decided to start the business again. There is no change to the recipe. He has come to try the food too.

"My children didn't want me to start again, but I wanted to continue the tradition for as long as possible, until I have to retire. What we do every- day is a skill, it would be a pity to have it die off so quickly."

Prices for the duck rice (with either white or brown rice) start at $3.50, which is 50 cents cheaper than when it was at Lim Seng Lee.

Mr Ang says: "We are catering to workers in the area. Also, my rent is cheaper and I have fewer staff on the payroll."

The stall also serves the same signature sambal dishes including squid (from $6), prawn (from $8), kangkong and tofu (from $4 each).

Out of respect for the elderly Mr Lim, Mr Ang decided not to use the Lim Seng Lee name at his stall. Mr Ang says: "He retired with glory, so the name should retire with him. Anyway, when people see the signboard saying South Buona Vista Road duck rice, they will know it's us. Regulars will know it's me."

Since Lim Seng Lee's closure, Mr Ang has been approached by various restaurants and investors looking to rope him into their ventures. But he has turned down every offer.

He says: "I prefer running my own stall. There's more freedom."

Business was fairly slow when Life! visited the stall on Monday, with diners - many of them regulars - trickling in from noon.

Mr Ang sells about 20 ducks a day, about a third of what Lim Seng Lee used to sell each day.

Car mechanic Tan Cheng Tee, 59, who visits the area for work, says in Mandarin: "I used to go to Lim Seng Lee occasionally for duck rice. The duck rice here tastes pretty much the same. I like the duck meat as it is very tender."

Contractor Fong Chee Moon, 41, who was tucking into duck rice and sambal kangkong with his wife yesterday, has been a fan since its heyday in South Buona Vista Road.

He says in Mandarin: "I used to order duck rice in advance, so I've always kept in contact with the owner. When I knew they opened in Sam Leong Road, I had to come. In the last two weeks, I have already eaten here three times.

"The taste hasn't changed and it's cheaper here too."

[email protected]

South Buona Vista Road Famous Teochew Boneless Duck Rice is located at Kim San Leng Eating House, 16 Sam Leong Road. It opens from 9am to 7.30pm daily.

I tried this once or twice at the South Buona Vista stall. I could never figure out what the fuss was all about. It was simply OK; nothing fantastic.

My favorite is this stall and the one in geylang lor 35.
Hard to find good braised duck rice nowadays....

My favourite is the one at Sin Ming which comes with kiam chye ark thng.

Never really liked the sticky sauce type of braised duck.....

I am more traditional so i like the one whpith the fragrant dark watery sauce type of teochew duck....my favourite stall at the back of Circular Road at boat quay has moved to dunnowhere.......

Any CSI bros here can help with an update n the store's whereabouts please?????

Never really liked the sticky sauce type of braised duck.....

I am more traditional so i like the one whpith the fragrant dark watery sauce type of teochew duck....my favourite stall at the back of Circular Road at boat quay has moved to dunnowhere.......

Any CSI bros here can help with an update n the store's whereabouts please?????
The sticky type is because they never change the gravy for years....decades even!

Eat meat ? You guys kidding me ?

Eat lots of greens and drink lots of soursop juice :D

Sori, I can't help it :)

Blk 22, Sin Ming Rd. Must order their Salty Vege Duck Soup too. My favorite duck rice joint before i turned Vegan. :(

My favourite is the one at Sin Ming which comes with kiam chye ark thng.

the corner coffeeshop? taste not bad, but must self service so i already sianz half. i hate self service and the Q at 10am average 3-5 person liao and meal time even worse. i only order if happen to have 1-2 person in the Q. normally i go the next coffeeshop for herbal soup while i wait for the car to be service at the workshop.

the east coast park food centre duck rice also no bad, somemore come with oink oink ear too.:D

My favorite is this stall and the one in geylang lor 35. Hard to find good braised duck rice nowadays....
Is that 1 at corner? Comes with yam rice (if you choose). Been around for decades, with old man now with full head white hair liao (awhile back), and son taking over. My KL bud was impressed, keeps harping on it

the corner coffeeshop? taste not bad, but must self service so i already sianz half. i hate self service and the Q at 10am average 3-5 person liao and meal time even worse. i only order if happen to have 1-2 person in the Q. normally i go the next coffeeshop for herbal soup while i wait for the car to be service at the workshop.

the east coast park food centre duck rice also no bad, somemore come with oink oink ear too.:D

Didn't saw GD postings. You can avoid the queue by going earlier. 10am boh si mi queue yet lah.
1130am onwards, can forget about it lah. I also not much patience kind of people.
I like the rice from the herbal soup. Powerful herbal soup too. Nice. :)

Didn't saw GD postings. You can avoid the queue by going earlier. 10am boh si mi queue yet lah.
1130am onwards, can forget about it lah. I also not much patience kind of people.

this one see heng sway one lah. sometime can have auntie buy 20+ packets at one go or buy one whole duck so must wait for the towkay to chop and pack. 2-3 person in the Q does not mean no need to wait.

I used to makan there regularly in the past. Nowadays, I ta pau by calling them early. If you need to ta pau, call them first - 64543810. Eating there with friends can be quite unhygenic. The soup comes in a big bowl and unless you ask for smaller ones, everyone on the table is supposed to share the same bowl of soup.

Owner told me he sent his kids for overseas education in the past and the duck business provided for everything.

Is that 1 at corner? Comes with yam rice (if you choose). Been around for decades, with old man now with full head white hair liao (awhile back), and son taking over. My KL bud was impressed, keeps harping on it

Same coffeeshop as the turtle soup.
Yam rice should be standard.
Someone mentioned this stall related to the Buona vista one.