• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

List of hawker centers/food courts with tray return

Yes. This is thinking out of the box.
Let's broadcast this and get someone to do a FB page or what and spread the message.......
Make it into an ANTI CAMPAIGN.....
Lets unite and show them the middle finger! We are not sheep!

All can play the game lah!..go along with the flow...read the huge stickers says "RETURN THE TRAY", not the plates, the bowl, the cutlery or the leftovers...so return the TRAY ha ha ha

Their ideas always fall flat in their faces...unless you want yourself to fall flat on your face, when they say "trial period" over...we fine those who don't return the tray...so what we do, we help them... we conveniently leave the leftovers all over the table..& return the tray with the plates etc ha ha ha

Then next they will organize a clean after you eat campaign....ha ha ha...better still, the food stall operators will feed you directly after you pay....:D

The society can be above the dirty crap and behaviour of the politicians. It is more gracious and civilized to be conscious of public behaviour and ethics. As for the pappies, just simply vote them out.

since NEA is charging hawker $500 a month for "cleaning service" then why should i help the cleaning company to cut cost? if it the same system as 20yrs ago where there were no "cleaning company" and it the hawkers assistants who clear the table after the customer, i wont mind clearing the table after i used it. now everything also talk money, since money already paid then why i work for free? i had been a hawker assistant when i was a kid, so i cannot accept why the hawkers cannot do it themselves and had to pay money to NEA to engage a cleaning company. dont tell me not every hawker stalls have assistant. u come back from Ozland, go food centre, there can be as many as five person inside a stall yet customers still must SELF SERVICE. ptui... lazy bastards.......

Please contribute to a list of hawker centers /food courts that have implemented tray return policy. Those that do not agree with this policy can choose to avoid such eating places.

1. Tiong Bahru food centre.

we can still continue eating but we do not ve to follow the return the trays rule. the cleaners are there to do it. we must not always follow the pappies' order.

But voting with your wallet and boycotting will make those hawkers panic and frustrated. They will heap additional pressure on Balashitnan to scrap his farcical scheme.

this is just the beginning. if majority follows the return the tray, very soon they shall implement the not returning the tray fine of $50.

just wait and see. pap only thinks of the final benefit to enrich their pockets.

1. aiyoh! correction leh.
2. "Kallang Estate Fresh Market & Food Centre -17 Old Airport Road"
3. it does not happen there hoh:D
4. i was there just 2 weeks back.

my share : The new Ang Mo Kio ITE along amk ave 5, where the kofu is open to the general public.

Agree with Agrophobic.

1. The issue is the way that this is being carried out - telling people while they are eating, not being considerate with elderly patron etc are the issues.

2. In a tight labour market, resources should be better utilised. We are bringing in PRCs, foreigners to clear plates which does not seem right productive wise. We just do not have the space.

3. It will take time and once every HC has this practice, most people will fall in line including the superheroes who claim they will fight the system. Most people will not want to be the odd one - eating by themselves or with their families and not removing the trays while others look on. Only a clown will do that in the belief that he is fighting the PAP. There are better issues to grasp the PAP by the balls. Reminds me of women's lib when they threw away their bras only to realise that they needed it badly to look really good, not just for themselves but against other women.

4. The fight is with the PAP to ensure that Singaporeans are alloted hawker stalls where they can be earn a decent leave. The fight is with the PAP to ensure that private operators do not profiteer at the expense of stall holders and customers. The local hawker centre is close to the hearts of Singaporeans and not a venue for few private individuals to make a fortune.

5. There will be always be cleaners but small numbers who can focus on hygiene and to ensure that the place is better than it is now.

6. About time we also get rid of people who have poor table manners - bones all over the place, used tissues, etc. As Agro pointed out, these can all go on the tray. Opportunity to fix bad behaviour.

So lets be the eyes and ears, hold Viv B and NEA to account on how HCs thrive and Singaporeans as a whole benefit. I would like to see NEA go out of their way to see traditional fare and not something cooked by PRCs on all HC. I have no issues if a small number of stalls are set aside for new cuisine and run by foreigners. We have to expand our horizon and accommodate the world. In fact HC can be our heritage site for our food culture, the last bastion and its would see the ideal venue . It is already the only hope for the elderly and those who cannot afford to have their meals elsewhere. It not all about making money. Its our identity, our culture and probably our last frontier.

It would be nice if the locals can take on the initiative to be gracious and considerate without the authorities coaxing them to be. Maybe I've underestimated the people of Singapore.

No need to talk about gracious behavior when country gone to the dogs with the white dogs letting in foreign dogs.
Fuck them show them we reject their stewpig initiative

The idea is to leave the table as clean as when they first occupied it. Of course some accidents may occur during the meal and cleaners are still needed in such cases. It will start moving the the right direction once people have this attitude in their minds.

What about soup, gravy spilt onto the tables and chairs? Do all diners actually clean up?

We assume that ALL diners put ALL trash, leftovers, bones, tissue etc onto the tray and dispose. There are diners who clear only the plates but leave the rubbish on the table.

We shouldn't just be thinking in terms of money. Here, this tray return subject is an issue on civic consciousness. Why should a price be put on this?

since NEA is charging hawker $500 a month for "cleaning service" then why should i help the cleaning company to cut cost? if it the same system as 20yrs ago where there were no "cleaning company" and it the hawkers assistants who clear the table after the customer, i wont mind clearing the table after i used it. now everything also talk money, since money already paid then why i work for free? i had been a hawker assistant when i was a kid, so i cannot accept why the hawkers cannot do it themselves and had to pay money to NEA to engage a cleaning company. dont tell me not every hawker stalls have assistant. u come back from Ozland, go food centre, there can be as many as five person inside a stall yet customers still must SELF SERVICE. ptui... lazy bastards.......

We shouldn't just be thinking in terms of money. Here, this tray return subject is an issue on civic consciousness. Why should a price be put on this?

return tray = civic consciousness? paiseh lor... i only a uncouth man.:D

The idea is to leave the table as clean as when they first occupied it. Of course some accidents may occur during the meal and cleaners are still needed in such cases. It will start moving the the right direction once people have this attitude in their minds.

Why should you do this at a hawker centre and not a restaurant? Where is the line drawn?

Tables are not toilets: it is not the responsibility of the diner to clean up the place for the next user.

I always return my trays at hawker center as I find this to be no big deal. But maybe I look like someone who do not do it as the cleaning aunty always like to remind me to do so.