Did the MDA CEO pay cash $10 million or take bank loan to buy her Coral condo?

Please lah!!! Their performance has been crapped. We all can see that. Our MRT is so far behind HK MTR and ours is newer!! COE is shooting through the roof! U want to pay $70k for a piece of paper!! Dengue is out of control whilst NEA is busy fighting with WP. HDB is playing catchup after poor planning matching demand and supply. Income inequality has widened. All in all our lives has worsen over the last 5 years whilst those in the top 1% has gotten richer. And they brought in all these FTs to crowd us out.

How on earth did you come up with such ridiculous conclusions.

The HK MTR breaks down from time to time too.

The high COEs prove that the system is doing a good job of discouraging car ownership and together with the ERP system, keeps congestion to a minimum.

Dengue isn't the government's fault. It's part and parcel of living in a tropical environment. If it wasn't for the good job done by the NEA, it would be far worse.

The demand for HDB apartments is because it is high quality housing at a very reasonable price. The government could easily match supply and demand by increasing prices but being a responsible government, it is holding prices and building more. Rome was not built in a day and neither are HDB flats. Singaporeans are just too impatient and want everything immediately.

Income inequality is a good thing as it shows that there are great opportunities out there to get rich. All it needs is a bit of innovation and a lot of hard work. Don't expect to get rich if all you do is sit on your fat backside and complain the whole day.

The problem with all you guys is that you don't realise just how much talent these highly paid people have.

I guess you'll all have to find out the hard way one day when they decide to take their skills somewhere else and Singapore will end up in a downward spiral from which there is no return.

ha ha ha ha
HA HA HA HA HO HO HO
ROTFLMFAO

Your sense of humour can be so fucking wicked and funny from time to time.

Singaporeans won't be laughing when the HDB apartment they thought was worth $800,000 becomes almost worthless because the country has gone to the dogs without the capable leadership of the PAP.

The problem with all you guys is that you don't realise just how much talent these highly paid people have.

Yes, this is true, I have no clue about exactly how talented they are.

But who says we must pay people for their talent? We should only be paying people for their worth.

So how much is the CEO of a regulatory body worth? Besides, govt agencies hire expensive consultants to do many of the tough stuff.

If they are CEO of a real private sector MNC, at least their worth can be measured by the profits they make. But civil servants?

Yes, this is true, I have no clue about exactly how talented they are.

This article sums it up perfectly. It isn't from an SPH publication...it's an editorial piece from Thailand.

Can we learn from the success of Singapore?

<ins style="display: inline-table; border: none; height: 15px; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; position: relative; visibility: visible; width: 468px;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="display: block; border: none; height: 15px; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; position: relative; visibility: visible; width: 468px;"><iframe width="468" height="15" frameborder="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowtransparency="true" scrolling="no" id="aswift_0" name="aswift_0" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border-width: 0px; font-style: inherit; font-family: inherit; vertical-align: baseline; left: 0px; position: absolute; top: 0px;"></iframe></ins></ins>
The Nation May 22, 2013 1:00 am

The tiny city-state has outperformed its neighbours because it has vision and discipline, precisely the things we lack in fractious, divided Thailand

Singapore is a city-state the size of Phuket. It has no natural resources, but since it gained independence from Malaysia in 1965, Singapore has become a leader on the global economic stage, thanks mainly to vision and adherence to policy. Singapore's development philosophy is manifested in three giant investment projects that have taken shape over the past five years.

One is the US$3-billion Shell Eastern Petrochemicals Complex, which is now Royal Dutch Shell's biggest petrochemical facility. Singapore attracted the investment with a series of preparations.

Upon realising that it could not depend solely on trade, Singapore created an artificial island, called Jurong, to support manufacturing activities. Shell and numerous other foreign corporations have plants there. The Economic Development Board worked out the best policies to attract foreign investment. It is the leading government agency responsible for planning and executing strategies to enhance Singapore's position as a global business centre and thus develop the economy. Other government agencies cooperated on the provision of land, labour, infrastructure and incentives for training. Singapore also promised to expand its underground storage facilities for chemicals and petrochemicals.

