• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tiger Cup 1998 - Thailand vs Indonesia! - The Disgraceful match

Thailand vs Indonesia! - The Disgraceful match

This tournament was marred by an unsportsmanlike match between Thailand and Indonesia during the group stage of the competition. Both teams were already assured of qualification for the semi-finals, but both teams knew that the winners of the game would face hosts Vietnam in the semi-finals, while the losing team would face Singapore who were perceived to be easier opposition and avoid the fuss of moving training bases from Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi for the semi-final. The first half saw little action, with both teams barely making an attempt to score. During the second half both teams managed to score, partly thanks to half-hearted defending, resulting in a 2-2 scoreline after 90 minutes. Then, during injury time, Indonesian defender Mursyid Effendi deliberately kicked the ball into his own goal, despite the Thai's attempts to stop him doing so, thus handing Thailand a 3-2 victory. Both teams were fined for "violating the spirit of the game" and Mursyid Effendi was banned from football for life.

In the semi-finals, Thailand lost to Vietnam, and Indonesia also lost to Singapore. In the final, the title was to elude the hosts as they went down 1-0 to unfancied Singapore in one of the competition's biggest shocks to date.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/shYqKY0exwU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

no own-goal contest ah ?

fancy going to so much trouble for a Mickey Mouse Cup..................

they did play the semis? jack always thought both teams were kicked out for this incident as punishment and SG n vietnam automatically given the final bert....

Nay, Vietnam beat Thailand 3-0 and Singapore beat Indonesia 2-1 in the semi finals.

Both teams were 'or kong' money.....
The match that no team wanted to win....I remember both team 'la lai la ki' for the entire match.
Actually unfair to ban the own goal scorer....probably ordered by coach to do so.

Sure. Tell us what league you watch please?

many years boh watch football liao lor..................

last time my favourite was Serie A......................but now the standard jialat liao...........i never found EPL to be interesting