• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

arsenal

Think about it.. The docs are all foreigners so are the equipment. You can get docs in Malaysia who are trained in UK, singapore and US too and using the same equipment. Why pay more?

I recently oso notice there's a increase in foreign doctor when I visited TTSH..
You are paying the same amount but at a lower running cost.. from goods made in china.. to cars made in Thailand.. to food.. & now even service..

sgtsk

Also 2 cents from me.
Does higher gdp means more happiness ?
Can less be more ?
Will you be happy with a 20k pm job but only see your kids on the weekend or a 12k pm job and have weekday evenings with them ?
Is getting more people the only way to grow the economy ?

For those army train officer you will know you need time to re-org re-supply rest before you can advance the troops again.

Good questions. I hope many could find answers. For many of us, we just want to cling on to our jobs for fear of not having enough for the unpredictable future and our obligations. I try to read more on philosophies of ancient Chinese sages, religions nowadays, hoping to live life wiser. May be one can take a leaf from Laozi or 鬼谷孑 or... someone else's books?

Ha ha! If they can give $500pm, many old people tears flowing already but younger ones will be sweating like hell as they will be squeezed even more by the govt in order to give to the former.

Oh dear, it'll be a sad case of young vs old Singaporean then...haha $500 every 5 years lah, $500 every month can wait until next life...

It cost a lot of money to train doctors. Cheaper to import since overseas cost of training is cheaper. At the expense of locals of course.

CPF minimum sum has just been raised today. Expect more Singaporeans to retire in JB. Demand of houses in JB will go up.

Hey you're right, they really save cost to educate doctors etc by importing people and at the expense of the welfare of locals...the foreign doctors really not professional, met one india/sri lanka doctor at polyclinic who was half way through the consultation and then answered mobile phone and started chatting, never met before SG doctors who did that...

I recently oso notice there's a increase in foreign doctor when I visited TTSH..
You are paying the same amount but at a lower running cost.. from goods made in china.. to cars made in Thailand.. to food.. & now even service..

Yeah the increase in foreign doctors is very significant, in my latest visit to polyclinic i requested for a local doctor and yet they still give me a foreign doctor...

FHBH12

Yeah the increase in foreign doctors is very significant, in my latest visit to polyclinic i requested for a local doctor and yet they still give me a foreign doctor...

Actually it makes sense to just go Johor if one is looking for mid-long treatment/therapy since many Singapore doctors are foreigners with dubious track records but at double the cost.

alnine

Well no choice lah. If 30-40% of the working adults are foreigners then it means you will have up to 40% chance to be serve by one. In my office singaporeans are 30-40% only, so sure good chance to be serve by non Sgp.

alnine

Actually it makes sense to just go Johor if one is looking for mid-long treatment/therapy since many Singapore doctors are foreigners with dubious track records but at double the cost.

Singaporeans have done it, lesik is one of them. Also they have done some investigative procedure like scans and bring the results back to the Singapore doctors to see.

kopikong99

"At double the cost" and the extra cost/profit goes to miw and high rental. Another con job in uniquely Singapore.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Good questions. I hope many could find answers. For many of us, we just want to cling on to our jobs for fear of not having enough for the unpredictable future and our obligations. I try to read more on philosophies of ancient Chinese sages, religions nowadays, hoping to live life wiser. May be one can take a leaf from Laozi or 鬼谷孑 or... someone else's books?

鬼谷孑 is more for military prowess.

Since you mentioned Ah Sun's alleged teacher, maybe you can read mine as well, its actually listed along with Ah Sun and Ah Gong in that compilation of books.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seven_Military_Classics

Historical references indicate that the Wuzi was very famous and popular in both the Warring States period and in the Han dynasty. In addition to strategic/tactical studies and the philosophy of war, the Wuzi pays significant attention to the logistical achievement of war preparedness.

Personally, i found the modern books such as The Secret, The Power and The Miracle very insightful.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
"At double the cost" and the extra cost/profit goes to miw and high rental. Another con job in uniquely Singapore.

Even though my medical costs are all covered, i still go to the private hospitals there as:

1. I do not want to wait a few hours to see a doctor
2. I get the same type of service and sometimes much better from the doctors since i noticed when i am overseas, almost always the doctor has much more time for you and not as eager to push meds/supplements to you.
3. More nurses who are willing and able to help even though sometimes they may take a while to understand. When my wife needed assistance, nurses that came were not the complaining type that we encountered at a supposedly very good private hospital in Singapore.
4. My firstborn almost did not make it in that Singapore hospital as the nurse rudely told us to go back since the water hasn't broke and was kind of blaming us for wasting her time. I was feeling bad for the doctor who was rushing to the hospital and so decided to wait for him. When he came, he berated the foreign nurse as the water has broken and dried up already.

