• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why do many food stall charge extra 50cent for take away

ykhuser

tapow 4 or 5 nevermind.

you try queuing at tai hwa bar chow mee at hill street..each person in front of you tapow 3 packet, you end up at queue 99

talking about tai hwa bar chow mee , minium start from $5, $6 or $8
$8 is the giant bowl used by emperor.

i usually order the $5 + $5 teochew dumpling...

soup really tasty and sweet, wonder got used msg?

yep...i hate it when the customer before me tapow 4-5 packs...walau...really too much..

tapow 4 or 5 nevermind.

you try queuing at tai hwa bar chow mee at hill street..each person in front of you tapow 3 packet, you end up at queue 99

talking about tai hwa bar chow mee , minium start from $5, $6 or $8
$8 is the giant bowl used by emperor.

i usually order the $5 + $5 teochew dumpling...

soup really tasty and sweet, wonder got used msg?

this queue is damned irritating
you never know how long you're going to queue
the guys in front maybe taupauing 10 to 20 packets each
you can wait for your dinner liao
they should stop this taupauing
the famous black white fish soup stall in Syed Alwi Road Hawker centre - NO TAU PAU !!! - fair and squre queue
tau pau is a nuisance!!!! you get gastric ulcer just waiting...your acid pours out in torrents!!! the more so when you are hungry and angry...

everywhere now you go you queue
hong lim chicken curry you queue
hong lim grayfish hor fun you queue
tai wah bakchoe mee you queue
buy toto you queue
getting a taxi you queue
paying at supermarket you queue
buying a house you queue
banking you too have to queue and queue
everywhere queue ,queue and queue
on the roads, jam, jam and jam
in the carpark , you fight for your lots
in hawker centre, you battle for your seats
come 2030, it will be a daily queueing war...

BlueBrother

In the 60's & 70's, ppl bring multi-layer metal container to buy food at the hawker centre. I remember even bringing my own eggs to buy fried kway teow. It's the seller's right to set their own terms of sale. It's up to the buyer to decide who they patronize. If the food is good and you want to enjoy, you have to pay whatever price they set. If no good, then don't patronize.

Help the environment, bring your own container whenever possible. In HK & Taiwan, ppl bring your own shopping bags or u hv to pay for them. Recently I begin to bring my own water bottle when I go out instead of buying bottled water. Also how hygiene & safe are those plastic bags & foam container ???

ykhuser

the bukit purmei lor mee restirct the nos of tapow to 4 per person

nowaday i releasied all the nice food stall i had to queue very long. 10 years ago not like that.now i thought skipping the nice food stall i dont have to queue..knn the lousy stall i also had to queue.
what a crowded island

sad case
this queue is damned irritating
you never know how long you're going to queue
the guys in front maybe taupauing 10 to 20 packets each
you can wait for your dinner liao
they should stop this taupauing
the famous black white fish soup stall in Syed Alwi Road Hawker centre - NO TAU PAU !!! - fair and squre queue
tau pau is a nuisance!!!! you get gastric ulcer just waiting...your acid pours out in torrents!!! the more so when you are hungry and angry...

nowaday i releasied all the nice food stall i had to queue very long. 10 years ago not like that.now i thought skipping the nice food stall i dont have to queue..knn the lousy stall i also had to queue.
what a crowded island

sad case
Bukit Purmei Lor Mee is a fucktard.
Next time observe how the uncle works then you will realize how come got queue.
Fucking slow and his irritating ritual of pick and put back motion for EVERY single ingredient/topping.

ykhuser

yeah.slowcroach also got queue.good marketing
anyway the lor mee too sticky.i dont really agree so many people say best.i only say decent.

the blk 4 bukit ho swee better. friendly old ah ma(like her smile), good traditional kopi with roti cold storage.old 80's enviroment.machiam turn back the clock

Fucking slow and his irritating ritual of pick and put back motion for EVERY single ingredient/topping.

Spock

got 1 hor fun stall...normal is $3.50
i request for dont want pork in my hor fun.
he say like that must $4.50
huh?i ask for less ingrident, why increase $1?
he say less pork meat,but he will put in more slice of fishes.he say fishes very expensive.
i ask then my fish slices portion remain same can or not minus the pork.he say cannot.he say item is standard.
but he say the pork i dont want later can dump 1 side,price remain as $3.50

confuse?

He is simply trying to tell you he doesn't want you as a customer because you are too troublesome. That's what my friends in sales do when they know someone is a fussy customer and the profit earned is not worth the hassle. They simply quote a higher price so that the customer will go elsewhere.

SichuanMeiMei

It's deliberate so that a queue forms. Singaporean are suckers for queues. The famous ANSI leak in changi village is another one.

lianbeng

why do many hawker food stall charge extra 50cent for take away(ta bao) disaposable plastic bowl?
isnt it ironic?
by eating there,they have to wash 1 bowl, 1 smaller soup bowl,1 spoon,a pair of chopsticks,1 saucer for chilli
the water used and the manpower hired to wash untensil are now being saved.
Isnt they thankful that you order take away food,instead they charge you 50cent for takeaway?

does the disapsable plastic bowl really that expensive?
anyone in this line can shed some light?

lianbeng says: when u eat there got cleaners wash for them mah but when u take away they will have 1 plastic bowl or plate or box missing - 50cents each lor!:biggrin:

what a crowded island

sad case

you are very right sir
nanbeh i did the same
went to less popular stalls
also queue like mad
nanbeh cannot tahan liao
eat maggie mee at home now
come 2030 i don't know how long the queues will be

Travellor

yeah i agree that cunt reminds me tof that grumpy fucker who sells the beef noodles at the East Coat Lagoon Food centre.

he has such a long queue because that bastard DELIBERATELY busies himself with every fucking thing except prepare the bowl of noodles...

fucking bastard i refuse to patronise his stall unless there is NO queue... aint that great anyway.....

Don't worry. By then, you will not be around :wink:

Oh, and stop spending all your money on me and have to eat maggi mee everyday :o

you are right
okay from today
spend money on good food
and good lobang
don't have to wait until 2030
tonite i go lido

PooBorKia

Hawker food is unhealthy. The amount of oil and transfat. The hygiene level sucks as well. Most of them reused the oil to cook.

yeah i agree that cunt reminds me tof that grumpy fucker who sells the beef noodles at the East Coat Lagoon Food centre.

he has such a long queue because that bastard DELIBERATELY busies himself with every fucking thing except prepare the bowl of noodles...

fucking bastard i refuse to patronise his stall unless there is NO queue... aint that great anyway.....

I know of many of these fucker hawkers.
Stall only relatively busy but they purposely go slow to create the queue....see the way they work you will vomit blood....wonder why they dun want to up productivity instead of engaging in these tactics