• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

National Dengue Campaign launched as dengue cases rise

Good point about fining HDB for the no-hole pole holder. Upz you!

I have actually spoken to those NEA officers about this, but all of them look, "bodoh" with a faraway look, obvious isn't, easier to fine the householders than to deal with "kwan'ku" like HDB...or what we say " kar gi lang".

Fogging will only drive the mosquitoes from one area to another & soon "THEY WILL BE BACK"...you find mosquitoes on the 21st floor too, together with cockroaches, mice & rats &.... how? they take the lifts too "bodoh".. ha ha ha

I have actually spoken to those NEA officers about this, but all of them look, "bodoh" with a faraway look, obvious isn't, easier to fine the householders than to deal with "kwan'ku" like HDB...or what we say " kar gi lang".

Fogging will only drive the mosquitoes from one area to another & soon "THEY WILL BE BACK"...you find mosquitoes on the 21st floor too, together with cockroaches, mice & rats &.... how? they take the lifts too "bodoh".. ha ha ha

The NEA officers will always find the easiest targets to catch, the peasants. Own people they pretend not to see. These bastards even set up trap to catch smokers throwing cigarettes butts at bus interchange by removing the rubbish bin.

Instead of checking all the construction sites and covered drains for mosquitoes breeding, they waste taxpayers money by sending their army of inspectors to knock on every households to inspect the kitchens.

Why don't they use their common sense that if the mosquitoes can breed in a household's kitchens, then the household must really have very think skin, since the mosquitoes will suck the blood of the household members first and they will know.

It's the common areas in the swamps, dumping grounds, construction sites, forested areas, gardens, covered drains that are mosquito breeding grounds and not in the residents' homes.

NEA is purposely wasting taxpayers' money and attempting to put the blame of mosquito breeding squarely on the households instead of seriously finding the root causes of mosquito breeding in those dengue hot-spots.

This is the thread I started that caused Lee Bee Wah to come to the defense of Construction Sites and covered drains. She and her bunch of NEA loafers have obviously read my thread:

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?145856-NEA-is-a-bunch-of-morons-wasting-taxpayers-money

CNN reported Lee Bee Wah blaming the residents instead of the Construction Sites. If NEA had really been truthful, why is it that even after invading residents' homes and checking, why the dengue cases still keep rising in these clusters? What blatant lies are they going to continue with instead of concentrating on the covered drains and construction sites?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/dengue-cases-up-in-week/632930.html

Double Triple agree !!!

how come you are posting here and not make the complaint yourself???

Sinkie sinkie....talk only and no action... low life.

knn you also NATO in the team :oIo: most useless bugger in TeamTonychat. Always post you jiak veggie but eating mcspicy dbl behind the comp. nabei jiak also bo jio only order your own meal :oIo: never jio your team

The NEA officers will always find the easiest targets to catch, the peasants. Own people they pretend not to see. These bastards even set up trap to catch smokers throwing cigarettes butts at bus interchange by removing the rubbish bin.

The newspaper headline was something like, they are getting tough on BREAKING into your home..if you do not allow them in or you are away...

LOVE LETTER

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENT AGENCY. THE CONTROL OF VECTORS & PESTICIDES ACT (CHAPTER 59) NOTICE TO ENTER PREMISES UNDER SECTION 35.

"Whereas it is provided under Section 35(1) of the CONTROL OF VECTOR AND PESTICIDES ACT (Chapter 59) that the Director-General of Public health or Authorised officer, after giving 12 hours notice to the occupier of any premises, enter and inspect such premises to ascertain whether such premises or anything therein, is in condition favorable to the propagation or habouring of vectors , and carry out, where necessary, the spraying of the premises with insecticides.

...now you better open your doors ASAP..24 hrs a day..ok!

SINGAPORE: The total number of dengue cases in Singapore reached the 7,000 mark as of 3pm on Friday.

This is higher than the total number of cases reported for the whole of 2012 and in 2011. There were 4,632 cases reported in 2012 and 5,330 reported in 2011.

There has been however, a slight dip in the number of cases reported in the past week.

There were 510 cases reported in the week ending 17 May as of 3pm, compared to 562 the week before.

Of the 7,000 cases, 159 are in construction sites. That is more than double the number reported last year.

There were 71 cases reported in construction sites in 2012, about 1.5 per cent of total dengue cases in 2012.

This makes up 2.3 per cent of the total dengue cases reported.

