• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Khor says WP's proposals will hurt businesses

songsongpunggol

SINGAPORE: Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor has rebutted several points raised by the Chairman of the Workers' Party, Sylvia Lim, during the debate on the White Paper on Population.

She forgot that the 6.9m will hurt us the Sinkies!! Now which is more important!!

Hahaha, you are sharp brother. Now we have more and more MPs talking through their arse from their ivory towers.

Well if she has fallen over to the dark side,,will have to vote her out in the next GE

SINGAPORE: Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor has rebutted several points raised by the Chairman of the Workers' Party, Sylvia Lim, during the debate on the White Paper on Population.

Hahaha, you are sharp brother. Now we have more and more MPs talking through their arse from their ivory towers.

Simple question

Who does the PAP work for?

the people or the businesses in Singapore....

2 very different entities .....

Singapore is already an extremely wealthy nation (if Temasick didn't lose everything). If some companies want to close shop and move where got problem. If they close, they take with them some foreign talent/workers, Singaporeans more happy. Even when lose some of these companies, will we stave ??? I think not. Some industry are always looking for a more competitive labour market with adequate infrastructure to move their biz for more profit and we can't worry so much. They may save a little on labour cost but then other hidden cost or problems may be a bigger headache, especially for company that needs to protect their intellectual property rights. We should ignore these threats and if there is a real impact, then start cancelling work permits. There will be more and better companies coming to Singapore after these companies leave.

We have been making 100 bowls of rice a day but we need only 80 and keep the rest. We have been keeping our surplus for years. If tomorrow some business move and we are left with 90, we still have enough and surplus. It's high time we focus on people's happiness more than trying to put more money in rich's people pockets. We are not like the 70's where we have to attract labour intensive industry to give Singaporean jobs. Why do we worry that the foreigners have no job in their country and we should create jobs in Singapore for them.

The gov't should listen to the people. We don't want 6.9 million people, we want our space. We want to be happy.

hahahaha

business is important
people are important
economic growth is important
singaporeans are important
a nice balance act
69 is definitey nice
but it comes with a price tag too high

PAP only think of business, not about fertility rate. What else is not clear by now?

hahahaha

business is important
people are important
economic growth is important
singaporeans are important
a nice balance act
69 is definitey nice
but it comes with a price tag too high
fuck you kopishit. just zap u. song boh?

She is channelling Mitt Romney, failed USA presidential candidate.

"Businesses are people too!"

Friend better sapport Pap la. Otherwise how to recover your lost CPF? You want to retire at 100 is it?

Singapore is already an extremely wealthy nation (if Temasick didn't lose everything). If some companies want to close shop and move where got problem. If they close, they take with them some foreign talent/workers, Singaporeans more happy. Even when lose some of these companies, will we stave ??? I think not. Some industry are always looking for a more competitive labour market with adequate infrastructure to move their biz for more profit and we can't worry so much. They may save a little on labour cost but then other hidden cost or problems may be a bigger headache, especially for company that needs to protect their intellectual property rights. We should ignore these threats and if there is a real impact, then start cancelling work permits. There will be more and better companies coming to Singapore after these companies leave.

We have been making 100 bowls of rice a day but we need only 80 and keep the rest. We have been keeping our surplus for years. If tomorrow some business move and we are left with 90, we still have enough and surplus. It's high time we focus on people's happiness more than trying to put more money in rich's people pockets. We are not like the 70's where we have to attract labour intensive industry to give Singaporean jobs. Why do we worry that the foreigners have no job in their country and we should create jobs in Singapore for them.

The gov't should listen to the people. We don't want 6.9 million people, we want our space. We want to be happy.

Cannot support PAP lah. Have to cow father cow mother more otherwise they spend all our CPF money on all these infrastructure. Doesn't mean that if we achieved 6.9 million ppl, we are going to achieve the economic growth and income to recoup on all the investment in infrastructure. Temasick lose not enough, hate to see more $$$ go down the toilet.

By 2030 what if no foreigners want to come and those who are here leaves ? We would have invested all these money and not have sufficient income to recoup on the investment. 17 years is a long time and a lot can happen. We may even be in huge debt and by then maybe the Gov't have no money for CPF and start giving out worthless MRT shares for your CPF or give you another HBD flat nobody wants because they over-built.

The risk to spend so much on aggressive infrastructure development can be a real financial risk. God forbids if we have a war in the region around that time, who can come to work in Singapore. Everyone is increasing defence spending in the region.

Amy Khor is about as shallow as you can get in a PAP MP.
Instead of making substantive comments outlining why the government White Paper is better, she starts making general and unsupported statements in parliament, forgetting she is not in her neighbourhood wet market.

Amy Khor is about as shallow as you can get in a PAP MP.
Instead of making substantive comments outlining why the government White Paper is better, she starts making general and unsupported statements in parliament, forgetting she is not in her neighbourhood wet market.

Businesses, both local n foreign are already crying. WP still cannot see? Come on.

Once again, a representative of our current government has forgotten that their job is to make the lives of ordinary citizens better and not to make businesses or anything/anyone else better.

if there is no business here
this country will just collapse
nobody will want to stay
not even for one miserable day

Once again, a representative of our current government has forgotten that their job is to make the lives of ordinary citizens better and not to make businesses or anything/anyone else better.

that is absolutely correct sir. But how can our lives be good when businesses close down?

Stop running Singapore like a business, and start running it like a country. That's all.