• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are you cheapskate enough to wake up early to save on MRT? If yes, pls click here.

Free travel on trains before 7.45am from June 24

22571071e.jpg

Commuters rushing to board a train at City Hall MRT station on Dec 18, 2011. Commuters who are willing to get up earlier and travel to the city area before 7.45am will get free train rides from June 24. -- ZAOBAO FILE PHOTO: CHUNG KUN SOON

By Jermyn Chow

Commuters who are willing to get up earlier and travel to the city area before 7.45am will get free train rides from June 24.

Those who get off trains between 7.45am and 8am in the morning will get a 50 cents discount on their fares. The incentives are part of the government's year-long trial to coax train users to travel earlier and spread out the peak hour crush.

The trial was announced by Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew on Tuesday morning at Raffles Place station. The free travel trial will be implemented in 16 stations where commuters alight, including City Hall, Raffles Place and the Clarke Quay.

The government will pick up the tab for the trial which is expected to cost $10 million.

lianbeng

FREE MRT Ride before 07:45 wef 24th June 2013!

BREAKING:PAP offers FREE MRT travel for OFF PEAK HOURS starting 24th June..HUAT AH
SINGAPORE — Authorities here have announced perks to encourage pre-peak hour travel by MRT.

Commuters who end their journeys at 16 designated MRT stations in the city area before 7.45am on weekdays will enjoy free travel.

Those that exit between 7.45am and 8am will be given a discount of up to 50 cents.

This one year trial by the Land Transport Authority will begin on 24th June 2013 and will be funded by the Government.

The objective of the trial is to encourage commuters to travel early and spread out peak hour crowds.

lianbeng says: good news! :biggrin: or bad?

looneytan

Re: FREE MRT Ride before 07:45 wef 24th June 2013!

what they don't tell you is from 5 AM to 7 45 AM trains will run at 45 minutes interval

looneytan

Re: Are you cheapskate enough to wake up early to save on MRT? If yes, pls click here

WTF, at Clementi by 7 AM everyday the station pack like sardine already

what they don't tell you is from 5 AM to 7 45 AM trains will run at 45 minutes interval

How to make babies like that? Finish work at 10pm, go home, do some leftover office work, eat, bathe, sleep early just to get 50c discount...what a joke!!!:p $2 off I wake up & go before 745am...wait a minute, we work 9-5, we arrive at office building 8am...so go figure!

For 50cts off..we must be numskull...the 60% are & they will heartily approve..

THE_CHANSTER

Re: Are you cheapskate enough to wake up early to save on MRT? If yes, pls click here

The government will pick up the tab for the trial which is expected to cost $10 million.

Better to spend this on improving infrastructure. It's only an experiment and fares will return to normal after the trial?
Looks like ERP for the MRT if you ask me. Expect long queues at stations gates just before 7.45a.m.

END the journey at the city by 7.45AM???????????????

THE GOVERNMENT WHO FUNDING THIS MORONIC INITIATIVE MUST BE FUCKING MAD AND HIGH OF CUM.

saratogas

Free... Very good! Can I knock off from work earlier since I start work earlier...

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

END the journey at the city by 7.45AM???????????????

THE GOVERNMENT WHO FUNDING THIS MORONIC INITIATIVE MUST BE FUCKING MAD AND HIGH OF CUM.

Agreed. It's mad.

Can't see how they can prevent a mass exit at these 16 stations before 7:45 and then try to re-enter again to take advantage of whatever savings for those with onward journey. This will create another problem.

Want to bet how crowded the stations will be for the cheapos that want to save on the trip.

CheeByeKiaTonyChat

When a sinkie say source please, I will reply..sinkie..go find it yourself.

CB KIA,

All these grass dieting bullshit etc never make you a gracious person. You are still a fucking lowlife pest.

cockie

Just Wayang Show only.......

Equalisation

wah ... just right for me .... have to reach workplace at 7.30 am working as a gardener..

.... yippeeee .... can save money....:smile:

Boliao

Free travel on trains before 7.45am from June 24

22571071e.jpg

50cents discount and FREE are two very different thing. Either the reporter failed Mathematics and English or he is just plainly, a liar.