SGH & CGH's sweet announcement on price increase...great con job

Psychotherapy fees increase at SGH, CGH

04:45 AM Dec 12, 2012

by Ashley Chia

SINGAPORE - To keep pace with costs, fees for psychotherapy, a psychological treatment some doctors say is catching on in Singapore, have gone up at two public hospitals recently.

At the Singapore General Hospital (SGH), fees for the treatment doubled in October following a revision two years ago. Subsidised patients who used to pay S$23.80 for a 60-minute session now pay S$57.30 while private patients who were charged S$47.60 now pay S$126.26 for both first and subsequent visits. (140% and 166% respectively!)

Despite its "continued efforts in adopting cost-saving measures", SGH "is operating below cost-recovery", a recent internal fee review showed. Previous charges also "did not reflect the true cost of the extended professional time" a psychologist spends with the patient unlike during routine consultations with specialists which are much shorter, said SGH's Chief Financial Officer Wong Loong Kin.

"Any under-collection of revenue would mean lesser resources available to update facilities and services to sustain quality patient care," Mr Wong said, adding that SGH will continue to assist patients with financial difficulties with MediFund and other assistance schemes such as its Samaritans Funds for needy patients.

In the middle of this year, to keep with "rising costs", Changi General Hospital raised their psychotherapy fees by 25 per cent from S$25.50 to S$32 for subsidised patients and by 10 per cent for non-subsidised patients from S$77.04 to S$85.60.

The recent increases follow last November's one at the Institute of Mental Health (IMH), which adjusted its charges for psychodynamic psychotherapy after an introduction of subsidies. Nonetheless, fees charged in the public hospitals are still lower than the private sector. For example, Raffles Hospital charges between S$220 and S$400 for each consultation while Dr BL Lim Centre For Psychological Wellness charges S$85 every 15 minutes.

IMH Senior Consultant and Director of Psychotherapy Service Gwee Kok Peng also noted a "gradual growth" in the number of people seeking the treatment, including those without psychiatric disorders, for reasons ranging from "the practical to the existential and self actualising".

Centre for Psychotherapy's Executive Director and Counselling Psychologist Nisha Rani has also seen a 50-per-cent increase in the number of walk-in patients in the past six months.

URL http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC121212-0000013/Psychotherapy-fees-increase-at-SGH,-CGH

For example, Raffles Hospital charges between S$220 and S$400 for each consultation while Dr BL Lim Centre For Psychological Wellness charges S$85 every 15 minutes.

$85 every 15 mins? Last time moi attend a session...de therapist say..."Lift ur leg...hold for 10 sec n bring it down...do 15 for a set...pls do 3 set"...she cum bk 15 mins later to see whether moi had finish...lidat $85? better den rob bank man...;):oIo:

Psychotherapy is different from physiotherapy.

A psychotherapist is a shrink. You lie down and tell him/her about all your troubles, fears and secrets.

Psychotherapy is different from physiotherapy.

A psychotherapist is a shrink. You lie down and tell him/her about all your troubles, fears and secrets.

Ah...din see tat...thanks for de correction...but den hor...we oso stay here everyday n listern to others troubles, fears and secret...n gib comment...foc leh...:D:p

$85 every 15 mins? Last time moi attend a session...de therapist say..."Lift ur leg...hold for 10 sec n bring it down...do 15 for a set...pls do 3 set" ...
u got ask her 2 lift ur leg 4 u ... n hold it 4 10s? ...

When they increase again and more expensive than private hospital, they will compare it to other country's hospital charges....

This CGH is the worst, a lot of complaints about them and they still have the cheek to increase prices......

nurse got hold ur kukujiao ?

When they increase again and more expensive than private hospital, they will compare it to other country's hospital charges....

This CGH is the worst, a lot of complaints about them and they still have the cheek to increase prices......

CGH = Cannot Go Home.

You want to shorten your lifespan, check yourself into CGH.

Yes, then the occupational therapist & de therapist does the same but different "thang"..."lift your hand up, now lift the other" ....plus the one you described above, total robbery $85 x 2 not including government savings tax of 7%...the hospital make money from you, as long as you have body parts that will go wrong.. it is an emporium..

At that price, the treament better come with happy ending.

Other country how to compare...medical fee RM1

u got ask her 2 lift ur leg 4 u ... n hold it 4 10s? ...
no moi hold her lift her leg n ask her hold for 10sec...poker dots undies...slup:D

nurse got hold ur kukujiao ?
therapist...not nurse...knn break de word becum "the rapist"...

Yes, then the occupational therapist & de therapist does the same but different "thang"..."lift your hand up, now lift the other" ....plus the one you described above, total robbery $85 x 2 not including government savings tax of 7%...the hospital make money from you, as long as you have body parts that will go wrong.. it is an emporium..

therapist much lesser stress then doc...8-5 job with weekend off...

Nurse pinch his kukujiao with a pincher, lol
worst...she use her teeth...haizz

Maybe the psychologist are FTs leh? Need to increase salary else strike how har?