• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Type 'Festivus' Into Google for Surprise for the Rest of Us

jubilee1919

Samantha Murphy
Dec 16, 2012

If you're a fan of Seinfeld, type "Festivus" into Google for a search results surprise "for the rest of us."

Google is known for hiding visual messages in its search when certain keywords are used, such as "Christmas," "Hanukkah," "Kwanzaa" and "let it snow." This year it's embracing the spirit of made-up holiday Festivus.

Created by the father of Seinfeld character George Costanza, Festivus falls on Dec. 23. It became a running joke throughout the show and is still referenced by fans. The holiday is celebrated with an aluminum pole, instead of a Christmas tree, and includes traditions such as "airing of grievances" and a wrestling match.

"If you're not big on the holidays, don't forget there's a Festivus for the rest of us," a Google spokesperson told Mashable. "No tinsel, just a sturdy pole."

So go on, type Festivus into Google and look to the left of the search results. For a look at other seasonal surprises featured on tech sites in the past, check out the gallery below.

Note From Wikipedia "Festivus is a secular holiday celebrated on December 23 as an alternative to participating in the pressures and commercialism of Christmas.[1] Festivus became part of worldwide[2] popular culture after being featured on an episode of the American TV show Seinfeld in 1997.[1][3]"

i remember Festivus from Seinfeld............great comedy............all Jewish cast though.........

If you like funny Jew comedies, I recommend Larry David's 'Curb Your Enthusiasm'.

It's too politically incorrect, that's why it will never air on Singapore's tv channels.

nowadays like no more comedies on mediacorp liao hor ?

very long never watch comedy liao.................last time still got 2 and a half men...............

even ''who's line is it anyway?'' also boh liao...................

nowadays like no more comedies on mediacorp liao hor ?

very long never watch comedy liao.................last time still got 2 and a half men...............

even ''who's line is it anyway?'' also boh liao...................

Why would you want "gringo" comedy?? you have, "zorro limp", "sir no joy Luck", " Duke of Sengkang", "floodrus Abang", "300mrunneth over vivien"...& & & "pinky" mee siam mai hum...all those comedy shows.."NO FIGHT!"..Oh I forgot one... "$8 heart surgery Vegetarian Cow".. ha ha ha:D

lucky youtube got plenty of old Seinfeld videos..............

or for a good laugh, read hifi magazines lor...............with hifi selling at ridiculous prices............

lucky youtube got plenty of old Seinfeld videos..............

or for a good laugh, read hifi magazines lor...............with hifi selling at ridiculous prices............

Lots of nice British sitcoms and comedy shows in youtube too. Blackadder, Are You Being Served? and etc.

google-search-magic-tricks.jpg

At first Google was just a search engine; then it started to get funny. Now, Google tricks, or “Easter Eggs,” lurk behind every Google search. The right keywords or an “I’m Feeling Lucky” search will often lead you to odd and awesome Google jokes.

And Google Easter Eggs aren’t just in Search, you can also find Google’s hidden treasures in Gmail, Google Maps, YouTube, Google Translate, interactive Google Doodles, and more. Google’s April Fool’s Day pranks and jokes have become the spotlight of their humor, but many of these gems can be found year-round.

We’ve compiled this exhaustive list of all the cool Google tricks we could find. Try a few out.
10/15/12 Update: The Google logo has been getting intense lately. Check out the new Star Trek and Little Nemo in Slumberland doodles. They are interactive and awesome.

8/8/12 Update: Added some great interactive Google Doodles from the Olympics. Hurdles and basketball have never been more fun!
7/18/12 Update: Just learned that you can make Google Maps 3D by pressing T.
6/25/12 Update: The new Zerg Rush easter egg needed to be added into this guide. We also added a few recent Google Doodles.
5/23/12 Update: We’ve added Google’s Moog Synthesizer and Earth Day Doodles to the Great Google Doodles list below.

14 Google Search Easter Eggs

While watching the world surf through their website, Google has sneaked their sense of humor into a handful of search queries. Google the phrases in bold for surprising results.

• Use Google’s in-search graph creation to draw a heart. Tell your secret crush to Google this equation: sqrt(cos(x))*cos(300x)+sqrt(abs(x))-0.7)*(4-x*x)^0.01, sqrt(6-x^2), -sqrt(6-x^2) from -4.5 to 4.5
    heart-graph-easter-egg.png
  • do a barrel roll — Watch your screen spin out of control for a moment after searching, a reference to the classic Nintendo game Star Fox 64. You can also search for “Z or R twice” to the same effect (mimicking the action on a Nintendo controller).

• tilt — Make your search results page do just that. “Askew” also produces the same slanted results.

• zerg rush — Never before has it been necessary to fight for your search results. But this Google page has adopted the gameplay of the popular online game Starcraft. Searching “zerg rush” will send a never-ending fleet of Google O’s to destroy your page.
    zerg-rush-350x374.png

But don’t give up so easily! You can defend your search results by clicking on the O’s to destroy them. You’re also prompted to share your score on Google+
    zerg-rush-google-plus-350x240.png
  • recursion **— This search is met with the suggestion, “Did you mean: recursion?” If that isn’t funny to you, then you should probably Google “recursion” and find out what it means.

• the answer to life, the universe and everything — Google nods at the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy book series by giving the author Douglas Adam’s answer to the life, the universe and everything.

life-universe-everything-easter-egg-650x227.png

• once in a blue moon — Google guides you to the mathematical equation for the occurrence of a blue moon.

• anagram — Google asks, “Did you mean: nag a ram?” Good one!

• the loneliest number — Google comes up with the same answer as the 1969 song made famous by Three Dog Night.

• binary — First and foremost, Google is a collection of computer nerds. Of course a search for “binary” gets you the number of results in zeros and ones (You must be logged out of Google for this to work). This also works for the numeral systems octal and hexadecimal.

• binary-easter-egg-650x220.png
  • the number of horns on a unicorn — You can probably guess this one.

• a baker’s dozen — Google figured this one out, too.

• kerning — Kerning is the typography process of adjusting the spacing between letters on a page, and a Google search does just that for the word kerning in all of the results.

• qingming — Google’s results page for the Chinese word meaning “pure brightness” is a beautiful tribute to the annual Qingming Festival in China, celebrating the spring.

qingming-easter-egg-650x256.png

Its "The daily show with Jon Stewart", Madtv skits on Youtube and of course the South Park series for me now