A similar approach was replicated when the country gave the go-ahead for a huge casino-and-leisure complex, Marina Bay Sands, which required an investment above $3 billion. The Las Vegas Sands was given a beautiful parcel on Marina Bay with views of the sea and downtown.

Even more complex planning was required to ensure the success of the $4-billion Marina Bay Financial Centre completed this year.

Land reclamation near the new downtown area started decades ago, and the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) has come up with an exact plan for how the Marina Bay development should progress over the next five decades. Only minor changes can be made to the Master Plan after it is reviewed every 10 years.

As part of the overall plan, the Monetary Authority of Singapore and other government agencies are working on tax and other regulatory measures to lure international companies and talent. This is partly supported by low taxation for corporations and individuals.

About 30,000 people work in the two developments at Marina Bay, aside from indirect jobs in related industries. With a population of only 5.3 million and without natural resources, Singapore nevertheless sees a constant stream of revenue from financial services, tourism and exports in electronics manufacturing and machinery. Another big advantage is that Singapore now boasts one of the world's largest seaports.

Despite its much longer history, Thailand's per-capita income was only one-fifth of Singapore's in 2012, according to the International Monetary Fund. In part this can be attributed to the absence of a non-partisan vision for the future and the inability to adhere to a development policy that puts the nation first. While Singapore is now among the high-income nations, Thailand is still struggling to climb out of a middle-income morass.

If Thailand is ever to catch up with Singapore, a change in attitude is essential. Thai politicians and citizens must come to terms with their differences and set a course, as Singapore has done, based on a non-partisan vision - entirely for the sake of the nation. To achieve that, laws must be made clear and fair to all. If we can achieve that, we should not be swayed from the goal of matching Singapore's success, come what may.

This must be done, and quickly, because the world moves fast and does not wait for laggards.

How on earth did you come up with such ridiculous conclusions.

The HK MTR breaks down from time to time too.

The high COEs prove that the system is doing a good job of discouraging car ownership and together with the ERP system, keeps congestion to a minimum.

Dengue isn't the government's fault. It's part and parcel of living in a tropical environment. If it wasn't for the good job done by the NEA, it would be far worse.

The demand for HDB apartments is because it is high quality housing at a very reasonable price. The government could easily match supply and demand by increasing prices but being a responsible government, it is holding prices and building more. Rome was not built in a day and neither are HDB flats. Singaporeans are just too impatient and want everything immediately.

Income inequality is a good thing as it shows that there are great opportunities out there to get rich. All it needs is a bit of innovation and a lot of hard work. Don't expect to get rich if all you do is sit on your fat backside and complain the whole day.
Helloo I go to HK on a regular basis so I know what I am talking about!! U don't even take the MRT or MTR so u r more expert than me! ! Nice Try!!

I was there when the damned MTR broke down! It was in August last year. Nice try. Just because it hasn't broken down whenever you're there doesn't mean anything.

On the other hand, my neighbor who travels to Singapore regularly tells me that the MRT is the most reliable train service he has ever taken.

This thread is stupid.

If a CEO cannot buy in cash, I wonder who else can.

They are people drawing US$2m in director fee every year. Just because you don't know them; does not meant they do not exist.

It only meant you are low life sinkie still struggling in the rat race playing the "crab in the bucket" game with each other.

Some guy just sold a GCB for $80m; can buy 8 coral condo.

crabs-in-a-bucket-syndrome.jpg

Singaporeans won't be laughing when the HDB apartment they thought was worth $800,000 becomes almost worthless because the country has gone to the dogs without the capable leadership of the PAP.

The thing is this $800,000 can become $400,000 or $200,000 anytime. Tomorrow, twenty years or fifty years down the road. Under PAP leadership or not. It only needs a hard shove in the right direction for things to go to the doldrums. We are an open capitalist system easily affected by outside market forces and investor confidence.

