• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

sgtsk

This GE13 is almost a life and death fight for some vested interests.

Losing the 13th general election will be akin to opening the Pandora boxes owned by Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Taib Mahmud, Najib Tun Razak and his wife Rosmah.

Awang Abdillah, FMT

The 13th general election is being turned into the toughest, ugliest and dirtiest election ever in the history of Malaysian politics, mainly due to the incumbent government’s unwillingness to accept defeat.
But it is not so much the defeat itself that Barisan Nasional fears but rather the consequences of a defeat.
So much is at stake for Taib Mahmud and his Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) if Umno-BN loses this general election.
Firstly, losing the polls will mean surrendering the executive power in the government. This means the loss of opportunities to continue enriching themselves and squandering more of the nation’s wealth.
Secondly the exposure of all their misdeeds by the new government backdated to the year 1981 until today.
And lastly the retributions they will get from the law.
Hence the phobia of these three realities compel the Umno elites to plan all kinds of strategies to stop the opposition from winning in the forthcoming election.
The Umno elites are desperate to keep all their ill-gotten riches in secrecy and, away from public knowledge.
These filthy rich Malaysians are the nation’s unsung billionaires. These crooks forget that whatever one does has a tag attached or associated with it.
As all these riches are mostly obtained by corrupt and unlawful means, their wealth is associated with evilness and they cannot escape the consequences of keeping, owning or spending them.
Keeping these stolen riches is akin to owning a Pandora box and losing this 13th GE will be akin to opening the box.

Read more at:*https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/c...5/05/pakatan-in-putrajaya-taib-dr-m-in-dock/*

sgtsk

The changing political dynamics

Karin Raslan the Star

Contrary to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s arguments in his victory speech, the ‘2013 tsunami’ wasn’t merely racial. There are also powerful socio-economic and political forces at work.

Indeed, by the year 2000 it was estimated that two out of every seven persons resident in Selangor were migrants who had been born elsewhere. This makes it very hard to win voters, including Malay Muslims, using or working through the traditional means of social organisation: for instance, the kampung networks. This is to say nothing of the fact that urban voters tend to be better educated and more in-tune with the Internet – ergo the alternative media with its freer news coverage and analysis.

Karim Raslan, The Star

ON May 5, Malaysians went to the polls. We lined up patiently outside schools, civic halls and other polling stations in our millions, swamping the Election Commission’s preparations.

Indeed, the final turnout was 80% of all eligible voters, or 12,992,661 out of 13.3 million – the highest in Malaysia’s history.

I arrived outside the Sekolah Rendah Agama Masjid Saidina Omar Al Khattab in Damansara Heights at 7.15am and was amongst the first 20 or so to secure entry to vote at 8am.

By the time the voting booths opened, there were hundreds waiting behind me in a queue that snaked like a corkscrew in the school’s car park.

We were a fairly motley crew, bleary-eyed but enthusiastic.

There was Uncle Wong, a 71-year-old pensioner and now inveterate traveller, Pak Cik Mahmud, a 67-year-old Malayan Railways retiree and his 30-year-old son Abdul Khalid, both residents of Damansara Heights.

Another writer, Dina Zaman, was a few steps behind me.

The crowd was thoroughly multiracial and lively, the way our cities are and because we couldn’t remain silent for long we soon started talking though not about politics.

Instead, we chatted about friends, family and where I should head to next with Ceritalah Malaysia.

To my amazement, Uncle Wong had already followed in my footsteps and visited Keningau in Sabah.

After I voted, the feeling was of exhilaration and relief.

However, the endless wait for the results was much longer and far less fun.

Honestly, the Elections Commis-sion (EC) really needs to buck up in releasing results – to say nothing of alleged problems with the indelible ink and phantom voters.

The delays and the lack of information only served to fuel speculation and distrust.

Still, the 13th general election will help us understand how Malaysia’s political battle lines are being drawn.

Contrary to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s arguments in his victory speech, the “2013 tsunami” wasn’t merely racial.

There are also powerful socio-economic and political forces at work.

Basically, Malaysia’s cities, suburbs and towns are establishing their way of doing politics and the issues that matter to their residents and voters.

Malaysia’s urban areas have different views as to how the country should be governed.

They want change, even if this does not necessarily mean a change in government.

