Why is the air over Singapore so damn smoky right now? Midnight 17-to-18 Feb 2013

UltimaOnline

Why is the air over Singapore so damn smoky right now? Midnight 17-to-18 Feb 2013

So jialat until I can't breathe properly, and I can't sleep at all with this suffocating smoke.

Your area got kena? I think it's whole of Singapore kena.

Haha its 1.30 am in JB and they are still firing off fireworks to pollute sinkee air. Lucky i got the next week off. Been like this for the whole day for every hour.

So jialat until I can't breathe properly, and I can't sleep at all with this suffocating smoke.

i thought i was the only who smelt it. went downstairs to see if got fire....

Pai tin gong lah拜天公.Surprisingly still a lot of Hokkiens practicing this traditional occasion ,not bad huh!I tot singkees all pai angmo god liao,use angmo names liao,suck angmo cocks liao??

天公庇佑!發阿!
tee gong po pi ah!

Pai tin gong lah拜天公.Surprisingly still a lot of Hokkiens practicing this traditional occasion ,not bad huh!I tot singkees all pai angmo god liao,use angmo names liao,suck angmo cocks liao??

Just went to neighbourhood temple to pai Tai Shui for my kid. Previous years when burning the paper money and kui ren tze, although crowded, but don't have to queue. Now two long queues and got to wait for 15 minutes just to complete the process. Looks like local religious practices still alive and well in Singapore, with many young people and couples with young kids. Especially during these difficult and uncertain times, religion provides a spiritual and emotional anchor for the population. Good thing to see!!

At same time, just wonder, if population nudge towards 6.9M, will we see instead a decline of such practices as trash will bring in their own practices and crowd out the locals? When trash critical mass reach is reached and they start doing whatever they have been doing in their own countries, not withstanding Singapore culture and practices, that is where high social costs will be paid by us, locals.

So sad!!:(:(:(

You must be a foreigner who's new in Singapore, a youngling, a 'person of the book faith' or an atheist.

Which one are you?

Just went to neighbourhood temple to pai Tai Shui for my kid. Previous years when burning the paper money and kui ren tze, although crowded, but don't have to queue. Now two long queues and got to wait for 15 minutes just to complete the process. Looks like local religious practices still alive and well in Singapore, with many young people and couples with young kids. Especially during these difficult and uncertain times, religion provides a spiritual and emotional anchor for the population. Good thing to see!!

At same time, just wonder, if population nudge towards 6.9M, will we see instead a decline of such practices as trash will bring in their own practices and crowd out the locals? When trash critical mass reach is reached and they start doing whatever they have been doing in their own countries, not withstanding Singapore culture and practices, that is where high social costs will be paid by us, locals.

So sad!!:(:(:(

Depend what kind of trash you are bringing in?If you start talking to PRC about religion,they will laugh at you for being primitive ,still worshipping gods and devils,it is something very backward,something lack of self confidence etc.....

Actually the PRC strike me hard why Singkees are still so primitive in believes like planning bombs,donating 10%,pai big joss sticks and bring in cows to their premises etc.........PRC says these kind of beliefs are belonging to ancient uneducated peasants and started to believe some stupid so called saints here and there....I find it so un-scientific and funny especially very highly educated singkees wasting their sundays to some congregations...........and worst still trying to make fun and despise their own cultures and traditions...........Unbelivable???