The way PAP has gone is indeed questionable, choosing to bring in and utilise massed cheap labour for short term gain. In the long run, we still have not created the necessary expertise or sustainable local startups which will benefit us over the years. Instead, foreign expertise is used to make up for this shortfall. Inefficiency starts to replace productivity, after all, Singaporeans already work the most hours in the world, and foreigners offer a cheap, attractive solution to rival Singapore workers.

That comes to my reasoning on why Singapore HDB prices are unaustainable. Lets face it, Singapore may be an attractive destination at this moment. But its only a matter of time Mumbai and Shanghai becomes the place to go in a couple of years, after all safety, low taxes and good infrastructure can be replocated with the right investments. If immigrants slow to a trickle, or a financial crisis with us being badly affected, these will show us how good these policies are. If the can continually raise the HDB prices through these times, our economy will be shot. So surely, they will once again ask Singaporeans to sacrifice their asset appreciation plan to save our economy. This is how i read it, and why I view their asset appreciation HDB plan with derision. And am thinking which government scholar thought up of such an half ass plan for public housing without thinking about the long run.

PAP's track record is indeed exemplary except the past ten years or so. And yet some of you, especially the thick skulled ones do love to go on and on about how they turned us from sleepy fishing village to first world city. As I will point out once again, Singapore was already a city when Singapore seceded from the Empire. If it indeed become a sleepy fishing village, something really went wrong for us to change from a city to a fishing village within 3 years in Malaysia, also under LKY. Saying PAP will do well because of their track record is like voting for a company CEO based on the fact the company been doing well for many years, under other CEOs, while things are shit under the current CEO, but he is the son of the founding CEO, so he gets away with it, that's Singapore for you.

The PAP old guard is gone with the wind, and our current leaders seem to be more apt in fixing problems a couple years after they've been left to fester than to create new visionary policies. After bringing 2 million foreigners, the PAP thinks the solution is to bring another 2 million more. They know they screwed up, look no further than the quiet demotion of WKS and MBT to realise they see a problem too. Things still ain't so bad, but it could get a lot worse, as they do seem inept. In which case, what is stopping us from voting WP, one is inept, one is a clean slate, seriously who would you choose.

I may be wrong, and our HDB prices sustain till a 3 room flat cost a million in woodlands or bukit panjang. I will be horrified if that comes to pass too. But as i said, it's highly unlikely as market forces will prevent such unthinkable prices from happening.

I was there when the damned MTR broke down! It was in August last year. Nice try. Just because it hasn't broken down whenever you're there doesn't mean anything.

On the other hand, my neighbor who travels to Singapore regularly tells me that the MRT is the most reliable train service he has ever taken.

Nice try ok. I live in Hong Kong. Train does break down once a blue moon. But overall it is way way ahead of Singapore in terms of efficiency. Even the phone connections (data and voice) is excellent inside the trains unless during peak hour when many people are in the trains (with the devices turned on).

You can spin it whichever way you want. It broke down when I was there and it obviously wasn't the first blue moon because some Hongkee with a Sinkie attitude is complaining the same way the sinkies do...

http://www.cdeclips.com/en/hongkong/fullstory.html?id=70478

Retaining public trust in MTR system is of vital importance
BY HONG LIANG
Published: Nov 16 2011 10:26
[TABLE="class: box2, width: 1"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD]
email.gif
Email |
print.gif
Print | Share[/TD]
[TD="class: text_size, align: right"]
text.gif
Text Size[/TD]
[TD="class: btns"]
reduce.gif
enlarge.gif
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
Since it was built in the late 1970s, the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) has always been a source of pride for Hong Kong people. I rode the system for the first time in 1982 on a visit to Hong Kong from Singapore where I was then working. Walking through the cavernous Central station, lined with wine-colored paneling, made me feel immensely proud of my home town.
Indeed, Mass Transit Railway Corp, which has the monopoly to build and operate the railway system in Hong Kong, is much more than just a business concern. It is an institution, like the civil service, the judiciary and HSBC – all of which form a bedrock of confidence in the city. (I thought about including the well-loved Peninsula Hotel in the list. But that was too much of a personal preference.)
For that reason, I believe that many Hong Kong people, like me, feel badly let down by the frequent disruptions to our MTR service during the past several months.

sooooooo............. back to topic.

