Car tries to cut into your lane - do you give way or not?

LITTLEREDDOT

We have experienced it so many times: we are in a long queue of cars (whether at the Causeway, during Qin Ming, traffic jam etc). Then a car from the lane next to you tries to squeeze in front of you car. Do you give way?

As a matter of courtesy, yes. Reasons? Because the driver may indeed not know that such a long queue has build. The car may have have been trying to filter into the lane for some time but no kind soul has given way to that car. Acts of kindness, if one believes in karma, and in what goes round, comes round.

As a matter of principle, no. Reasons? Because everyone is queuing and there is no room for queue jumper.

What would you do?

with signals on, will give way :o:o:o

If there is a queuing lane, I will not give way these bastards are simply inconsiderate and want to cut queue. Examples are queues to enter/exit highway.

with signals on, will give way :o:o:o

I also tend to follow this. At the least the other driver should have the courtesy to put on left turning signal. Not putting on car signal indicates to me that the driver can't be bothered or expects everyone to give way.

If she's a Chio Lady driver & waVing her intention across to you; what choice have you not to give?..
:)

Depends, the last time i got into an accident cos i purposely don't want give way cos i saw the arsehole zip zapping from my rear mirror machiam his Grandfather's road. Reminds me of PAP. :oIo:

I also tend to follow this. At the least the other driver should have the courtesy to put on left turning signal. Not putting on car signal indicates to me that the driver can't be bothered or expects everyone to give way.

Same for me, signal, means 99% I will give way, no signal 50/50. No signal and yet tries to do a reckless act like causing motorcyclist to almost hit? 100% will not give way.

Have to see the timing even if the bugger signals.

hope bros here don't fall off the chairs hor. me 99% give way to cars cutting in whether got signal or not. nowdays, not rushing to go anywhere and i usually plan to arrive destination earlier so no need to rush.

Uh,,do u want yr car to be damaged? Do u want to meet an accident?

We have experienced it so many times: we are in a long queue of cars (whether at the Causeway, during Qin Ming, traffic jam etc). Then a car from the lane next to you tries to squeeze in front of you car. Do you give way?

As a matter of courtesy, yes. Reasons? Because the driver may indeed not know that such a long queue has build. The car may have have been trying to filter into the lane for some time but no kind soul has given way to that car. Acts of kindness, if one believes in karma, and in what goes round, comes round.

As a matter of principle, no. Reasons? Because everyone is queuing and there is no room for queue jumper.

What would you do?

I will always make way for those who gives signal before hand. It's basic road courtesy.

lianbeng noticed some drivers even signal early also no chance coz vehicles behind keep closing in to cover the gap in front dun give them a chance! :D

karma is bullshits tell it to dictators who had slaughtered millions.

if people are in hurray just let them go first.

if saving just a few mins so they could rest their asses on a sofa earlier is so valuable to them. as if they are mssing out on some billion dollars deals.

me i take my own sweet time. hee!

i tested this .no lie.

i often try my best to give way to drivers
in return, sometime when i need favours, other drivers will give way to me.

i guess this is good karma.we cant see it..but can encounter it

In Sinkieland the courtesy is normally maintained. But all hell break lose at the checkpoints to n from JB. I think it is a fact that the Johoreans started it all hence Sinkies rose to the challenge. Come lah who scared who! Of course if you have a nice n expensive car lan lan have to avoid conflict. You will be the one suffering financially when you are entangled in an accident with some shitty scrap metal.

In my younger days, I would have tried to prevent anyone from trying to cut a queue in front of me (lack of maturity on my part). My attitude was that it was rude and inconsiderate of them not to wait in line like everybody else.

Nowadays, in 95% of cases, I would give way to them. The only exception would be at the Checkpoint at JB. Here, there is no excuse for queue jumping and I am very happy when I see the Mat TP standing at the middle of the Causeway ready to hand out summons to errant Sinkie drivers.

In Sinkieland the courtesy is normally maintained. But all hell break lose at the checkpoints to n from JB. I think it is a fact that the Johoreans started it all hence Sinkies rose to the challenge. Come lah who scared who! Of course if you have a nice n expensive car lan lan have to avoid conflict. You will be the one suffering financially when you are entangled in an accident with some shitty scrap metal.

From my limited experience in terms of how gungho or reckless one drives, classified and ranked according from the most timid to the least:

Learner driver in any car
New cars
New Super cars
Super cars
Branded cars
Older branded cars
Normal cars
Old normal cars
Very old branded cars
Very old normal cars
Reckless driver in a branded car
Reckless driver in a super car
Reckless driver in a new super car
Junk car soon to be scrapped

Conclusion - Junk car = Unless its stolen (else it will be the Alpha car other than the police of course), otherwise my learned old neighbour classifies this as the Road Warrior class as everyone gives way to them and anytime an accident occurs, you can be sure you are in for a lot more than the other party unless of course its bad enough that the Road Warrior car (and driver) gets totalled. Many still drives their "battering rams" around and really fast for good measure.

It is in a way like animal chess of yore except that the junk car wins most of the time.