Singapore needs more PRCs like this.

Ash007

In Singapore, you get PRCs students that aced the O-levels. In Australia you get PRCs migrants that invent world class technology. I've always wondered if the "priority" made in the different education system would make a difference. Looks like it does as shown in this article. PRCs will excel in both system, but the results produced is different. You be the judge which would produce the better thinker for the future.

http://www.smh.com.au/technology/sci-tech/australian-schoolgirl-a-science-sensation-20130116-2cs9y.html

Australian schoolgirl a science sensation
Date
January 16, 2013 - 9:40AM
126 reading nowRead later

Ben Grubb
Deputy technology editor
View more articles from Ben Grubb
Follow Ben on Twitter Email Ben

inShare
Pin ItEmail articlePrintReprints & permissions

Yaya presents her findings to a conference in Bangkok. Inset, a prototype of her wheelchair. Photo: Ying Chen
An Australian teenager's simple idea that would allow a complete quadriplegic to control a wheelchair by voice has earned the teen international recognition and a top science award for school students, handed out by Commonwealth science agency CSIRO.

Yaya Lu, 16, of Hobart, has her mind set on helping the disabled through technology and has just arrived back home after presenting a research paper about her wheelchair to the 5th Biomedical Engineering International Conference in Bangkok.

The paper Yaya was presenting was for an international conference, which normally accepts papers from post-graduate students or university lecturers.

Yaya's mentor, neighbour and a former university lecturer Dr Graeme Faulkner
She was able to present her findings to the conference in Thailand after Google sponsored her and her mother's trip.

Yaya, second from right, meets Prime Minister Julia Gillard. Photo: Ogilvie High School
Yaya was recently awarded the Gold CREST Award by the CSIRO, which is only given to a select few students each year and requires original ideas and more than 100 hours of work to enter. As part of her submission for the award she put together a 60-page report, showed prototypes, a video and participated in a verbal examination.

Advertisement
The high school student — who said presenting her findings to about 30 academics in Bangkok was "nerve-racking" and "quite intimidating" — used the Lego Mindstorms NXT robotics kit to demonstrate how her robot would work in reality.

The robot makes use of language-independent voice commands by using a combination of short and long sounds (like "dit" and "dah"). It can use eight commands, allowing it to move forwards and backwards, spin clockwise and anti-clockwise, move sideways left and right, and stop. An eighth command could toggle it to rise and fall.

Yaya said she first decided to start on the project in 2012 when she heard about a complete quadriplegic from northern Tasmania who, like most quadriplegic people, couldn't move any part of his body below his neck. "So I kind of thought I could develop a system that could help a quadriplegic like him gain more independence in their daily life," Yaya said.

Two control systems were investigated which Yaya thought might help the man control a wheelchair.

The first involved using various parts of the face to control a wheelchair, like using movement of the ears, dilation of the nostrils and movement of the eyebrows. The second focused on language-independent voice commands for control, which Yaya said she created for people who were unable to move their facial features in a certain way for the first system to work.

The beauty of the language-independent voice controlled wheelchair design, Yaya said, was that it wasn't based on voice recognition, which takes a long time to get working correctly, costs lots of money and uses a lot of computing power.

"You have to download different software, you have to test it out and it can be difficult to use not to mention take a while to train," Yaya said. "There is Dragon Naturally Speaking, which is a sort of voice typing software. You have to train it to get used to your voice and it is very, very difficult. It takes a very long time, not to mention you need extremely powerful [central processing units] to be able to make it work and I think it's just extremely expensive and not very convenient at all."

Other control systems, such as one which uses a magnet glued to the tongue, were "very intrusive", Yaya said.

"You want to be able to eat, you want to be able to speak normally without that magnet glued to you."

Another that harnesses the eye by scanning it, Yaya said, "could hurt your eyes in the future".

"That's why the two control systems I've proposed are... more comfortable for the [wheelchair user]."

Yaya's mother, Yin, an information systems lecturer at the University of Tasmania, said she was "blown away" by what her daughter had achieved. "It's really marvellous. I'm really pleased with her. Yaya has really done a lot and put in a lot of effort."

Yaya's mentor, neighbour and a former university lecturer with a PhD in artificial intelligence, Dr Graeme Faulkner, said what Yaya had achieved was "remarkable".

