• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pastor Lawrence Khong's plea to EMS Goh to retain Section 377A

Extremist

19529_10151250177832572_659807407_n.jpg

Pastor's plea to retain Section 377A sparks online furore
In the presence of ESM Goh,church leader Khong urges Govt not to repeal law that criminalises sex between men
04:45 AM Jan 18, 2013

SINGAPORE - A plea by a church pastor - made during morning service last Sunday - to Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong against the repeal of Section 377A of the Penal Code, which criminalises sex between men, has drawn strong reactions from the online community.

Mr Goh happened to pass by the Faith Community Baptist Church (FCBC) during his regular walkabout in his Marine Parade constituency and was invited by the church leaders to meet the congregation.

While Mr Goh was on the stage in the church's auditorium, FCBC senior pastor Lawrence Khong (picture) read from a prepared statement. Among other things, he called the effort to repeal Section 377A "a looming threat" to the family unit, which he defined as "a man as father, a woman as mother, and children".

"We see a looming threat to this basic building block by homosexual activists seeking to repeal Section 377A of the Penal Code," said Mr Khong, who also urged the Government to "provide moral leadership in preserving this basic building block and foundation of our society".

In response, Mr Goh made a general remark that people are free to stand by their beliefs: "You stand by your belief, and you'll be fine."

The church, which has a congregation of 10,000, has posted Mr Khong's full statement, accompanied by photographs of Mr Goh at the church, on its website and on Mr Khong's Facebook page.

The statement has been reposted on several online forums and websites, sparking anger among the gay community and its supporters.

Yesterday, Reverend Miak Siew, executive pastor of Singapore's Free Community Church and member of gay advocacy group People Like Us, questioned on Fridae.asia the timing of the statement, noting that two constitutional challenges against Section 377A will be heard in the High Court.

One was filed last November by two men who have been partners for 15 years, saying the law entrenches "stigma and discrimination against lesbian, gay, transgender and bisexual people in society". The other follows a successful appeal by Tan Eng Hong, who was arrested for having oral sex with another man at a public toilet in CityLink Mall in March 2010, and had applied to have 377A of the Penal Code declared unconstitutional for violating his right to personal liberty, among other things.

Mr Miak also wrote an open letter on his Facebook page to Mr Khong: "The repeal of 377A poses no threat to families bound together by love. It is the continued stigmatisation of LGBT people that you are perpetuating that is a threat to families - because you have placed obstacles in how parents understand their children who are different, and create huge rifts in these families."

Other netizens defended Mr Khong, saying he was entitled to his beliefs.

We the people support Lawrence Khong in his appeal.
Lets outlaw sex between men, its disgusting.

For me, the biggest problem with Section 377A is that when gay people express an opinion contrary to the PAPzis, their sexuality can be used to threaten them.

anybody csi this khong fella? he looks like the kong hee and prince kind, too flashy, too much make up.
say religious leader but look like entertainer. so something smells fishy.

Y want to disturb homos? they want to play their backside, its their pasal right as long as they dont disturb hetero people.
live and let live la knn. your religion dont like homo, u can say my religion dont like, but that doesnt mean you can impose your religion values on other people right?

this is not christian country, this is leecountry ok.

Contrary to popular belief, anal sex can be done between a man and a woman too.

So, are you going to criminalize anal sex, or just any form of sexual behavior between gays?

How about lesbians? They're okay under Section 377A, right? No one gets buggered in a lesbian relationship.

Section 377A is a religious law that traces its origin all the way back to Tudor England.

Certainly, but leecountry (and leeparty) depends on these Christian conservatives for their support.

Within them you'd also find the most diehard leeparty loyalists. leeparty, while espousing to be secular, will not want to antagonize them. That is the politically expedient thing to do.

I could be wrong, but I believe in spore, oral sex is also illegal (a relic of colonial law), its just that they dont tangkap anyone.

and lesbian is not illegal cos no penetration.
sex according to law require penetration.
so butch and her bitch are safe

All commonwealth (including spore) law is from the uk, but ours was more influenced by the indian penal code due to spore being admin from india.

anyway laws in uk, like all laws if u dig dig deep, should have some basis from their history which of kos involves their state church's sayings - CofE.

but in UK, people dont judge u if u r gay, heter or ah kua or wat.
its a different discrimination system over there.

And I ever heard, our backside belong to govt, thats why anal sex is illegal.

those bookworm, pls csi and report back pls. :)

Section 377A covers non-penetrative sex between men. The following Wikipedia link is quite informative:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Section_377A_of_the_Penal_Code_(Singapore)

I could be wrong, but I believe in spore, oral sex is also illegal (a relic of colonial law), its just that they dont tangkap anyone.

and lesbian is not illegal cos no penetration.
sex according to law require penetration.
so butch and her bitch are safe

All commonwealth (including spore) law is from the uk, but ours was more influenced by the indian penal code due to spore being admin from india.

anyway laws in uk, like all laws if u dig dig deep, should have some basis from their history which of kos involves their state church's sayings - CofE.

but in UK, people dont judge u if u r gay, heter or ah kua or wat.
its a different discrimination system over there.

1. erk! i always thought you swing that way leh:D
2. you not closet meh?:p
3. must check with rusty on your performance & preference.

I agree with you 100%. Your posts always make the most sense. You are a true asset to the forum and your views serve to counter the moronic, the ludicrous and the infantile opinions that infest this place on a daily basis.

I have added to your points in a show of appreciation.

I agree with you 100%. Your posts always make the most sense. You are a true asset to the forum and your views serve to counter the moronic, the ludicrous and the infantile opinions that infest this place on a daily basis.

1. good on sammy.
2. into the resident bitch/cunt thing:D
3. what are you, top or bottom, oops!

anybody csi this khong fella? he looks like the kong hee and prince kind, too flashy, too much make up.
say religious leader but look like entertainer. so something smells fishy.

Y want to disturb homos? they want to play their backside, its their pasal right as long as they dont disturb hetero people.
live and let live la knn. your religion dont like homo, u can say my religion dont like, but that doesnt mean you can impose your religion values on other people right?

Totally agree with u .. Christians love to mix their cult value with politics ... Why not they tell goverment to enforce law on praying before eating . they kpkb saying their invisibleman man gave them freedom to chose at the same time they want to control you ... Hypocrite .

What about having sex with a metal pole on your bike ? ;)

In response, Mr Goh made a general remark that people are free to stand by their beliefs: "You stand by your belief, and you'll be fine."

=> Is there a typo error by the 154th reporter? There's a world of difference between 'fine' and 'fined'. Where the FAP's track record is concerned, SGs have experienced the second situation thus far.

What about having sex with a metal pole on your bike ? ;)

1. drift, after a while.
2. sammy needs a change of scene mah.
3. after all, the resident bit/cunt is being literally poked daily here:p
4. why not, it is foc to sammy:D

1. drift, after a while.
2. sammy needs a change of scene mah.
3. after all, the resident bit/cunt is being literally poked daily here:p
4. why not, it is foc to sammy:D

She actucally enjoyed being poke here ;) maybe she can borrow Sam pole lagi shiok ;)