• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How We Assess People

Thick Face Black Heart

The one planted will not have the means to usurp you in power. At best, victory in a SMC or GRC. His handlers continue to call the shots. He/she is merely a pawn.

So what if the PAP has planted agents everywhere to gather info? Malaysia's BN does the same, that did not stop Anwar winning the 2/3 majority. PAP has shown times and again that its intel is often horrendous. They misread the ground at Punggol East, and they constantly get faulty ground readings from their civil servants which resulted in the disastrous population white paper.

No ruling party can accept losing seats to opposition even if they have their kakis inside. That is why a vote for opposition is always the best way to smack the PAP on the face.

Conqueror

Chiam says he was kicked out by CSJ. As usual the truth is not so binary and a lot more grey.

Basically egos started tripping over each other, CSJ missed the gorilla in the room and ended up jumping into the yellow river that can never be washed clean, and the rest is history.

Chee was misunderstood. But, he thought he could care less as long as he do his part as a 'saviour' for democracy. The problem with democracy is that pirates also believe in democracy. That's the trouble. No pirates will want to do good except looting together with their evil Captain Crook. And that was the 80s ?

Things have changed a little. I hope more can see that SDP and Chee are working for the common good. He isn't perfect. But, he is with us at least for now.

Bro, your English is absolutely fine.

OSA, Intelligence Services etc are important to maintain the sovereignty of a country. It is not different to a lock that you have on your front door. In the mid 90s, a retired Colonel gave away state secrets to the Malaysians for a sizeable sum. Can you imagine in a conflict our men from armour and guards getting ambushed. moment they crossed into Malaysia.

The Malaysians have twice compromised political candidates in Singapore - one a PAP MP and another an opposition candidate. What the intelligence services do is a professional job but its their political masters that abuse the intelligence to retain power.

In the 80s, nearly everyone sitting on a University's students union was acting for the Intelligence Service except for the ladies in view of the know Tan Wah Piow incident. Though they did not what each was doing or they too was in the same boat. One of them despite getting results in the last quartile actually got a fulbright scholarship. Go figure.

Another example is when TCH let the cat out of the bag when he revealed something that only WP CEC members could only know. So the layman now knows that there is a snake within the house. What GD and I are saying is there are usually more than one snake.

The Communist Party of Malaysia was led by Lai Teck from 1938 to 1947 and he reported to the Government of the day. Can you imagine the mortal enemy of the Govt has a head who is a Govt agent.

In conclusion, the tide is turning, the abuse cannot go on forever. After Punggol and the white paper debacle, they are in trouble.

scroolbal, me england might not be good in writing but reading and compre no problem.

me point is why keep using osa to scare peasants har? ng boon gay fuck cecila is umder osa boh?

if pappies is clean, why need osa? fuck lah, just to protect the mother fuckers who started the dirty laundry.

i say fuck osa and fuck isd. now need isd for fuck? saf and mata useless arh? maybe they are.

osa and isa just to keep famileee in power. so i say fuck you to those who are part of this to keep regime in power.

Saw this thread many times past two days but did not come in because thought jw asking how to ass someone.

Saw the sudden surge in traffic over the past few hours came in and realized I was wrong.

OSA, Intelligence Services etc are important to maintain the sovereignty of a country. It is not different to a lock that you have on your front door. In the mid 90s, a retired Colonel gave away state secrets to the Malaysians for a sizeable sum. Can you imagine in a conflict our men from armour and guards getting ambushed. moment they crossed into Malaysia.

The Malaysians have twice compromised political candidates in Singapore - one a PAP MP and another an opposition candidate. What the intelligence services do is a professional job but its their political masters that abuse the intelligence to retain power.

Another example is when TCH let the cat out of the bag when he revealed something that only WP CEC members could only know. So the layman now knows that there is a snake within the house. What GD and I are saying is there are usually more than one snake.

If I may add, the OSA is not only there to maintain sovereignty of a country. It is around to deter civil servants from disclosing sensitive info to family and friends. If our current DPM was charged previously for offences under the OSA, it is indeed a powerful Act. OSA serves another purpose - no need for the govt to explain too many things!

Yes, the retired Col was arrested for OSA offences. Lived in a GCB. Shares the same name as a billionaire in S'pore. Another superscale chap also arrested. Related to an ambassador.

Saw this thread many times past two days but did not come in because thought jw asking how to ass someone.

Saw the sudden surge in traffic over the past few hours came in and realized I was wrong.

You are a dumbfuck too :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Thick Face Black Heart

If I may add, the OSA is not only there to maintain sovereignty of a country. It is around to deter civil servants from disclosing sensitive info to family and friends. If our current DPM was charged previously for offences under the OSA, it is indeed a powerful Act. OSA serves another purpose - no need for the govt to explain too many things!

OSA is necessary for any government to function. It is the other instruments of the state that has been abused repeatedly. Take for eg Malaysia just abolished ISA but we have not. As recent as two years ago the M'sians were still detaining journalists and bloggers under ISA. But on verge of losing power they have no choice but to change. It shows when you destroy a dictatorial regime's hold on Parliament, there will be real change.

Thick Face Black Heart

Chee was misunderstood. But, he thought he could care less as long as he do his part as a 'saviour' for democracy.

No use being idealistic if you're not given the power to act, worse if the people don't believe in your ideals.