"The paper Yaya was presenting was for an international conference, which normally accepts papers from post-graduate students or university lecturers," Dr Faulkner said. "And I suppose it may have happened before but I've never heard of a Year 10 student presenting one who has had to ask for leave from school to attend.

"It just doesn't happen, at least to my knowledge in my half-century of academic experience."

The beauty of the language-independent voice controlled wheelchair design, Yaya said, was that it wasn't based on voice recognition, which takes a long time to get working correctly, costs lots of money and uses a lot of computing power.

"You have to download different software, you have to test it out and it can be difficult to use not to mention take a while to train," Yaya said. "There is Dragon Naturally Speaking, which is a sort of voice typing software. You have to train it to get used to your voice and it is very, very difficult. It takes a very long time, not to mention you need extremely powerful [central processing units] to be able to make it work and I think it's just extremely expensive and not very convenient at all."

Other control systems, such as one which uses a magnet glued to the tongue, were "very intrusive", Yaya said.

"You want to be able to eat, you want to be able to speak normally without that magnet glued to you."

Another that harnesses the eye by scanning it, Yaya said, "could hurt your eyes in the future".

"That's why the two control systems I've proposed are... more comfortable for the [wheelchair user]."

Yaya's mother, Yin, an information systems lecturer at the University of Tasmania, said she was "blown away" by what her daughter had achieved. "It's really marvellous. I'm really pleased with her. Yaya has really done a lot and put in a lot of effort."

Yaya's mentor, neighbour and a former university lecturer with a PhD in artificial intelligence, Dr Graeme Faulkner, said what Yaya had achieved was "remarkable".

"The paper Yaya was presenting was for an international conference, which normally accepts papers from post-graduate students or university lecturers," Dr Faulkner said. "And I suppose it may have happened before but I've never heard of a Year 10 student presenting one who has had to ask for leave from school to attend.

"It just doesn't happen, at least to my knowledge in my half-century of academic experience."

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/technology/sc...e-sensation-20130116-2cs9y.html#ixzz2I5jA9B00

[video=youtube;sEKqtPXxxgI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=sEKqtPXxxgI#![/video]

Wonderful, This should be the type of students that all schools should produce. Wonderful!!!!

Sinkieland education will never produce students like this lah!

Agree, it has something to do with the Singaporean kaisu culture. Parents are likely to want to kids to stick to getting good grades than spending time in their backyard to something they like.

The kids themselves also know the way to go is to score in the exam. All else is not important.

waht dah dah dah is that, I told the web page to dah dah...it replied..huh huh...maybe she should teach this language to our clown Lim Sway Sway..who can now speak in a much more comprehensive language..

Its a very simple website, but it shows what she has done when she was a little girl. In Singapore, parents won't even allow this to happen. "Why you no study, stop playing with that lego set!"

Sinkies are narrow minded and think that the only way is to get good grade. It is the PAP created environment that causes that.

So parents just follow suit and view a passing grade or a good one to be an advancement. Personally, i find this is to be very primitive and outdated. Talk to sinkie educated are a pain in the ass. Most of my friends are
aussie uni-educated and they make more sense than the rest of the god forsaken sinkie population.

Get rid of PAP and change the education minister will be the first step. For instant result for ur child, just move your child to Australia and all is done. simple.

Its a very simple website, but it shows what she has done when she was a little girl. In Singapore, parents won't even allow this to happen. "Why you no study, stop playing with that lego set!"

Mine told me to stop reading all those piles of comics, they will ruin the command of your English...

May it be PRC or Sinki kids, they started as a blank piece of paper, education system and social environment will slowly download the OS into their brain and they will end up very different when it is done.

This PRC student is working on using existing technology to help wheelchair bounded people on their daily mobility

Our Sinkes student who can be as talented as her, will work for Stats board like LTA and write software for ERP system.

That's the different.

May it be PRC or Sinki kids, they started as a blank piece of paper, education system and social environment will slowly download the OS into their brain and they will end up very different when it is done.

This PRC student is working on using existing technology to help wheelchair bounded people on their daily mobility

Our Sinkes student who can be as talented as her, will work for Stats board like LTA and write software for ERP system.

That's the different.

SINkees student have a great AIM in life..