Loan or all cash? I say big big loan cos int so low. Why buy one 10 mil condo when you can strech and buy a few?

Haha, you are right in the fact that Hong Kong people are no longer as gutsy as before but also kept complaining about the system. But I can assure you the transport system here is way way ahead of Singapore. These same Hong Kong who look at Singapore with envy most of the time got out of the country (back to Hong Kong) after receiving their Singapore passport. Because they realised there are more spin story masters in Singapore and its a much tougher place to make money (high regulated environment). On the other hand, there are far more Singaporean and Malaysian people happily settled in Hong Kong.

I am more than happy to continue to debate with you on this ^_^.

You can spin it whichever way you want. It broke down when I was there and it obviously wasn't the first blue moon because some Hongkee with a Sinkie attitude is complaining the same way the sinkies do...

http://www.cdeclips.com/en/hongkong/fullstory.html?id=70478

Retaining public trust in MTR system is of vital importance
BY HONG LIANG
Published: Nov 16 2011 10:26
[TABLE="class: box2, width: 1"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD]
email.gif
Email |
print.gif
Print | Share[/TD]
[TD="class: text_size, align: right"]
text.gif
Text Size[/TD]
[TD="class: btns"]
reduce.gif
enlarge.gif
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
Since it was built in the late 1970s, the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) has always been a source of pride for Hong Kong people. I rode the system for the first time in 1982 on a visit to Hong Kong from Singapore where I was then working. Walking through the cavernous Central station, lined with wine-colored paneling, made me feel immensely proud of my home town.
Indeed, Mass Transit Railway Corp, which has the monopoly to build and operate the railway system in Hong Kong, is much more than just a business concern. It is an institution, like the civil service, the judiciary and HSBC – all of which form a bedrock of confidence in the city. (I thought about including the well-loved Peninsula Hotel in the list. But that was too much of a personal preference.)
For that reason, I believe that many Hong Kong people, like me, feel badly let down by the frequent disruptions to our MTR service during the past several months.

HK transport minister draw how much salary? MTR CEO as compared to MRT CEO? Compare MRT fares also....
Doesn't Sinkieland MRT suppose to be best of the best going by such criteria?

I agree. Hk MTR system hardly breaks down. The trains are also a lot less packed than mrt.

I think what irks people is the growing wealth gap illustrated by this condo purchase. How is it possible that a civil servant can afford a $10 mil property (and likely not her only property purchase) when man on the street are struggling to buy $500,000 hdb flats?

She is not a business woman running a highly successful business, but one of thousands of overpaid super scale civil servants.

To add to the discomfort, she bought the condo via special discount given to her due to special relationships.

No one will begrudge if its a CEO of private company. Private i dun mean GLC types of companies also.
She is a stat board employee.....effectively a civil servant. Her huge salary is paid by us from our tax dollars.

This thread is stupid.

If a CEO cannot buy in cash, I wonder who else can.

They are people drawing US$2m in director fee every year. Just because you don't know them; does not meant they do not exist.

It only meant you are low life sinkie still struggling in the rat race playing the "crab in the bucket" game with each other.

Some guy just sold a GCB for $80m; can buy 8 coral condo.

View attachment 10602

No special discount right? It was a company disclosure. How come no one dig up dirt on husband?

I think what irks people is the growing wealth gap illustrated by this condo purchase. How is it possible that a civil servant can afford a $10 mil property (and likely not her only property purchase) when man on the street are struggling to buy $500,000 hdb flats?

She is not a business woman running a highly successful business, but one of thousands of overpaid super scale civil servants.

To add to the discomfort, she bought the condo via special discount given to her due to special relationships.