Moreover, it’s not surprising why this is so.

Our cities and towns are wonderfully eclectic.

There are countless communities and sub-communities embedded in our various Taman’s and Jaya’s – families who were born and grew up in isolated long-houses on the Baram and Limbang rivers, or other villages in Pasir Mas, Mentakab and Kuala Kedah.

Internal migration now means those resident in Johor’s booming south or the Klang Valley are more likely to have been born elsewhere.

Indeed, by the year 2000 it was estimated that two out of every seven persons resident in Selangor were migrants who had been born elsewhere.

This makes it very hard to win voters, including Malay Muslims, using or working through the traditional means of social organisation: for instance, the kampung networks.

This is to say nothing of the fact that urban voters tend to be better educated and more in-tune with the Internet – ergo the alternative media with its freer news coverage and analysis.

As a result these voters are very performance-driven.

They like Hannah Yeoh because she works phenomenally hard and is sincere and approachable.

The fact that she’s a DAP cadre is secondary.

In fact appeals to particular exclusive ethnic or religious affiliations have limited traction – witness Zulkifli Noordin’s failure to win in Shah Alam.

Underperform as the out-going Kedah Mentri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak did and you’re out.

Deliver as Perak Mentri Besar Zambry Abdul Kadir did and you’ll scrape through.

Indeed, Zambry, a thinker with a self-deprecating and witty turn-of-phrase, is exactly the type of leader Barisan Nasional needs if it’s serious about reclaiming the urban voters.

Because let’s face it: Pakatan Rakyat has largely beaten Barisan in the cities.

Barisan can continue to govern on the back of the rural vote in the short-term, but the fact is that the cities are the source of ideas and energy it desperately needs to keep reinventing itself.

Pakatan may not have made the gains it had hoped but it clearly has the most dynamic parts of Malaysia on its side.

Like it or not, this gives it an edge in the long run.

This is what Najib needs to work on in the weeks and months ahead if he truly wants to leave a legacy.

Most tend to agree transparency is the long standing issue with Singapore Incorp, so much so the late honourable President Ong had to invoke a special high court tribunal to try to get information on Singapore reserve to be overseen by the President, with very little success though.

I checked information provided by Epf, epf invested in equities, so much so 44% of its return is equity based and it pays 6.15% dividend for y/e 2012. The buy sell announcements of stocks by epf is probably stock exchange requirement. Whereas cpf infor says it invests only in special Singapore government bonds, guaranteed 100% by govt.

Wow 6.15% is very good return above inflation rate. I recall Australia also had such requirement last time for employers to pay increment benchmark to inflation rate. Only SG govt allow retirement funds interest rate to be at rate way below inflation rate.

Exactly Sis! Since independence, we welcome foreigners, Jap in 70 and 80s, Hongkies in 80 and 90s and Malaysian bro/sis all the time, etc) coming in to live and work in Singapore.

We never have a problem on that until recent years thanks to the “careful and detail planning” of our leaders.

Yes, social problems, etc and the list go on and it is beyond my limits to name it here one by one.

Today is the important day for our Malaysian bro/sis back in their hometown to do battle, and a few years down the road, it will be our turn to “UBAH”. :smile:

Xenophobia is a blatant false accusation to shift blame and cover up for themselves lor. Just went to the polyclinic and saw 7 or 8 foreign doctors on list of 20 doctors. Got india, Myanmar, Filipino doctors, I was thinking last time make it so difficult for locals to become doctors but now make it so easy, so extreme and poor planning not worth the million salaries.

FHBH12

Xenophobia is a blatant false accusation to shift blame and cover up for themselves lor. Just went to the polyclinic and saw 7 or 8 foreign doctors on list of 20 doctors. Got india, Myanmar, Filipino doctors, I was thinking last time make it so difficult for locals to become doctors but now make it so easy, so extreme and poor planning not worth the million salaries.

It cost a lot of money to train doctors. Cheaper to import since overseas cost of training is cheaper. At the expense of locals of course.

CPF minimum sum has just been raised today. Expect more Singaporeans to retire in JB. Demand of houses in JB will go up.

I would agree with LKY that social security would cripple the country's little reserves when Sg was a young state about 50yrs ago.