Not a single word of apology from her but she didn't dare to look us in the eye after that and i was too engaged in the process of childbirth to think on this as the Dr asked me to help out AS THERE WAS A LACK OF NURSES that day. I became the first to see the baby, interestingly opened the left eye and kind of looked at me (i know they still can't see) knowingly and then kind of smiled and went back to sleep. I guess i became closer to my baby because i was involved in the whole birth process, still have a habit of hugging me when sleeping. :smile:

This was the kind of medical care that made me try out a foreign one.

potter

Even though my medical costs are all covered, i still go to the private hospitals there as:

1. I do not want to wait a few hours to see a doctor
2. I get the same type of service and sometimes much better from the doctors since i noticed when i am overseas, almost always the doctor has much more time for you and not as eager to push meds/supplements to you.
3. More nurses who are willing and able to help even though sometimes they may take a while to understand. When my wife needed assistance, nurses that came were not the complaining type that we encountered at a supposedly very good private hospital in Singapore.
4. My firstborn almost did not make it in that Singapore hospital as the nurse rudely told us to go back since the water hasn't broke and was kind of blaming us for wasting her time. I was feeling bad for the doctor who was rushing to the hospital and so decided to wait for him. When he came, he berated the foreign nurse as the water has broken and dried up already.

Not a single word of apology from her but she didn't dare to look us in the eye after that and i was too engaged in the process of childbirth to think on this as the Dr asked me to help out AS THERE WAS A LACK OF NURSES that day. I became the first to see the baby, interestingly opened the left eye and kind of looked at me (i know they still can't see) knowingly and then kind of smiled and went back to sleep. I guess i became closer to my baby because i was involved in the whole birth process, still have a habit of hugging me when sleeping. :smile:

This was the kind of medical care that made me try out a foreign one.

When "doctor (s)" asked u whether want to burst e water bag, do insist to say "NO,NO,NO..!!".

Rem one of friend 1/4 fish, 3/4 duck them off, delivered himself in e ward, in e end.

Dun know wan to $%#@%^$%&**@* or wahaha..

sgtsk

鬼谷孑 is more for military prowess.

Since you mentioned Ah Sun's alleged teacher, maybe you can read mine as well, its actually listed along with Ah Sun and Ah Gong in that compilation of books.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seven_Military_Classics

Historical references indicate that the Wuzi was very famous and popular in both the Warring States period and in the Han dynasty. In addition to strategic/tactical studies and the philosophy of war, the Wuzi pays significant attention to the logistical achievement of war preparedness.

Personally, i found the modern books such as The Secret, The Power and The Miracle very insightful.

Thanks Wuzi for the link and infor.
Will check out The Secret, The Power and The Miracle. Do you happen to have the author's name.?Now I am reminded of Borders which I frequented almost weekly before when it was still around.*

Yes I have been curious about Wuqi since I first came across your name in this forum. I think i have found a videos series about Wuzi on standby(now i am following 36 stratagems). It seems Wuzi is also of legalist school as Han Feizi.*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlhqkDy7oy8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I also found quite many videos on you tube on other great classics. Will take at stab at each when have time.

Irrespective of their fields of expertise, these wise men are some of the smartest people ever lived on the planet. How they regarded lives and the universe are of great educational value at least for me.

I was very pleasantly surprised to realise that philosophical questions many of us have in our daily life *today were already pondered by some of the greatest minds since many thousand years ago. Really amazed how great their insights and profoundness.

Yeah looks like need to seriously look for clinic and hospital to go to in Johor, my polyclinic blood test that day cost me near $60, not cheap at all. I asked the payment counter why so expensive and they said becos not much subsidy for this particular blood test, the SG govt really selective on what blood test to subsidise hor...Actually I took a health check up at a JB pharmacy and the blood test finding is to do further blood test to exclude some factors and I went to polyclinic for this further blood test and guess what the foreign doctor didn't even read the blood test results, just scan the JB blood test conclusion and said do the further test, no heart to even read the blood test results in more details...

Well no choice lah. If 30-40% of the working adults are foreigners then it means you will have up to 40% chance to be serve by one. In my office singaporeans are 30-40% only, so sure good chance to be serve by non Sgp.

Scared one day when it is a matter of life and death and serve by a chin chai and no heart foreigner doctor, i think recently there was a case of how some foreign doctor seem more keen to harvest the organs than to rescue patient...

Singaporeans have done it, lesik is one of them. Also they have done some investigative procedure like scans and bring the results back to the Singapore doctors to see.

Yeah the problem is how to claim incomeshield if do such medical procedures not in SG? I think cannot claim leh, don't want to waste the incomeshield claim, hopefully when Gleneagles at Medini is completed, can claim by then...

FHBH12

Yeah looks like need to seriously look for clinic and hospital to go to in Johor, my polyclinic blood test that day cost me near $60, not cheap at all. I asked the payment counter why so expensive and they said becos not much subsidy for this particular blood test, the SG govt really selective on what blood test to subsidise hor...Actually I took a health check up at a JB pharmacy and the blood test finding is to do further blood test to exclude some factors and I went to polyclinic for this further blood test and guess what the foreign doctor didn't even read the blood test results, just scan the JB blood test conclusion and said do the further test, no heart to even read the blood test results in more details...

I'm exploring doing full body check up in JB. Any recommendation? Thanks.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Scared one day when it is a matter of life and death and serve by a chin chai and no heart foreigner doctor, i think recently there was a case of how some foreign doctor seem more keen to harvest the organs than to rescue patient...

My dearly departed grandfather had to wait 7 hours in TTSH before they would see him, my grandmother at SGH, also hours. I once saw a man with a knife stuck to him and he waited a few hours, luckily he didn't bleed to death, nurse just kept telling him not to move and not to try to take it out. (of course, who would want to take it out themselves at that point) Gave me a first hand and a very eye opening idea of how safe SG was back then.