• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are Singaporeans so unhappy?

OldFart

Every morning Singaporeans wake up

- in a million dollar or almost million dollar home (and the price is still going up

- drive the most expensive cars in the world (why they not proud that can afford?)

- have the State watch over their safety through world class police force

- can complain to any government agency and expect to get a respond and things done quickly

- proud owner of the world's least corrupt civil servants

- safety in food and clean public eating places

Fully agree with you. It's good to see more intelligent members in this on line community.

You mean Inflated flats and cars? And don't forget, you pay a million just for the lease. I hope you're just being sacastic :rolleyes:

The cars are flats are not inflated. They are a proviledge to live n drive in a small crowded island that people all over the world want to live in.

Can't agree. It's only those third world people that wants to come here. Those who had a choice would rather escape to Australia, UK, Canada. And they are not here to live permanently. They use singapore as a stepping stone only.

Its ok, we don't need them to be permanent. They are here to serve us.

Serve us??? They are taking away jobs meant for Singaporeans. I have seen companies employing clerks and admins that ordinary Singaporeans could do.

Contrary to most people's beliefs no one is tied down in Singapore by the government if not happy can just check out any time you want and CPF will be fully paid without any delay with interest. All HDB flats can be converted to market rates, those who purchase their COE low can make a windfall selling their cars now. No one is stopping anyone. One can be loyal to the country but no one is asking you to. The important question is - not happy why don't make plans to go?

Fully agree. I have added to your points.

i think they want to leegime to go...not them...i dun think they are stopping.

Fully agree. I have added to your points.

Thank you Leongsam.

I sometimes wonder why Singaporeans always say their have no money and money is locked up in CPF. I say its nonsense. If money is not in your pocket its not your money. So if PAP takes 20% of your pay and locked it up in CPF take it as paying tax and its not your money anymore.

(continue next post, limited to 500 words)

(continues here)

If you earn $1,000 but get only $800 please don't dream you have $1,000, accept that you have $800 n if you really need that $200 more then go make it think of a way to get it instead of thinking you still have it somewhere. This is reality accounting what's in your pocket is yours. As for whatever is in your CPF treat it like spare cash to gamble in the stock market or buy some pigeonhole, treat it as help for your medical that's all.

continue here

What I am saying is very practical, if one feels he's been shortchanged by 20% then he should be self motivated to go look for it instead of complaining, on one hand we say PAP like nanny on the other hand we still want to suckle on PAP. Remember what's not in your pocket, write the damn thing off and stop thinking about it. Ok if you really want it back then plan to leave, they're not going to keep it from you.

We are Singaporean and this is our home. Why should we leave if we are unhappy with any Gov't policy. Get more opposition in parliament and force the PAP to address our problems. I don't believe they will continue to ignore the ppl if their popular votes go below 60% and they lost more seats. They are paid millions of dollars to solve the country's problems, we pay taxes and so we are their real boss. They gave themselves top dollars for theirs jobs, they better be prepared to deliver the results desired by the people that put them in their job. If the ppl can vote out a minister in the last GE, they can surely take out the top guy at the next GE. I am sure there will be drastic change in the way they govern Singapore.

Fully agree with you. It's good to see more intelligent members in this on line community.

1. no, i am happy hoh!
2. that there are tons of dafter sheep & ball lickers in sbf daily:D
3. oops! i miss out some are bitch/cunt.

Every morning Singaporeans wake up

- in a million dollar or almost million dollar home (and the price is still going up

- drive the most expensive cars in the world (why they not proud that can afford?)

- have the State watch over their safety through world class police force

- can complain to any government agency and expect to get a respond and things done quickly

- proud owner of the world's least corrupt civil servants

- safety in food and clean public eating places

1. Many young people hoping to get married and move out will despair when they see the current property prices.
2. There are a whole lot more people taking public transport than there are people driving expensive cars. Young people will despair when they see rich ppl son hook their girls with expensive cars.
3. Sure Singapore is safer than a lot more places but it's not perfect. It breaks ppl heart to see the 2 kids died recently +++ a few other cases.
4. The gov't listen some and do some things promptly but sometimes don't listen. Your problem is urgent to you but sometimes they bo chap.
5. We are thankful they are one of the least corrupt but somethings they take care and some they don't, also heartache. Being effective is more important, like don't let MRT breakdown so often. They have recently admitted some failings on the press.
6. It's good to hv safety in food and clean environment, we are truly blessed. Hope the gov't policy allow us to make good steady income. Sometime hope to eat at 5-star hotel or some gourmet place, always clean hawker centre also sian.

Singaporean are generally lucky but in many instances for one or more reasons, ppl can be unlucky and so unhappy.

I wish to state clearly my points

1. I'm posting my observations about Singaporeans.
2. In no way I am supporting PAP's policies in fact there are many I don't agree like the latest plan for population increase, this has to slow down.
3. Instead of complaining in a situation that we already could not change why not just make a difference.
4. Look at things in another perspective, Singaporeans are by nature not lazy I'm sure if we look over the bad situation we can make a big impact on ourself.

I wish to state clearly my points

1. I'm posting my observations about Singaporeans.
2. In no way I am supporting PAP's policies in fact there are many I don't agree like the latest plan for population increase, this has to slow down.
3. Instead of complaining in a situation that we already could not change why not just make a difference.
4. Look at things in another perspective, Singaporeans are by nature not lazy I'm sure if we look over the bad situation we can make a big impact on ourself.

In today's world we cannot expect a democratically elected government can satisfy 70% to 80% of its people. Hence what the government should do is to be frank in their statements and not be perceived as false promises like Singaporeans will have better jobs, better pay etc while explaining the rationale of certain policies. Of the 40 % of those unhappy people, we should discount about 10% of the 'never be happy' people who will not be satisfied with every policy/or living in dream lands forever (must have big car big house complaining against every thing) and build on the trust of the 30% to address their inspiration through various help scheme. This is applicable for any party which comes into power. Individuals must also change course and be positive in search of better life. A trainer once said to my class if you are so unhappy with the company why kpkb everyday and why not try to look for the type of work you like and move on from there. in no way I am supporting any political party too.