• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bishan-Toa Payoh TC sends Letter of Demand to resident for S&C arrears

[h=2]Bishan-Toa Payoh TC sends Letter of Demand to resident for S&C arrears[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
January 5th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

bs.jpg
The Bishan-Toa Payoh (BTP) Town Council had recently, through, a law firm, sent a demand letter to my mom for arrears of conservancy and service charges of $168. My mom has been a resident of Toa Payoh for more than 40 years and is now 82 years old suffering from alzheimer’s dementia. She is wheelchair bound staying alone currently being taken care by a care giver.
What surprised me most was that the phone number given on the letter to contact Town Council was a nine digit number. On behalf of my Mom, how on earth am I able to call the Town Council for queries at a given nine digit phone number in Singapore? How could this error have happened in such a legal demand letter sent out by the professional law firm? Please see attached.

Letter-of-Demand.jpg
Letter of Demand sent to the resident. (Click to open image in new window)

What makes me wonder why BTP Town Council had to resort to engaging a law firm to send a demand letter to resident for an outstanding conservancy fee of just only $168 . This seems to be wasting our Town Council money being paid by the residents. I had called the Town Council and was told that it costs $20 to get the law firm to send the demand letter. Whatever it is, such a fee incurred would still be charged to the resident.
What the BTP Town Council could have done was to make an effort to pay a visit to the resident in particular to find out the reason why the fee was in arrears for four months despite reminders being sent. As it is, we have an aging population with most of the elderly folks living in HDB. In fact, there is a growing number old folks residents, either handicapped or wheelchair bound, in BTP. Should BTP not be concerned that perhaps this resident in particular could be in some kind of trouble of not being able to pay the conservancy fee ?
Why did the Town Council get to send the legal demand letter to press for such payment in arrears without finding out the background of the case? The Town Council staff may be too complacent sitting in the air-con office doing their jobs. For that matter, what are the functions of their jobs? Should the staff not have the slightest bit of concern on the well-being of the residents? They don’t seem to be bothered making effort to get to know the residents, in particular, the elderly residents who may be in need of help from the Town Council. Do we need such a Town Council in charge of our housing estate?
Anthony
Editor’s note:This letter’s been emailed to Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council’s Chairman Hri Kumar Nair, and Vice-Chairmen Wong Kan Seng and Zainuddin Nordin, for comments.

This is peesai for you. If any of your immediate family falls ill and can't pay the bill, it is your shit to handle. Tell your parents to die in their sleep, more cheaper. Immigration is the other option.

It seems tha PAP TCs also don't know how to settle problems ,trigger-happy in suing residents .They only know how to sue,threaten and bully the residents by using legal letters of demand to frighten and strike fear in the residents .No compromise,no negotiation,no arrangement ,no instalment plan,no money no talk.This is a faceless govt whose sole objective is money money money,not about helping residents .

This has been the norm for years I dare say decades....it's just that last time less people in hardship.
Go to court 14 and night court 26 in the subordinate courts everyday to see the hordes of sinkies sued by their TCs.
Many are jailed for failing to pay up....irony is after serving time....the resident is still liable for all monies owed....including lawyer fees, penalties and interests.

Less than $200 arrears only send lawyer letter liao? I can imagine the folks with not much education and those ah gong and ah ma panicking upon receiving such a letter. They probably would have go begging with relatives and friends to pay that $200. No wonder their arrears are lower.

To Anthony

1. Who the fuck did you and your mother voted for in the last election?
2. You owe money you must pay why kpkb write this?
3. Lawyer letter $20 + stamp ; TC visit your mother will be more expensive you stupid

This is peesai for you. If any of your immediate family falls ill and can't pay the bill, it is your shit to handle. Tell your parents to die in their sleep, more cheaper. Immigration is the other option.

Easiest way to avoid such unexpected problems is to have all utilities bills on GIRO or automatic direct debit authorisation.
So even if ill and hospitaised etc unpaid bills do not become an added headache.

Anthony should move to Aljunied-Hougang Town Council where he would not have to pay for the S&CC.

The Town Council computer system has been failing to collect the money from residents since Vichy WP was running Hougang. All the good, honest, hardworkling residents in Aljunied-Hougang will help Anthony to pay his bills.

Anthony should move to Aljunied-Hougang Town Council where he would not have to pay for the S&CC.

The Town Council computer system has been failing to collect the money from residents since Vichy WP was running Hougang. All the good, honest, hardworkling residents in Aljunied-Hougang will help Anthony to pay his bills.

What happens if it is found that AHTC can run with much less than the big fat S&CC? Leegime marked it up fantastically for retreats and political operations monies.

the cuntry forgotten how the aged mothers were the caregivers of able sinkies sons and daughter who built this cuntry .....

This is the result of voting for somebody who has zero feeling for the people and whose only concern is $$ and how good they look. If they voted for the Leegime, it is time to ask them song boh.

Easiest way to avoid such unexpected problems is to have all utilities bills on GIRO or automatic direct debit authorisation.
So even if ill and hospitaised etc unpaid bills do not become an added headache.

Whats the use of GIRO when theres nothing in the bank..

Moi think...if u csi dis law firm...u may b able to find even more juicy stories...;):oIo:

I wont put the future generations into more trouble,,that is why my instructions is if anything happen to me,,do no resuscitate and no treatments for critical illness like cancer etc,,,death is part of life

You are lucky to have that short guy, WKS working for the residents of that constituency. Have the oppurtunity to play golf with him & maybe can network & make $$$ but you need to know how to kiss butt.

town council is mad ! using a lawyer to recover rubbish amount!