Ho Ngok Yong, president of SCAL, said: "We want to make sure that, preferably zero (per cent) because all our construction sites now, you can see these buildings, are very near to residential places. Proximity is very close. Any outbreak therefore will affect residents."

Derek Ho, director-general of public health at National Environment Agency, said: "We've only found about five per cent of breeding habitats that's from construction sites. In fact the majority of breeding habitats are still within homes, about 70 per cent of the breeding (sites). But we think it's very important that all stakeholders in the community do their part to eradicate potential mosquito breeding habitats."

There were about 638 mosquito breeding sites found in construction sites so far this year. A total of 722 sites were found in construction sites in 2012.

The association has mobilised more than 150 construction sites to join the fight against dengue.

It has adopted several practices to prevent mosquito breeding at its premises.

These include levelling uneven ground to prevent water from collecting and spraying oil on drainage areas.

Sleeping on the job.....need to have a few deaths to wake these fucktards up

If you are a non meat eater, mosquitoes will not sting you.

Unless you are filled with vegetables juices, then the mosquitoes won't even sting you plus you have no temperature have have no heat, which makes you a zombie.

Sleeping on the job.....need to have a few deaths to wake these fucktards up

I have told these NEA numbskulls countless of times, that they old HDB bamboo hole holders are breeding them...those flats built from the 1960's - 1990's have six bamboo holes in each flat, which collect water & there is no holes at the bottom for them to drain them...HDB is breeding them...

These PAP bastards, pay so high but cannot find a solution to this dengue problem. All they can do is to blame sinkies for this and that.

Whatever social ills we have here in Singapore, we need the MIW's children and relatives to be at the receiving end in order for the problems to be resolved quickly.

SINGAPORE: Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has cautioned that Singapore is in the midpoint of a full-blown dengue epidemic.

Dr Balakrishnan warned that if nothing is done about the dengue problem, cases could go up to 1,000 per week.
He was speaking as Singapore launched the national dengue campaign "Do the Mozzie Wipe Out" on Sunday.

In an island-wide effort, the People's Association and its grassroots movement will be fanning out to both public and private housing estates every week to remind residents to do their part to prevent the spread of dengue.

In areas with a high number of dengue cases, the NEA wants to get into every single home within one week of residents receiving notice of its officers' visits.

This would mean having to take a more assertive posture by resorting to legislative powers to demand that people open their doors, stressed Dr Balakrishnan.

He said: "The paradox is that an empty home, an untended home, has a very great potential to breed mosquitoes, because no one is there to empty containers, check on toilet bowls, empty pails and check on pots and pans."

You mean now then you know wtf is the real cause for he dengue epidemic????

Its all the fucking empty residences which are left deliberately vacant by those fucking rich PRC chinese bastards who buy multiple properties and leave them unattended and untenanted. Just go take a look at he last 10 fuckin condo developments which had foreign buyers and you will know what i mean....these fuckers go s much money that they dont even need the fucking rent....only this fucking money faced government is acting blur to the obvious fact that money launderers are thriving in this fucking country.....

Dengue in Singapore going to be a 'big-time epidemic'
Infection numbers are high and will soar in hot season if virus transmission continues
The Straits Times - April 9, 2013
Share on twitterShare on emailShare on favoritesShare on print| More Sharing ServicesMore

Singapore is heading for its worst dengue fever epidemic, and the warning comes from Associate Professor Leo Yee Sin, one of the foremost dengue experts here.

Infection numbers for the week ended yesterday will not be out till tomorrow, but they will be a new high for this year as 327 people had already fallen ill by 3pm on Friday.

The previous full-week high was 322 in February.

Prof Leo told The Sunday Times: "We really have to anticipate that we will have a big-time dengue epidemic this year."

"It will be huge," she said. "The question is, how huge?"

The reason she is expecting numbers to soar is that it is unusual for dengue numbers to be so high so early in the year.

About 300 people have been infected each week by the mosquito-borne virus since the epidemic started in January.

Unless transmission of the virus is halted, the number of infections could more than double by the middle of the year, said Prof Leo, who is the clinical director at the Communicable Disease Centre.

This is because in the approaching hotter months, both the virus and mosquito replicate about twice as fast and can spread the disease more rapidly.

Singapore's worst brush with dengue was in 2005, when 14,000 people fell ill and 25 died.

