• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt taking interventionist stance on consumer spending

These 2 measures, along with the earlier announced property cooling measure that limits the size of home loans according to the buyer’s income, show that the state is increasingly taking an interventionist stance in managing spending on the big ticket items of housing, cars and retirement. This is a major change in the PAP’s mindset, because the PAP had traditionally advoacated a political philosophy of personal responsibility. Citizens were expected to work hard, spend prudently, and save up a nest’s egg to take care of their parents and children. But now it appears the MIW have decided that Singaporeans cannot be trusted to spend money prudently.

- http://sgthinker.wordpress.com/2013...-the-singaporean-consumer-to-spend-prudently/

The fact remains that the average Sinkie is an idiot and it is for this reason that the PAP is forced to assume the "nanny" role out of necessity.

It is these morons that forced the govt to change the rules on CPF withdrawals. In the good old days, you were handed all of it in one lump sum upon turning 55. We all know what happened next. The simple minded descendants of Southern Chinese peasants blew the whole lot on whores and gambling in less than 6 months and ended up destitute.

Singaporeans deserve the nanny PAP. What they don't need is more liberty and more freedom. What they DO need is another nanny from hell in the form of a cloned 35 year old LKY. He'll sort things out in no time at all.

kingrant

Not sure if the nanny has not been dipping his/her hands into the cookie jar to play at Monopoly in TH.

The fact remains that the average Sinkie is an idiot and it is for this reason that the PAP is forced to assume the "nanny" role out of necessity.

It is these morons that forced the govt to change the rules on CPF withdrawals. In the good old days, you were handed all of it in one lump sum upon turning 55. We all know what happened next. The simple minded descendants of Southern Chinese peasants blew the whole lot on whores and gambling in less than 6 months and ended up destitute.

Singaporeans deserve the nanny PAP. What they don't need is more liberty and more freedom. What they DO need is another nanny from hell in the form of a cloned 35 year old LKY. He'll sort things out in no time at all.

Fook Seng

It is quite clear that the Government is just playing with supply and demand for the two key components of cost in this country - housing and transport.

For housing, as the demand cannot be reduced except for investment properties, the supply has to be adjusted to keep prices in check. We see more BTO projects being announced.

As for transportation, supply is restricted because of network limitation, so demand has to be reduced to keep COE prices in check. The marginal buyers will be the demand that has to be sacrificed.

For those who hanker for a decoupling of market benchmarking on the land cost component of HDB flat pricing, they have to be disappointed.

Similarly, for those who hope that the road network can be expanded to accommodate higher supply of COEs, they are also disappointed.

The Government's approach to both these cost issues is a cost free and painless budget for the State. That is extremely clear here.

Kinana

You have problem with economic concepts ah fool.

COE system has been in place for so long n it is already a direct control of supply in case you are not aware, nothing new.
The latest measures is not a manipulation of demand n supply by a changing of the product on offer.
Btw, such a measure is also not new but a reversion to an old policy.

Fook Seng

COE system has been in place for so long n it is already a direct control of supply in case you are not aware, nothing new.
The latest measures is not a manipulation of demand n supply by a changing of the product on offer.

You are the fool here and idiot as well. The entire concept of the COE system right from the start is fixing the supply. The demand determines the bid price. Go back to school my lady.

Kinana

You are the fool here and idiot as well. The entire concept of the COE system right from the start is fixing the supply. The demand determines the bid price. Go back to school my lady.

That's correct. It's not something new

For 1st time , I agree with you 100% x 1000 time

Agree only go back to old policy loan period reduce so do the loan amount %

But now it appears the MIW have decided that Singaporeans cannot be trusted to spend money prudently.

- http://sgthinker.wordpress.com/2013...-the-singaporean-consumer-to-spend-prudently/

They never trusted sinkees with their money ...that's why they introduced the CPF minimum sum. Then they realized that it is not because sinkees did not know how to manage their money, it was because they just couldn't earn enough. So, the annuity and reverse mortgage schemes came up. When you follow the PAP's policies, you get the impression that they make it up as they go along. They have no clue what they are doing. They create one scheme, then realize the adverse impacts but they can't reverse course, out comes another policy. The series of bad policies keep piling up. When will it go KABOOM?

Quote Originally Posted by Leongsam View Post

Maybe Samleong could be the reincarnation of LKY?

peppertail

If i say that i will get skinned and eaten alive in here, you get praise instead. Tell me your secret. There must be more to it then brownie points and citizenship...

Fook Seng

That's correct. It's not something new

Exactly. I did not say it is new. It is the same fxxking solution to solve our traffic problem and see the problems that it created. The unsatisfied demand will pay back in kind in the coming GE.

If i say that i will get skinned and eaten alive in here, you get praise instead. Tell me your secret. There must be more to it then brownie points and citizenship...

There's no secret. I own the forum. Everyone here is scared of me. It'll be knuckle dusters in a quiet cul-de-sac if they aren't careful.

There are a few who put on a false sense of bravado to show off to other members that they can abuse the forum host and get away with it but they all know they're treading on thin ice. One wrong move and they are history.

Lestat

They never trusted sinkees with their money ...that's why they introduced the CPF minimum sum. Then they realized that it is not because sinkees did not know how to manage their money, it was because they just couldn't earn enough. So, the annuity and reverse mortgage schemes came up. When you follow the PAP's policies, you get the impression that they make it up as they go along. They have no clue what they are doing. They create one scheme, then realize the adverse impacts but they can't reverse course, out comes another policy. The series of bad policies keep piling up. When will it go KABOOM?

It's not the fact that they never trust sinkees with their money. It's the fact that the CPF is already broke! They have no money for payout! That's why they resorted to delays for CPF payout. :biggrin:

ionzu

the problem began when the State had to save those morons from themselves. back then those fools who whored and drank away their CPF monies, should have been housed in a special zero-frills destitute facility. and all who enter will be held up as shining examples of what not-to-do with your money.

let the fools die. why fight darwin?

only Sinkies deserve the cloned LKY. Singaporeans have earned their liberty and freedom.

LeMans2011

NOnsense. Those old folks who emptied their CPF accounts for whores do not have much to begin with. I dint know SamLeong's main source of news is the Wan Bao.

Dear frens. Just my rants. The policy of restricting loans for cars is typical pap whack 1 area of the economy but not getting to the root causes of high coe.

1. Coe is high due to demand cause by foreigners and the current coe pricing structure favours the rich. To moderate the prices these areas need to be addressed

1. Implement luxury car category
2. Prevent foreigners from bidding for coe
3. Coe is pay as u bid

The new system just makes the majority middle class and locals pay for the excesses of the rich. Its the 99% suffer for the 1%