But during the last 20 years or so ago, with their 'Squeeze Singaporeans Campaign', the govt esp NTUC 'Fairprice', began to be involve in almost every profitable trade on this tiny island, and with their size, many local mom and pop businesses are being squeezed out. Eventually they and their younger generations ended up becoming employees to these GLCs. Not to mention, things like COEs were implemented in 1990 generating massive revenues. And to make matters even worse, their workers' income are squeezed even further with the opening of floodgates to cheap foreigners.

Thus, level of playing field and income distribution become very unequal here in Sg right now. So I think they should relook into social security as a way of paying back it's people who were being sucked dry by their very own leaders they voted for since day one. It will also greatly reduces our stress levels and will also definitely even make many Singaporeans less kiasu and kiasi. $300-500 per mth would be a great help for low income or unemployed elderly.

But knowing this money loving PAP, I'm sure this will never happen.

I think they should pay 1000 per month to elderly instead of making elderly work for it as cleaners etc. They can well afford it, just by not throwing away money for integration funds, sponsoring the freeloaders foreign students and give free training to teach foreigners English etc.

They have always advocate family to take up the full burden so that they can take up zero burden and splurge the funds on their beloved foreigners and of course themselves !

cheerguan

I think they should pay 1000 per month to elderly instead of making elderly work for it as cleaners etc. They can well afford it, just by not throwing away money for integration funds, sponsoring the freeloaders foreign students and give free training to teach foreigners English etc.

They have always advocate family to take up the full burden so that they can take up zero burden and splurge the funds on their beloved foreigners and of course themselves !

Ha ha! If they can give $500pm, many old people tears flowing already but younger ones will be sweating like hell as they will be squeezed even more by the govt in order to give to the former.

Funds Transfer

Most tend to agree transparency is the long standing issue with Singapore Incorp, so much so the late honourable President Ong had to invoke a special high court tribunal to try to get information on Singapore reserve to be overseen by the President, with very little success though.

I checked information provided by Epf, epf invested in equities, so much so 44% of its return is equity based and it pays 6.15% dividend for y/e 2012. The buy sell announcements of stocks by epf is probably stock exchange requirement. Whereas cpf infor says it invests only in special Singapore government bonds, guaranteed 100% by govt.

If cannot guarantee, or payment delayed, just adjust the minimum sum scheme. Easy does it! :smile:

sgtsk

Here a poetic rendition of the Malaysian dream.

The Dream Lives On

By Allan CF Goh

The Dream Lives On
Election Day has now come and gone.
But our hopes have not been left alone.
Though BN won half of Malaysia,
Pakatan wins the ambrosia.
PR has won the plurality
With a national majority.
Pakatan ‘has won’ the election
By increasing its representation.

BN won by ways dark, secretive;
Losing its moral imperative.
Though it has won the seats of office,
Pakatan has won folks’ hearts, notice.
The wind of change is still blowing strong,
Most Malaysians still for “ubah” long.
The dream of citizens still lives on…..
For a true democracy to dawn.

All citizens will still want the same thing:
Their rights supreme as the sacred king,
In a just, meritorious nation,
Totally free of foul corruption,
Without the festering racism,
Without fetid communalism.
Where citizens live in harmony,
Not rent apart by cacophony.

When Malaysians stand proud and equal,
With justice, an unending sequel.
That is the way to a one-nation,
Pulling, pushing in the same direction.
Not purposely fragmented by race,
Nor rented by religious ill-grace.
Only united, can we progress,
Don’t let negativity digress.

Existing in people’s memory
Is the greatness of the one-country,
Malaysians must live the common values,
With proper mutual respects and dues,
As one great, national family,
With love as our nation’s homily,
There can never be masters and slaves.
That’s the quickest way to the nation’s grave.

The light at the end of the tunnel,
Gets brighter, stronger, and less banal.
The darkness will surely end one fine day,
Let’s bring it on without more delay.
When the new dawn finally appears
Most of the nation’s woes will disappear.
Our disappointment must be our fuel
To drive us forward to dreams fulfill.

ComingToJB

It cost a lot of money to train doctors. Cheaper to import since overseas cost of training is cheaper. At the expense of locals of course.