Comics are just a medium, it is just another form of storytelling. It helps that it is accessible to an audience of a younger age and fuel their imagination. The Sandman, one of the best story I know is through this form.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sandman_(Vertigo)

The Sandman was one of Vertigo's flagship titles, and is available as a series of ten trade paperbacks. It has also been reprinted in a recolored five-volume Absolute hardcover edition with slipcase. Critically acclaimed, The Sandman is one of the few graphic novels ever to be on the New York Times Best Seller list, along with Watchmen and The Dark Knight Returns. It was one of five graphic novels to make Entertainment Weekly's "100 best reads from 1983 to 2008", ranking at 46.[1] Norman Mailer described the series as "a comic strip for intellectuals."[2]

Dark knight returns, and Watchmen has been made into movies, I wonder when they gonna make the Sandman.

Mine told me to stop reading all those piles of comics, they will ruin the command of your English...

Sigh... you could have just used Wiki..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Dark_Knight_Returns

Film
See also: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (film)
Along with Batman: The Killing Joke, Tim Burton has cited The Dark Knight Returns as an influence in his Batman film series. References are made in the films with Vicki Vale taking photos of the devastated Corto Maltese.
At the 2008 San Diego Comic Con, Zack Snyder, director of the screen adaptations of Watchmen by Alan Moore, and Miller's 300, expressed his love for The Dark Knight Returns, in response to a question about the more mature direction of comic book adaptations. Later, Miller told Snyder: “You can do it anytime you want to, Zack.” Batman film franchise producer Michael Uslan also expressed interest in a possible adaptation.[14]
"DC Universe Animated Original Movies" produced a two-part animated version with several Batman veterans are involved.[15][16]
Part 1 of this two-part animated film was released on DVD/Blu-ray September 25, 2012. Part 2 will be released on January 29, 2013, with Peter Weller of Robocop fame voicing Batman, and Michael Emerson voicing the Joker.
Elements of The Dark Knight Returns appear in the film The Dark Knight Rises, particularly the central concept of Batman returning to Gotham City after a long absence. Other elements include Bruce Wayne becoming a recluse after retiring from being Batman, Batman's first public reappearance during a high-speed car chase between police and criminals (replaced by Bane and cohorts in the film), and the remark an observing veteran cop tells his young partner ("You are in for a show tonight, son."). Additionally, Wayne uses a mechanical brace to enhance his out of practice body. In The Dark Knight Rises, he uses a leg brace to support and strengthen an injured knee, whereas originally Bruce used a mechanical arm brace to help in his return as The Batman.

bro....errrr, not really right? which movie? anyway, agree, comics is nothing wrong....

What Sinkies need to do is to bang table and INSIST that their gahmen adopt a rational immigration policy - one that actually sifts out the talented from the riff-raff - or be kicked out in the next election. The beauty shown in this video about Hong Kong's Quality Migrant Admission Scheme would be a good catch.

It is stupid to pay Ministers obscene salaries in order to allow them to adopt an indiscriminate immigration policy to replace SG PMETs, who will end up being quality migrants of other countries. But then, it is a brilliant idea if the objective is to replace discerning voters with dumb ones who may be more likely to vote PAP, provided you can keep at least 50% of Sinkie voters hood-winked long enough for the process to be completed.

Bang table before it's too late.

[video=youtube;viuK47u0TR4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viuK47u0TR4[/video]

Sigh... you could have just used Wiki..

that's why I said "not really"......i prefer adaptations to be as close to the full story as possible. that way we see the story being told in another form or view but essentially its the same story. Borrowing elements from another story is more of a tribute to the other story. Anyway, that's my preference.

I wasn't aware of the animated version though, will try to find it. Thanks for the lead.

Thanks for the video, Aussieland has something similar now. The crazy period during the Howards years where cooks, hairdressers could migrate liberally is now over. It took a change of government for that.

What Sinkies need to do is to bang table and INSIST that their gahmen adopt a rational immigration policy - one that actually sifts out the talented from the riff-raff - or be kicked out in the next election. The beauty shown in this video about Hong Kong's Quality Migrant Admission Scheme would be a good catch.

It is stupid to pay Ministers obscene salaries in order to allow them to adopt an indiscriminate immigration policy to replace SG PMETs, who will end up being quality migrants of other countries. But then, it is a brilliant idea if the objective is to replace discerning voters with dumb ones who may be more likely to vote PAP, provided you can keep at least 50% of Sinkie voters hood-winked long enough for the process to be completed.

[video=youtube;viuK47u0TR4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viuK47u0TR4[/video]

Bang table??? how about a faceoff protest and overthrow the incompetent PAP scums out.