• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

At last PAP MPs admit SGs are being discriminated against in hiring

At yesterday’s (6 Mar) Parliamentary sitting, even PAP MPs are admitting that local PMETs continue to face unfair competition from foreign workers.

This is despite measures announced in Budget 2013 to curb the entry of foreign workers. For example, it was announced that foreign worker quotas for service industries will be further reduced.

MOM has also announced that from 1 July this year, the qualifying salary for S pass holders will be raised from $2,000 to $2,200 per month. There will also be a new tiered system which means that older and more experienced S pass applicants will have to qualify at higher salaries.

MOM will continue to tighten eligibility requirements for the Employment Pass workforce, especially Q1 pass holders. In the longer term, it will put in place a framework to ensure that firms give fair consideration to Singaporeans in their hiring practices.

Mr Liang Eng Hwa, MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, said, “There are clearly still a number of firms that visibly hire a large proportion of foreigners particularly in the managerial level. You can’t help but think whether it is really that difficult to find Singaporeans to fill those managerial positions. These include job roles like HR, finance, compliance, auditing or general admin.”

“Or is it a case where some employers or hirers may already have a pre-determined mindset that foreigners with international experience can do a better job? More engagements with such employers are necessary so that they give Singaporeans a fair chance.”

“Hence I agree with my colleagues in this House that some form of market sensing practice, when companies apply for EPs, is necessary. While it may not always lead to a Singaporean hire, at least it makes the employers more conscious in their hiring process and gives our local PMETs a chance.”

Even the Tripartite Alliance for Fair Employment Practices (TAFEP) in an interview with Zaobao on 4 March 2013, admitted that some financial institutions are discriminating Singaporeans in their hiring (‘TAFEP admits some financial institutions hire own FTs rather than SGs‘).

TAFEP told reporters that last year, it received feedback that foreign managers at some financial institutions were in favor of hiring their own countrymen, rather than Singaporeans.

TAFEP contacted these financial institutions. Senior management at these institutions agreed that certain departments did have many employees from a single country but gave the assurance that henceforth they would hire more Singaporeans. The country was not named but it is understood to be India.

Too late. Admission says nothing of the pain caused. The quick way is to enforce fines on those who discriminate against Singaporeans. If Singapore is so great, they will stay. If not, they are just cheap mama front shops. Our fucked up over paid stupid fake scholars caused all this. Fire them and let them work in the real private sector. They will not survive.

We must re-hire the entire cabinet, SINgaporeans are so stupid people, the same people that caused all the problems we face everyday, are the same people now doing a "wayang" to help YOU. Get rid of them & start afresh, that will solve our problems immediately.:mad:

Lets do a litmus common sense test and see if we are over-reacting or not. Lets imagine a typical department Management meeting in 4 companies in their home countries. Lets say there are 10 people there.

1) US (West Coast) . 70% US, 20% Latin American, 10% others
2) HK 70% HK, 30% Expat
3) Malaysia 90% Malaysians, 10% Expat
4) Singapore 50% Singaporeans, 40% Malaysians (PR), 10% Expat (Asians or Ang Moh)

Correct or not?

This reflects their total lack of conscience and integrity over the years when there have been significant complaints about the practices.
No wonder the PAP says that Singapore is in a critical crisis - confusing SG with PAP.

This is the result of their policy to have growth at all cost...it is like a girl who want money no matter what it take...even if she is to become a Pros.

This reflects their total lack of conscience and integrity over the years when there have been significant complaints about the practices.
No wonder the PAP says that Singapore is in a critical crisis - confusing SG with PAP.

PAP is in denial mah. Cannot say they fucked up. No worries. All their fucked fake scholars are in sight. EDB, IE Singapore, MTI have the worst congregation of crap. I proposed that these 3 organizations be taken out. Next, fire the current chief statistician who was put in their years back because he will sell his mother father away for money. The ones before could not sell their souls. Increase the size of DOS and convert to ministry of statistics, we may get somewhere. Oh, MAS also needs to have people fired.

this has been happening for many years already. if you were in the IT industry about 10 yrs ago you would have first hand experience of what its like when he floodgates were opened to Indian IT graduates. within 1-2 yrs of hiring an Indian as IT director, my company's whole IT department became little india. one reason he gave when asked him during a meeting was that thyy communicate better with each other if they r indian. its true actually, some of them cannot say a sentence in english

i no longer in the company but i heard he left and went to silicon valley. guess the race and country of origin of the person who took over him as IT director?

WE DEMAND IMMEDIATE ACTION NOW !!! Send all the Errant Singapore Employers/Bosses to SAF Detention Barracks for treason.
KNNCCB to the PAP !!!
KNNCCB to the Singapore Employers/Bosses !!!
KNNCCB to the NTUC !!!
KNNCCB to the 60 % !!!
KNNCCB to the Foreigner Workers !!!

WE DEMAND IMMEDIATE ACTION NOW !!! Send all the Errant Singapore Employers/Bosses to SAF Detention Barracks for treason.
KNNCCB to the PAP !!!
KNNCCB to the Singapore Employers/Bosses !!!
KNNCCB to the NTUC !!!
KNNCCB to the 60 % !!!
KNNCCB to the Foreigner Workers !!!

No need. Just tax them 30% of their gross profits

Lets do a litmus common sense test and see if we are over-reacting or not. Lets imagine a typical department Management meeting in 4 companies in their home countries. Lets say there are 10 people there.

4) Singapore 50% Singaporeans, 40% Malaysians (PR), 10% Expat (Asians or Ang Moh)

Correct or not?

In sinkapore, it will be 20 pct sinkees, 50 pct M'sians and 30 pct foreigners.

Maybe u r rite. Afterall our pop is almost 50:50 with 50% Sinkies. And u will find more FTs in the workplace as they need to have a job to come to Singapore.

Seriously, nothing much will be done. They just talk only...but any concrete plan to change any policy? No? Meaning talk cock to make you guys shiok only.