CPF minimum sum has just been raised today. Expect more Singaporeans to retire in JB. Demand of houses in JB will go up.
I recently oso notice there's a increase in foreign doctor when I visited TTSH..
You are paying the same amount but at a lower running cost.. from goods made in china.. to cars made in Thailand.. to food.. & now even service..

FHBH12

I recently oso notice there's a increase in foreign doctor when I visited TTSH..
You are paying the same amount but at a lower running cost.. from goods made in china.. to cars made in Thailand.. to food.. & now even service..

The hospitals are already privatised.

Funds Transfer

The hospitals are already privatised.

Foreign doctors aside, just make sure that there is a bed and a room to serve patients. I think sometimes there aren't. You stay in the observation ward or have a bed along the corridoor!

Uniquely Singapore!

FHBH12

Foreign doctors aside, just make sure that there is a bed and a room to serve patients. I think sometimes there aren't. You stay in the observation ward or have a bed along the corridoor!

Uniquely Singapore!

The situation on infrastructure in Singapore is not very optimistic, despite the big news on new hospitals, MRT lines, BTOs etc. They are already at their design capacity at the point of construction. Upon completion they will be under-capacity again.

Funds Transfer

The situation on infrastructure in Singapore is not very optimistic, despite the big news on new hospitals, MRT lines, BTOs etc. They are already at their design capacity at the point of construction. Upon completion they will be under-capacity again.

Poor planning to say the least. The whole immigration policy was not matched by infrastructure investment. From a economic perspective, the social costs outweigh any economic benefits which is barely visible in the first place. Apart from property related and gaming industries, I don't think that Singapore's economy has moved forward in the last 5 years.

Hope some smart economist out there could measure that and prove me wrong.

sgtsk

Seriously, there's no recourse if that happens. Could our CPF withdrawal challenges be Europe's pension woes in future?

My 2 cents.
Considering Singapore's very limited natural endowments, Singapore is a very challenged country, economically, politically and security wise. Report says the economy is about 80% services and 20% manufacturing, from about 55-45% some 30 years ago. As Singapore is not gaining much trying to move up the value chain in manufacturing in last 10 years, manufacturing could hardly be relied upon for future growth. Fortunately, there are things like IRs, Wealth management hub, financial hub, tourism...But services sectors are labour intensive hence FT and infrastructure issues. With the dwindling true blue Singaporeans due to retirement and low birth rate, it seems to me that, FT problems will grow even bigger even just to make close to zero growth(hence the poputaion white paper). If there are signs where costs keep going up and budget deficits start to occur more often, then that probably means the shits are getting closer(but still quite far I hope) to the fan and more troubling symptons are expected to show up.

alnine

My 2 cents.
Considering Singapore's very limited natural endowments, Singapore is a very challenged country, economically, politically and security wise. Report says the economy is about 80% services and 20% manufacturing, from about 55-45% some 30 years ago. As Singapore is not gaining much trying to move up the value chain in manufacturing in last 10 years, manufacturing could hardly be relied upon for future growth. Fortunately, there are things like IRs, Wealth management hub, financial hub, tourism...But services sectors are labour intensive hence FT and infrastructure issues. With the dwindling true blue Singaporeans due to retirement and low birth rate, it seems to me that, FT problems will grow even bigger even just to make close to zero growth(hence the poputaion white paper). If there are signs where costs keep going up and budget deficits start to occur more often, then that probably means the shits are getting closer(but still quite far I hope) to the fan and more troubling symptons are expected to show up.

Also 2 cents from me.
Does higher gdp means more happiness ?
Can less be more ?
Will you be happy with a 20k pm job but only see your kids on the weekend or a 12k pm job and have weekday evenings with them ?
Is getting more people the only way to grow the economy ?

For those army train officer you will know you need time to re-org re-supply rest before you can advance the troops again.

Funds Transfer

Also 2 cents from me.
Does higher gdp means more happiness ?
Can less be more ?
Will you be happy with a 20k pm job but only see your kids on the weekend or a 12k pm job and have weekday evenings with them ?
Is getting more people the only way to grow the economy ?

For those army train officer you will know you need time to re-org re-supply rest before you can advance the troops again.

Words of wisdom. I agree with you wholeheartedly. You must be trained in logistics during your army days?

jasonjst

Might as well use clinics and hospitals in Iskandar and since these foreign doctor maybe also sub stardard one !