Idealism must be practical and based on an understanding of political power.

Fishypie

OSA is necessary for any government to function. It is the other instruments of the state that has been abused repeatedly. Take for eg Malaysia just abolished ISA but we have not. As recent as two years ago the M'sians were still detaining journalists and bloggers under ISA. But on verge of losing power they have no choice but to change. It shows when you destroy a dictatorial regime's hold on Parliament, there will be real change.

Oh ReaLLy ah ?..:cool:

Agree. Manipulating stock markets etc.

Shocked by the amount of money that the Malaysians were prepared to pay. If I had my way, he would be in Changi forever.

Yes, the retired Col was arrested for OSA offences. Lived in a GCB. Shares the same name as a billionaire in S'pore. Another superscale chap also arrested. Related to an ambassador.

Thick Face Black Heart

Pinky Loong must be kicking himself in the foot for saying two decades ago that the PAP govt should consider abolishing ISA if M'sia does.

Now he is using the excuse that ISA in SG has been modified to target terrorist and so can remain.

Bro, thanks for the light hearted comment. I was laughing. How is the countryside. I too take to the countryside or a remote location for a breather.

No one can be misunderstood for 2 decades. He inherited a party with 2 sitting MPs, it was the most popular party and WP was nowhere. He however misunderstood that voters cast the vote and not the PAP. Pointless talking to the PAP, standing out Parliament, Istana etc. Fly all over the world while Ah Soh and Ah Lau struggling to make ends meet.

Not sure if you realise that you cannot eat human rights, democracy and all other abstract things like animal rights and satisfy your hunger. You tell Ah Pek about human rights and he thinks your brains is in your arse. You talk about capital punishment, he thinks you are crazy. What he wants to hear is healthcare, housing and jobs for his children, and hope for the future.

Guess who flew to Yale last year as Punggol BE was going to start? Still misunderstood?

Chee was misunderstood.

Bro, thanks for the light hearted comment. I was laughing. How is the countryside. I too take to the countryside or a remote location for a breather.

Surprised you came into the Thai thread cos normally nothing serious there. Thanks.

It was a short but very necessary break.

I am always visiting the thread. Find it very interesting and informative. Same with some other folders where I don't say anything but enjoy reading.

Surprised you came into the Thai thread cos normally nothing serious there. Thanks.

It was a short but very necessary break.

Fook Seng

Not only to control the political situation generally, but to use as a trump card in the event of anticipated impending defeat, when all else has failed.

It is like giving a comrade a gun and say "Kill me with this if I am going to suffer a life endangering injury". Wonder whether that comrade will do it way before that happens to save his own skin?

theblackhole

if one can wear a mask during a F-2-F encounter, facial expression and tone of voice tak pakai already.
if need be, it's more of non-verbal cues and the vibes during the F-2-F that makes up the perception.

during a synchronous chat on the other hand, one relies on the speed of the response, the choice of words and the vibes of the conversation. me never underestimated the vibes :p:p:p

yes, totally agree - for a very experienced cmc user like yourself.

maybe that's one of the reasons i did not go into chat room:smile:...not for the weak-hearted....have a nice sunday zhihau..huat!!!!

Fook Seng

The one planted will not have the means to usurp you in power. At best, victory in a SMC or GRC. His handlers continue to call the shots. He/she is merely a pawn.

There was a risk taken with LTK's entry to Aljunied. What if he had stayed at HG? Would the WP have won in Aljunied? Even though in power for the past 5-6 decades, there are things the PAP cannot control.

Don't think his handlers call the shots either as there are things that even the PAP cannot control and that is the mood of the people and how they vote. Even within the parties, the PAP, the WP or the SDP, many things cannot be controlled by the top leaders. BE PE 2013 was a very good example within the SDP.

I am sure, it is very disturbing for the PAP to suffer three consecutive defeats to the WP: Aljunied, BE HG and BE PE. Except for HG, the other two are both landmarks, not only for losing but for the manner that these were lost.

It is for these reasons that the PAP now have to swallow wounded pride to review core principles in their policy making. Although appearing very limited and slow to most people, they are trying to tackle the FT issue without causing an economic backlash.

There are also initiatives to try and arrest the cost of living issue with the new housing policies, at the same time solving a few other issues along the way, like the issue of singles and divorcees and surprise of surprises the TFR issue by facilitating the married couples to be housed earlier.

I also see a much belated attempt to grow the local enterprises with the SME schemes but this could already be too late.

The transportation issue is a harder nut to crack and probably would have to wait for 2030 to have it finally settled. The first step to me, is the shifting of the control from car ownership (COE) to road usage and that will come around the time of the next GE with the introduction of the GPS system. With that PAP will not have to answer why the only the rich can buy a car but not the poor.

More need to be done to bring down the cost of living further (and all these somehow are related to property cost) so that consumerism and domestic economy can develop into another engine of growth instead of just relying on export sectors which are extremely volatile.

Whether all these changes can bring about a turn of luck for the PAP it is very difficult to tell. The fence sitters might possibly swing back but the longer trend of voters wanting a strong effective second, maybe a third voice, will continue to grow.

If the PAP continues to lose popular votes and seats, I can't see why internal problems like what we see in SDP will not crop up in the future. These are people solidly behind the Party. What is it for people who are just agents?