• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why do many food stall charge extra 50cent for take away

ykhuser

why do many hawker food stall charge extra 50cent for take away(ta bao) disaposable plastic bowl?
isnt it ironic?
by eating there,they have to wash 1 bowl, 1 smaller soup bowl,1 spoon,a pair of chopsticks,1 saucer for chilli
the water used and the manpower hired to wash untensil are now being saved.
Isnt they thankful that you order take away food,instead they charge you 50cent for takeaway?

does the disapsable plastic bowl really that expensive?
anyone in this line can shed some light?

Vigilante

why do many hawker food stall charge extra 50cent for take away(ta bao) disaposable plastic bowl?
isnt it ironic?
by eating there,they have to wash 1 bowl, 1 smaller soup bowl,1 spoon,a pair of chopsticks,1 saucer for chilli
Isnt they thankful that you order take away food,instead they charge you 50cent for takeaway?

I do agree that 50cents is a ripoff...these damn stuff costs less than 10cents!

isnt it ironic? ...
bring ur own container ...

den, demand 50¢ discount ... say sins u r not using any of their containers ...

bring ur own container ...

den, demand 50¢ discount ... say sins u r not using any of their containers ...

The 50 cents is extra charge...how to ask for refund?
Want to kuailan then bring your own container but order eat in....then pour food back into your containers.

prancku

yes bring own container
can get a tupperware one from me :*:

Try loh, I bet the hawker will still charge the same price.

Indeed if you bring your own container they may come out with some stupid reasons to charge you extra:

- your container bigger so I give you more soup and so I charge you 50 cents extra. You say, so don't give me so much soup and then they purposely give you very little soup, and you get to eat mee siam dry or noodles dry instead of the usual mee siam or mee teng that you ordered;

- your container bigger so I give you more rice or more liao and so I charge you $1.00 more;

- your container need to wash lah, so I charge you extra 50 cents;

- your container is not from our stall and so if you want to use your own container, I charge you extra 50 cents;

etc, etc

HA HA HA LOLOLO - someone try and bring your own container and ask for discount and see what happens!!! :smile:

wendychan

just pass them your won take away container when when making your order... they don't refuse. not yet anyway

wendychan

Try loh, I bet the hawker will still charge the same price.

Indeed if you bring your own container they may come out with some stupid reasons to charge you extra:

i always bring my own container and i pay the same price for the food, never the extra "takeaway" charge

ykhuser

got 1 hor fun stall...normal is $3.50
i request for dont want pork in my hor fun.
he say like that must $4.50
huh?i ask for less ingrident, why increase $1?
he say less pork meat,but he will put in more slice of fishes.he say fishes very expensive.
i ask then my fish slices portion remain same can or not minus the pork.he say cannot.he say item is standard.
but he say the pork i dont want later can dump 1 side,price remain as $3.50

confuse?

prancku

i always bring my own container and i pay the same price for the food, never the extra "takeaway" charge

Yeh, right, same price and no discount, hoh.

At least you are lucky and did not get charged extra for "takeaway". Indeed just came to me, another stupid reason for the extra charge
- if someone uses own container for takeaway, then because this is is a takeaway, the hawker will charge extra because he always, always charge extra for takeaway. You bring you own container, that is your pasah, takeaway means extra charge!!!

Hor boh???

Kuailan

isnt it ironic?

The container cost probably 10cts they charge u 50cts so the can make 40cts out of u!!
This is Sinkieland true profiteering endorsed by the PAP, b'cos they are the same trade,
force into your ass!!

One piece of toilet paper called COE cost $100K only can happen in PAP control cuntry

Kuailan

he say less pork meat,but he will put in more slice of fishes.he say fishes very expensive.
i ask then my fish slices portion remain same can or not minus the pork.he say cannot.he say item is standard.

sconfuse?

THese days fucking hawkers and food court are born bastard!! fish they charged extra
what fish they used? toman or dory fish (Vietnam eat shit cat fish) which is not really
expensive!! these toman are porched from reservoir and sell them cheaply to these hawkers!!
Fish are not tengiri which I agree is/was expensive!!!

Sembawang hawkers centre first corner stall sells fish soup, last week when there for lunch
after a long period did not patronised this stall, so ordered fish soup with rice, when I ate the fish
it was soft don't taste like the usual tengiri, than I realised they used Dory Vietnemese Cat fish,
the taste sucks, no wonder lunch time no crowd, you see these days hawkers really doing
under hand to make profit. I will BAN this stall hope u regulars will be aware of the type of fish this stall used!~!!

Fucking Dory Vietnam Cat fish (they eat shit in the pond!!)

confuse?

After argue even if he agree you also better dun buy.
Cook will probably spit into it.