Prof Leo hoped that as doctors are now more experienced in treating dengue patients, there will be fewer or no deaths even though more may fall ill.

She advised those with dengue fever to drink plenty of fluids, preferably isotonic drinks, to stay hydrated. If they lose too much water, they could end up with the more severe dengue shock syndrome and need to be admitted to hospital.

So far this year, more than 3,760 people have been diagnosed with dengue but there have been no deaths. However, the real number of infections may be much higher.

A study of more than 4,000 people in 2004 at a time when dengue cases were rising, found that out of every 23 people infected, only one case was reported, said Prof Leo.

Some people who fall ill might have had mild symptoms or decided to self-medicate.

If that ratio still holds true today, it would mean that more than 80,000 people have actually been infected this year.

Associate Professor Ng Li Cheng, head of the Environmental Health Institute, said the Den-1 virus, which has been on the rise, appears to be a "fit" virus, likely to replicate faster.

A fit virus can make a mosquito ready to spread the disease just three to four days after it bites an infected person, compared to the usual seven days.

The dominant dengue virus for the past six years has been the Den-2. But last month, Den-1 became responsible for more than half the infections.

Although all four dengue viruses are around all the time, when the dominant virus changes, it usually leads to an explosion of infections, since many in the population would have no immunity.

If the National Environment Agency (NEA) can reduce the spread of Den-1, the numbers might not be so high.

An NEA spokesman said expenditure on dengue control this year will exceed last year's $72 million as "efforts will have to be multiplied with the expected surge in cases during the peak season".

It now has 850 officers doing nothing but dengue inspections.

The spokesman added: "We are planning to enhance the team when the situation worsens, but there is a limit to how many more officers we can deploy."

Like Prof Leo, Prof Ng said it is important to bring down the number of infections before the "dengue season" starts next month. Dengue numbers usually peak in the warmer months in the middle of the year.

Dengue infections generally spike every five to seven years, and Dr Ng said Singapore is overdue for such a peak.

Now u get this fucking clown academic telling you its ok to have 6000 dengue cases because its a "peak".... Kong smi lanjiao.......

Why dont they say its common place because on a pro rated basis , 6000 cases for 6 million fuckers in sinkapore is actually a decrease because we used to have 3000 cases for 2.5 million people.....

Fuck off understand!!!

Imagine 2.5 million fucking foreigners added to this tiny island. If there is no increase in dengue cases, I worry because most of these foreigners come from unhygienic Third World countries.

Now all these wayang MPs start to talk . Disgrace Fu and Lim Wee Kiat offer their value advice. Their Grasslooters also join in.

SINGAPORE: Second Minister for Environment and Water Resources Grace Fu said Singapore needs to continue to push on in its fight against dengue, as the number of infections continues to climb.

The number of dengue cases reported in 2013 reached the 7,000 mark as of 3pm on Friday. That is higher than the total number of cases for the whole of 2012 or 2011. There were 4,632 cases reported in 2012 and 5,330 reported in 2011.

While the nationwide Mozzie Wipeout campaign has been launched, Ms Fu stressed more needs to be done.
She said: "It gets people's awareness up. But it's just a start, we need to continue to push on, and continually, we will be reminding people to take the basic steps, eradicate breeding. More importantly, our officers will also be on the ground to make sure that all stakeholders, whether it is residents, construction areas or offices, we should all do our part to eradicate breeding sites.

"Most of the residents are cooperative and they will open their homes to us. What we do find from time to time are actually homes that are not occupied, that we take some time to trace the owners. But in areas where there are active clusters, we will give notice, and if necessary, we will enter the premises."
Residents in the Canberra division of Nee Soon GRC have also joined the fight against dengue.
70 grassroots leaders and 120 students from Canberra Secondary School visited more than 11,000 units in the constituency to encourage residents to do the Mozzie Wipeout.
They are grassroots leaders and volunteers of Canberra division who have attended the Dengue Volunteers Training Programme organised by the National Environment Agency (NEA).
Although Canberra is not a dengue cluster, organisers hope residents will remain vigilant.
Dr Lim Wee Kiak, MP for Nee Soon GRC, said: "The students will become active advocates of dengue and become our messengers as well, to make sure we remain dengue-free and to keep the numbers as low as possible."

Mohd Afiszan Amat, a student from Canberra Secondary School, said: "I'm very happy and proud to actually participate, to go around, giving awareness to the residents around here, especially when I live around here."

-